Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amerischools Academy - Yuma

Charter | K-6 | 198 students

We are best known for Small class size/High academic.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

My children have been attending Amerischools Academy South in Yuma for 3 years now, and I couldn't be happier with my decision to send them to this charter school. My daughter attended Kindergarten at a public school before she came here and unlike the public school, Amerischools caps the classes at 24 students. The principal, Mrs. Fox, is amazing. She strikes the perfect balance between strict and loving, and she takes the time to know each of the children in her care, as well as their parents. This attitude is passed down to her teachers, who also take the time to learn the name of all the students in the school while still focusing attention on those children in their care. The teachers take the time to challenge all of the students. The school offers physical education, music, art, computers, and other classes that were cut out of the public school. There are also clubs offered after school, at no charge, to help students grow and explore- dance, Spanish, and board games are just a few of the options. I wish the school was more than K-6 so I could leave my children in this perfect learning environment even longer. If you are looking for a school in Yuma, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

My daughter has gone to school here since kindergarten. She is now finishing up the 6th grade at Amerischools North. I have always appreciated the small class sizes and attention from all her teachers. The Principal is firm, but would bend over backwards to help a student or parent, in or out of school. There isn't a bus system, but they have great before and after school care at an affordable rate. The teachers really care about their sudents and their education. I just wish it was through 8th grade! We will miss this small school that has become like our extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

AmeriSchools is a wonderful place to work. The staff members are nice, supportive, and caring. They are always working hard to provide the best education to the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2014

This is my second year working for AmeriSchools-South. I believe it is a wonderful school. It has a great learn environment! All of my co-workers are always will to help with out being asked. Another great thing about our schools is all the wonderful parents. I really like that all of the parents are very involved and willing to go the extra mile to help their child(ren).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2014

I have taught at AmeriSchools for two years, and I am blessed working here. I see the teachers giving their attention to each student for his/her personal needs (not just the core education) but pushing them personally ahead in areas than just their strengths even if it means extra work for the teacher! The teachers understand that kids learn differently, and at different paces, and accommodate learning needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2014

This is my first year teaching at AmeriSchools-South; I really enjoy working here every day! School s philosophy is to provide each student with a high quality education. Teacher s instruction meets the individual needs, interest, and abilities of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2014

Amerischools Academy is a great school. I enjoy going to work everyday and the atmosphere is positive. All staff members work hard to achieve and give all students the best education possible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2014

Everyday that I work here I feel I am given the greatest opportunity to change a child's life through teaching, learning and growing with the children. My days are filled with positive people starting with our principle all the way down to the youngest member of our student body. I enjoy being here and being a part of something greater than myself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2014

This is my second year working here and it only gets better with time. Our class size is smaller than at other schools to allow for much more one-on-one interaction with students. Teachers are given more free range in lessons to modify to the needs of each and every student. We as faculty continue to learn and grow with the students in ensure the student is gaining the highest level of education for each grade level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2014

I love working at amerischools academy. All staff members work together to help each student achieve and acomplish their educational goals. Our principal is a great leader, she inspires all staff and students to be better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2014

I love teaching in a school where we can teach to fit the needs of every child in our classroom and not just follow a set of prearranged lessons. My students get hands on activities to help them learn. The staff goes out of it way to assist every student and other staff members. We are truly a family here. Best teaching experience I have ever had. I love working here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2014

Amerischools is a great school. The school focuses on differentiating instruction to meet the needs of individual students. We have an exceptional teaching staff and our principal is extremely supportive. Students learn citizenship skills and to succeed in academics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2014

My school AmeriSchools is a very good school. All the teachers are super nice, they are respectful and nice. The principal is a good and strict but really sweet she is not mean to anyone. She is always fair and super organized. This school is a small, yet a great school!! We have a rule that is called "one finger touch," I love that rule, at other schools they don't have a rule like that


Posted February 9, 2014

My son is in his first year at Amerischools Academy and so far we love the education he is receiving here. The teachers and principal make school fun and challenging. The only drawback is the school facility- it is small and a bit crowded. I wish the school would move to a better building and add a 7th and 8th grade, so we don't have to find a middle school in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

I have been employed at AmeriSchools for over 6 years. AmeriSchools is truly different than any other school in Yuma County. The staff members are compassionate, hard working and strive to provide students with an extraordinary education. They focus not only on their students academic needs, but also on their behavioral and social development. The parents & families are supportive of school events and understand that continual communication with their child's teacher is essential. I am blessed to have been given the privilege to begin at AmeriSchools many years ago, and I hope to continue being part of the AmeriSchools family for many years to come. If you haven't visited, I strongly encourage you to stop in and take a tour.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2014

I love the schools small size that allows for teachers and staff to get to know every family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 14, 2013

We love Amerischools Academy South! My son has gone to this school since kindergarden and is now in 3rd grade. The teachers are wonderful and the principal is awesome. The only thing I see that needs improvement is getting the school zoned for speed zones...which apparently is being worked on. thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Great school! This is my son's last year at Amerischools Academy and he's as happy to attend school today as he was six years ago when he started kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

I love Amerischool Academy. I teachers and principal are great. My daughter really likes going there. She has been at this school since kinder and is now a 6th grader. She has exceeded all aims, and is ahead in math and reading. Couldn't ask for a better place for my daughter to go to school. I tell everyone about Amerischool and hope they bring their kids there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My son went to 3rd grade here and the teachers and staff are very wonderful. If you have any questions or issue they will take the time to help you find the answers you need. Also if your child might be a bit ahead in some areas they can give him or her some extra work to help keep pushing them ahead. The class sizes are nice and the over all size of the school helps everyone be able to get any and all help they would need even if they get it from a different teach or staff member.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 43%
White 33% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A rated (2012)
  • Top 4 Elementary School Yuma County (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Clubs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • William Wachunas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (928) 329-9177

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Clubs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We offer our students the freedom to move from their "homeroom" to another classroom to meet the needs of each individual student whether in excelled abilities, gifted, or remedial. We subscribe to the "No Child Left Behind" policy. No cafeteria means your child eats their favorites from home in the classroom with their teacher for a feeling of family closeness.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2098 S. 3rd Ave.
Yuma, AZ 85364
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 329-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT