Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Math and Science Success Academy

Charter | K-8 | 254 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2010

The Math and Science Success Academy is a school that is concern about each individual child and their education. The teachers and staff at MASSA are hard working, friendly and helpful. MASSA is a comfortable working and learning environment. The academics at MASSA are wonderful and very successful. All teachers work great with students!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2010

The Math and Science Success Academy is a school that cares about our children and their education. The teachers and staff are some of the most dedicated people you will ever meet. Their commintment is exemplary.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2010

I absolutely love this school! The teachers are warm, caring, supportive individuals who make learning fun for my kids. The principal goes above and beyond to make personal connections with the families. I recommend this school K-6
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Teachers are excellent and they know how to get the best out of each student-very caring and enthusiastic. Principal's leadership is extraordinary. My kids couldn't wait to get out of the car every day and head in to school. It is a great feeling knowing that your child feels happy and secure all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

I was recommended to MASSA from some members at my church. I must say that I am completely pleased with my decision to send my daughter to the Math and Science Success Academy. MASSA has been a positive experience from day 1. The communication between my daughter's teacher and I is outstanding. I feel as though we have a rapport that allows me to discuss anything with her regarding my daughter's learning. Furthermore, the staff is very attentive, compassionate, and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

this brand-new school has beautiful facilities. the ratio of staff to children is small, so the administration and other teachers can know many students individually. the atmosphere is happy and clean. this school has been so understanding of my child's needs. they are willing to let him work a grade level ahead in the subjects where he needs more challenge, and they work with him when his maturity still lags behind his academic skills a little. caring staff. i love the FREE MUSIC CLASSES, with instruments provided! if i had to think of one area of improvement, i would like some foreign language instruction. but, hey, MASSA is offering more benefits each year, so they will probably have this option available soon, also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I'm very happy with this school because they have excellent academic level. They have a lot of activities after school. We have a lot of happyness to talk to the principal, teachers, and the secretary. I also like that they are whering uniforms and that they have alot of discipline. I also like it because the classes are small and the teacher pay more attention to the students. I would like that the school would have middle school and high school. So that the students can keep with the same system academe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

Before we moved to the USA finding a school was an issue (school in UK starts a year earlier). Pennsylvania turned out to be a disaster, our son, who could read, write and do math, was put into KG. We found a great parochial school where he excelled. The move to Tucson was as much a worry. We needn't have worried. He has been attending MASSA since its' inception. He loves school, We have never had to convince him to go. He enjoys the challenging curriculum. His teachers are very aware of the class and will advance the level as needed. His teacher is an excellent communicator, ensuring that we are always aware of the good and the bad. We have signed him up for next year and hope that MASSA follows its' sister school and adds grades up to 12th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

My son joined The Math and Science Success Academy in December 2008. As a parent, I have always valued my son's teachers and accredited much of his success as a student not only to him, but to the school environment as well. My son was delighted when he recieved an award from his teacher for his participation in class. As a former AmeriCorps member I have had the opportunity to help out at many schools. Our family believes that everyone must work together for our children to be successful. I enjoy contributing to the community and my son's school on a daily basis. I am always welcomed and accepted by MASSA as a parent volunteer. My son has always been a good student and I look forward to his ongoing academic success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

I am completely satisfied with how well teachers teach and how concerned they are with your child's education. They teach their math 1 grade ahead. I recently moved to Tucson from Pennsylvania and my 5th grader struggled since second grade in math. She said with the small class size and the way the teacher is willing to provide extra help if needed and teach them properly she is now getting straight 'A's' and that's includes 6th grade math. My second daughter started out in kindergarten but due to her knowledge from pre-school they promoted her to 1st grade and she is getting all 'A's' and 'B's' and she is doing 2ND GRADE MATH. They provide FREE after school tutoring from 3-3:30 pm. They also have an after school program from 3:30 to I believe 5 pm for only $150 a semester, hundreds less than you would pay a day-care or sitter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 43%
White 13% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 5%
Black 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tatyana Chayka
Fax number
  • (520) 889-1540

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

434 W. Lerdo Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85706
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 889-1504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT