Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leverett Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 362 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2013

Levertt Elementary is an incredible school led by a great principal and assistant principal. All reviews prior to 2008 should be ignored or discounted, as the new principal took over and re-booted the school sometime around then. Recently, the school began a program of differentiated learning, and the ever-improving test scores are proof that it's working. Can't say enough good things about the administration and staff. Of course, there a few teachers who could be better, and the kids have little time for PE or physical exercise, but this is true for all schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

This is truly a great school with a team mentality. The teachers are wonderful, the staff is welcoming and professional, the Principal has all of the qualities needed to keep an organized, friendly, dedicated, successful school. Parent involvement is highly supported, a key component to the overall success, beauty, and community loyalty that is evident in Leverett. It is next to the UofA and has a wide range of ethnicities in its student body. Leverett has a very diverse range of extracurriculars including art, music, student government, PE, a plethera of afterschool clubs, and in-school programs, and performances. My children have been to several different schools throughout the US and UK, and I would definitely recommend Leverett Elementary as one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Leverett has wonderful staff, great programs for the kids, beautiful grounds, and is always working to better the school and programs offerred.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

I have two children at Leverett, and the teachers are wonderful. We have a new principal this year, and she is doing a great job. We enjoy the diverse student population and appreciate the caring staff. We also have a great fundraiser that helps to build community among teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

Leverett is an excellent school benefiting from it's location next to the UAR. Multiethnic student population is a big plus. Teachers are fabulous and small size is great. Great parent involvement with lots of options. Easy fundraising program (football game parking) raises significant cash --no selling cookie dough! Excellent yearly International Festival held in cooperation with the UAR International Students Association and Leverett families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Our daughter entered kindergarten at Leverett in the spring of 2002 after having attended her first 6 months of school in the UK. (I must give a great deal of credit to the Leverett staff for her smooth transition.) Five years later, we have a third grade son, and our daughter is now preparing to enter middle school. Our experience with the staff at Leverett has been a pleasing one. I have been in the school on numerous occasions and seen the professionalism and compassion exhibited by this excellent staff. In addition, the school appears organized, clean, and most importantly, provides a secure, nurturing environment for our children. I appreciate the support that the staff provides by their presence during the fund-raising events, and the annual International Festival. They volunteer selflessly. The PTO is stronger than ever, and welcoming to those who wish to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

The teachers at Leverett are wonderfully caring. They work hard to reach every student; from the highest achievers to those who need extra help to catch up, and all those in between. There are so many ways to get involved at the school, and volunteers are always welcome. Communication is great--the monthly newsletter is very thorough and keeps everyone up-to-date on school happenings and volunteer opportunities, as does the school web site. Teachers are also good about sending home information in weekly folders. There are also parent-teacher nights and curriculum nights throughout the year to give parents the opportunity to speak to the teachers and principal. If parents don't get involved at Leverett, it's certainly not for lack of opportunities! My children are thriving at Leverett. They love their school, and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

My child hates going to school because of the experience received at Leverett. There is poor communication to the parents from the staff. It is highly political, and if the parent is not well known, the child's education greatly suffers. This is overlooked all the way to the administration level. We are in the process of moving to another district specifically because of the lack of cooperation we recevied from this school. If you care about the education of your child, you will not send them to Leverett.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

I actually chose to have my child come to Leverett and he has hasd a great experience. It is nice that my son actually knows most of the teachers and the majority of the kids, not just those in his class. There are many ways in which parents cna be involved if they so choose. The size of the school and the diversity of the population allows everyone to feel like they belong. It is a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

We love the caring environment this school provides to our child. Each child is seen as an individual. The student body is very diverse, both culturally and socioeconomically. The staff is great, and our child's teachers have been wonderful, both in terms of experience and the attention they give to our child. We couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

This is a wonderful small school right next to the University of Arkansas. Its proximity to the UofA makes it an ideal school for children with parents who attend or teach there. The school provides a rich, culturally diverse experience, as many of the children are from other countries. The teachers are great and my child loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

This is a good school with many good qualities. Many different countries represented in this small elementary school. Diversity of cultures is celebrated. However, some customer service could be improved. The leadership from the principal is strong and that can be a good thing, but can also be its worst enemy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

This school has been a very bad experience. My child hates going there and the staff are not very friendly. The principal only treats you well if you are well known in the school and not like an equal. She has handled situations poorly and overall our time here at this school has been very negative. It shouldn't be the parents job to try and get things taken care of in the school. The teacher and principal have lacked in communication .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

This school has been a big disappointment. I will be moving to another school so my children can have better treatment and better education skills. The principal has handled many situations poorly and doesnt listen to what you have to say. She has her opinion and that is the only one that matters. The teacher doesnt give homework at all. I have asked for extra work to be sent home in a certain area and I have yet to receive any. I have hated sended my children to this school and my children as well have not enjoyed going here. It is not a fun learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2003

My child loves the school and the level of education appears to be adequate (possibly better). The problems with Leverett are on the 'adult' level. It is very difficult to get involved with this school and communication about your child's daily events, problems, successes, incidents (accidents/illnesses), etc. is pathetic. The 'open door' policy is grudgingly offered; office staff does not like parents visiting at any time. You have to make a strong effort to get information and even when you do receive some, it is spotty and often incomplete. My final conclusion - communication and opportunity to 'connect' is horrible, which outweigh any love for the school my child might have. If I had it to do over again, I would not have moved into this school's area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 64%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
Black 8% 21%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1124 West Cleveland St
Fayetteville, AR 72702
Phone: (479) 444-3077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Asbell Elementary School
Fayetteville, AR



The New School
Fayetteville, AR



Eda Head Start Center
Fayetteville, AR


Montessori School
Fayetteville, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT