Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hackett High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Hackett is a terrific little school. My niece started here in the middle of the year of second grade and Ms.Collier has been wonderful! She is a great, loving,and very caring teacher. Im so glad that my children attend this school. Mr.Kennedy we will miss you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

This school degrades anyone who isn't born and raised there, a member in my family attended this school and made better grades than most of these in-bread jokes but yet when it came to the awards ceremony he didn't receive a single award and he even had a cord but yet no award to help back it up. Its all about who is in the inner circle to these people and whoever moves from out of town gets left behind. I can only hope this school gets closed downed soon. I beg you that I would recommend any other school, not this one.


Posted August 28, 2013

The education here is a joke and the students aren't that accepting of new students. Still hasn't caught up with the rest of the modern world.


Posted August 17, 2009

I love the Hackett school. I went to Hackett all my life and my children will go there, Just as I did. I couldn't ask for more caring teachers and staff. For it is a small school and that is what I like, seems they are more caring about learning then the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I graduated from Hackett High School. I actually attended school at Hackett most of life. I do not think the education that I received there translated well once I went to college. I went on to a large university and I felt very ill prepared. I made excellent grades while in high school, but I felt as if I had to try 20 times harder than the other students around me. I took a biology class my freshmen year and I remember thinking that I had never heard so many of the terms that everyone else seemed to already know. I feel that, for the most part, the HHS teachers did what they could. It just seemed as if they had to dumb down the material in order for people to pay attention or to even pass. Hopefully, things have changed since then - but I doubt it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

I think Hackett is a great school. I'm in the 9th grade and have been here since kindergarten. I plan to graduate at hackett. My sister did. And she is almost through with college. She started in the 7th grade and liked it. I love it now and forever!! Cassady Ross
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

Both of my sons went from 1st and 3rd grade, all the way to graduation at Hackett High School and i wouldn't have had it any other way. What a wonderful school--wonderful kids, wonderful faculty--i could go on and on. Thanks so much to everyone who works so hard to make Hackett such a wonderful place to raise a family!! Sincerely, Lisa Mancuso
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

I am proud that my children attend Hackett. The teachers are wonderful, I also think Mr. Kennedy does a wonderful job with such a small school. The children here are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

I have been to Hackett Schools all of my life and if and had the will to change that I would not. Just because we have some not so great students here does not mean we are not a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2005

Mr Pierce is an excellent Math Teacher. The availabilty of extracurricular is excellent. School tends to favor family members of staff and teachers for positions in the extracurricular activities and special awards programs. Some parents are involved more than others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

i believe that Hackett should have an EAST program so that students could have a new experience with computers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
26%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 64%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Black 1% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

102 North Oak St
Hackett, AR 72937
Phone: (479) 638-7003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT