Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherokee Elementary School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2009

Cherokee Elementary has excited, caring, inovative teachers who work hard to provide the education that our children will need to survive and thrive in the future.


Posted November 20, 2008

I am very unpleased with the principal,she is very rude and snobby and does not care about the safety of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have been pleased with the teachers at this school. Some have been excellent. However, the pricipal has an attitude problem, and seems mostly concerned about fulfilling Arkansas law and not so interested in the welfare of the child. The one hour of PE a week, and irregular outdoor recess are pathexamples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

My child has excelled and is very happy, there are some great teachers, but you have to get involved and communicate with the teachers and principals, once you are on board with them, your child will soar. I agree with the physical activity, it is a shame that children have to sit quietly during recess time on rainy days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

My child is happy at this school, but there is almost no physical activity for them. Sometimes they have not one recess in a day and PE is pathetic. They send home notes telling me that my child may have a weight problem yet they offer poor breakfast and lunch options. On days when the weather is bad, the school opts to put a movie on instead of letting them get some exercise. A a six year old cannot sit all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

I would have to agree with the previous review that this school is adequate for an average student, yet not suitable for the special needs/gifted student. I would like to add that there are some great teachers in this school, yet parents and administration pressure them into average performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I feel this school is best suited for those with the average child. If your child has learning disabilities or to the other spectrum are gifted, this school is not adequately equipped to supply your child's educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

I am a new parent with a Kindergarden student too start at this school. I feel that my question's were not answered. I feel that the principal needs a lesson in manners, and hospitality. My child is the sources of tomorrow, and all input is important for parents and administration to work together. This principal has a smart mouth and ugly attitude towards challenge, and this is a wrong approach in establishing change, or simple questions. I am a retired Doctor, and I will be attending and partcipating in all aspects of my childs education, just as I have done with my other successful eight children. Parents step up and join together for change for the children. Nancy Long
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2003

great school, and teachers..
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 64%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Hwy 175 Spur
Hardy, AR 72542
Phone: (870) 257-3118

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Peace Christian Schools
Mammoth Spring, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT