Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

England Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 408 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2008

My kids are having a great year. Every year more parents are getting involved. Our scores on the benchmark tests have soared over the last couple of years. Other than a great school, my sons football and baseball teams only lost one game between both sports last year. Things are looking up in England. Good job teachers and administration!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

I have a 12 year old daughter in this school ,who loves it very much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

My two children started England Ele. last year. So far they both have had excellent experiences. I wish they had more programs, such as teaching Spanish in the Elementary grades. I think the experience at EES depends upon which teacher you have. And I feel that the more involved the parents are in the child's education, the better it will be. I'm not impressed with the music program at all. But, all in all, I would give the school good marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

My two daughters that attend England Elementary do enjoy their school. I am glad that they are happy with their learning environment. I do wish that the school would pick the 'Watch Me Shine' awards program back up. It was a really good program that gave alot of their students alot of self confidence in their schoolwork efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

I am a parent of a sixth-grader at England Middle School. He absolutely loves it! He's having such a great year. His teachers are top-notch. He actually looks forward to going to school. I'm so glad we came to England.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

school funding is low therefore the school is suffering...the senior teachers care and do the best they can under those conditions...my children are 5th generation to attend here, and 2004 will be our last year in this school district
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 65%
Black 40% 21%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 East Dewitt St
England, AR 72046
Phone: (501) 842-2041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT