Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sallie Cone Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 443 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

My child is currently enrolled in the PreK program at Sallie Mae. Both the teachers and the staff have been very kind and helpful to the children and parents. My child comes home everyday telling me something new that was taught and how much fun the teachers are. As a member of the PSA, I can say that many of the parents take a very active roll in the school by acting as role models for the children, volunteering with the grounds, watching out for the kids as they go to their classrooms from the parking lot and even through a new program called WATCH DOGS which allows fathers to volunteer time to help with the children and provide positive male roles in the children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

This school seems like they want to be a military school!! children with mental disabilities arent recognized as much as a child with a physical disability. I personally think the teachers need extra classes on things like this. I am very disapointed in this school and thank god it's over for us! i don not reccomend this school, they worry about nothing but tests tests tests, lets get a good mark guys...What about the children and thier needs, emotionally? Not too worried about that as long as they can get good 'marks'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I was a student teacher at Sallie Cone this past semester and WOW what a wonderful school. The teachers put the students first and care so much about each one. Mrs. Lacy and Ms. Tilson are the best! These children are loved and cared for everyday by so many at Sallie Cone. I learned so much from being at Sallie Cone and miss the teachers and staff each day. The 'test' are given because of our government. These teachers have no control over the benchmarks and Iowa test giving. The schools and teachers are held accountable for the test scores. How in the world do you not expect the teachers to prepare your children for them? My children would be placed in Sallie Cone in a heartbeat. What a wonderful school, words are not enough to describe how great this school is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 7, 2006

This school has gone downhill in the last three years. There is a lack of communication between the principal and teachers. As long as the benchmark is passed that is all that matters. I think Sallie Cone is in for a big suprise after test day, because these children cannot be expected learn anything in this enviroment. Control the kids first then think about teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

I agree there is definitely a miscommunication barrier here from the classroom to the principal in the future I hope there is a(n)improvement in that area. The school comes off sometimes more of a disciplinary facility than an education facility. I would also give the school a 'C'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

This school is not up to par as far as a 'communication' school should be. Teachers are caring and Mrs. Tilson is WONDERFUL. Overall I would give this school a C.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 21%
White 43% 65%
Hispanic 12% 10%
Asian 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1629 South Blvd
Conway, AR 72034
Phone: (501) 450-4835

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT