Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert L. Davis Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 436 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2010

Both of my daughters of thriving at Davis Elem. My oldest struggled with C's & D's at her last school. Because of the quality at Davis she is now getting A's. The teachers and administration genuinely care about the children. They're wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

Both of my boys has gone to DES and we have LOVED it! Since Ms. Beasley has been there, there have big alot of wonderful changes in the school. Each year she helps make this school a better place. The teachers do great jobs with their students. The office staff is very welcoming as you enter the building. The aids seem to be everywhere helping out around the school. Nurse Barbie is the BEST nurse ever! Davis is the BEST SCHOOL in the STATE of ARKANSAS! Can't say enough good things about the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

My oldest son went to DES from K-5th grade, now my youngest son is now there and we love the school. All the teachers my boys have had, we have liked. The Pull-out teachers are great teachers, the para's work very hard at their jobs, and it shows. The school is always clean. The nurse is sooo awesome! The office staff is good and the new Principal, Ms. Beasley, is the best thing that could have happen to DES. She truly is a wonderful person. Each year DES gets better and better! Davis is the best school in the state of Arkansas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

My son attended Davis last year. His teacher was disorganized and had no control of the classroom. The proncipal has only been in this position for less then 2 years and has no idea of the fundamentals of a proper classroom or how to manage her teachers. We pulled our son and placed him in a private school, for not only a better education, but a better social environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

My son, Austin started Davis this year in Kindergarten and loves it. He is in Mrs. McGinty's class. He went to preschool at a private school, so this is really different for him. He loves it and loves that he gets to have music, art, PE and computer lab.. This is one of the best schools I have ever been to. The Principal meets the students in the hall every morning as they come in. The kids love and respect her. I am so glad we are a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

Davis is a great place. The students are respected, and the parents are made to feel welcome. My kindergartener is having the time of her life. She has already learned to read, and adds and subtracts for fun! My fourth grade daughter is challenged by the curriculum. Every teacher gives 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

My sisters and brother went to this school and now that I have children my boys are going to Davis. This is a wonderful school all the teachers are great and my kids love it. The teacher's dedication to the children and the love that my kids demostrate to go here is wonderful. This is one of the best schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter was a student at Davis K-5 and my son is a current student. I have been very pleased with the teacher's dedication to the kids. I have been a witness, several times, to how hard they try to make certain all the kids have the skills necessary to not only advance, but to also be good citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter Madison just started Davis and is in Ms. Smith's kindergarten class. She love it! This is a wonderful school! I hope all the parents get involved and help make this wonderful school an even better learning center!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 64%
Black 17% 21%
Hispanic 10% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12001 County Line Rd
Alexander, AR 72002
Phone: (501) 455-5672

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Chicot Primary School
Little Rock, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT