Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 393 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Little Rock

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 8, 2013

We have had our daughter in the school since she was 18 months old. Most of the teachers she has had are excellent and go above and beyond, however this year that has not been the case. My daughters teacher seems to be more concerned with her social status then actually teaching/caring for the children under her control. During a meeting with the principal I was told that my child, who is no angel but isn't a horrible child, needed to be medicated and that we should think about moving her to another school. We haven't had any trouble with her in any other class. I requested she be moved to another class to see if a change in leadership would help. I was told that it was a stupid request. I believe this is due to our lack of extra funding, aka fund raisers, that we have been able to participate in. The administration seems to not care about how we feel because we don't give lots and lots of money. Overall it is a good place, but I caution you to look elsewhere before committing to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Awesome school! My kids LOVE their school, teachers & principal! The staff & administration are wonderful and so loving! My 3 kids know more scripture than me. They daily chapel services are so great! I love it & recommend it to everyone! One thing I appreciate is they do NOT tolerate bullying. They do their best everyday, and my kids are thriving there. Oh, and reading some of the negative reviews below, they do not ask for donations. They do request we participate in fundraisers, which ALL schools do. No, they do not have a lot of extra funds flowing in...but Tuition is affordable unlike so many other private schools. I'm thankful to God for SCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

So thrilled with our experience at SCA. God is there everyday. My kids love it and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

My family and I have been a part of the SCA family for 20 years. I couldn't imagine being anywhere else. This is our home! GO LIONS!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

I am proud of the mission of SCA and have only wonderful things to say about Southwest Christian Academy. My two children are well grounded in God's word thanks to the support of the daily chapel services and teachings in each and every class. I am so thankful for the leadership of the administration and that they do what is right in the sight of God no matter what.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Awesome school and wonderful teachers that genuinely care about our children. My kids have been there since pre k-2. Not only do they have a curriculum for 2 year olds they also teach them the Bible at such an early age. Now in upper elementary, both my kids excel in their education, sports and are extremely sociable. As a parent that went to public and private school growing up, there is nowhere else I would send my kids. We love our school. We can call it "our" school because we are one big family. Our theme this year is "we are family". No matter what religious or ethnic background you are, you are completely welcomed into the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

Lack of ethnic % in grade school & high school. Majority of income based on preschool & I believe administration supports this thinking. They would have less $ woes if they think outside the box. My three children attended & were able to attain a higher social climbing (dance courts, student counsel, etc.) after leaving. They must accept ethnic diversity in their school, or #'s will remain low, which leads to problems w/ students and real life social skills w/ those that are different once they leave this school. A real shame because there are some excellent teachers here who don't hold the same beliefs. Praying this changes.


Posted June 15, 2012

SCA only cares more about money then the care of a child. Since I never donated money to the school. They kicked my 3 year-old out of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

I attended this school so I know first hand how the staff and teachers are. First they care way more about money than they do the students. . They tried to charge my parnets for a school year that I didnt even attend there and when we tried to get my transcripts to go to a different school they wouldnt give them to me. Overall this school is awful and I would never send my kids there.


Posted November 13, 2009

Great School. My children's elm. teachers go well beyond what is expected of them. I had one child that had some learning difficulties. Teachers were always willing to spend time after school to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I am a very happy parent of a thriving, funny, socialable boy. He loves SCA, his friends & his teachers. He enjoys the ABEKA curriculum & for the most part is an A-B student. He plays basketball & football & really enjoys both teams. He has attended SCA since he was 2.5yrs old. I have great respect & admiration for the teachers & the administration. We have had a wonderful experience at SCA. They are very loving, caring & genuine. I'm sure every school has issues, but you work together & you talk about things. If there has been any issue, I have talked about it or sent an email. No matter the issue, things have always been resolved in a Christ-like manner. I appreciate SCA & their dedication. Yeah, there might be fundraisers, but what school doesn't do those these days? We love SCA! GO LIONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Not pleased w/the structure and overall academics. Pleased w/christian values. More like a daycare experience for my 4yr. than a learning enviornment. My child will move soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

As a former student, current teacher and a parent of two in preschool at SCA, I have a great love for the school. It is clear to me that the faculty and administration are passionate about helping parents grow strong, responsible, Christian students. Among the things that set SCA apart from other private, Christian schools in the Benton-Bryant-Southwest Little Rock area is that even in tough economic times they still make a real effort to increase academic and athletic opportunities for the students every year while keeping tuition well under that of similar programs in Central Arkansas. I was prepared for college, and the quality of education has improved since I attended. I wish I could have had the opportunity to get concurrent college credit for classes as the high school students do today. SCA was a great experience for me as a student, and I want that for my kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2008

This is an excellent Christian school and its administration has the students at heart both spiritually and academically. Praise God for SCA!!


Posted June 16, 2008

My children spent a couple of years at SCA. The elementary teachers were very good. The problem at SCA starts in the middle school grades. A couple of the teachers are good. Math and Grammar are the areas where my children have declined the most. After leaving SCA, my children were very far behind in math and grammar skills. Upon taking the standardized testing for this past year, one child who had always tested 2-3 grades above her level prior to SCA, is now testing at grade level. This child made all A's at SCA, with one or two B's in the past two years. In my opinion, the school lacks leadership and oversight. The school constantly talks about how little money that they have and the need for more and more fundraisers. The school is a better alternative than public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Our kids have attended SCA since the early years, one entering middle school and one in the upper elementary school now. The pre-school and lower elementary teachers seemed to stick to a consistent and loving pattern of classroom control, and the curriculum is challenging, but good. One reason our kids will not be back next year, though, is due to the overall lack of professionalism of the upper elementary teachers. We are greatly disappointed at this point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

Our children have been attending SCA for a few years now, and we will leave them here. Some of the teachers clearly teach for a love of children. There are a lot of fundraisers, and I agree that it is 'who you are' that counts. We do like the relaxed atmosphere and casual dress (no uniform) as we are on a very tight budget, but the core of the school (Christian values, etc) is not lived out in as many teachers as should be expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

My children attended and my grandchildren now attend. There are wonderful teachers there and they offer an awesome curriculum. My children finished out school in the public school system and I wish I had never let them leave, it was a horrible experience. But thank God they were there long enough to get the Christian value needed and a good base education. I have recommended many people there and will continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

Overall, SCA is an excellent school. Although this is a Christian school, not every parent who places their child there has an affinity for Christ, nor do they particularly care for the Christian leadership or emphasis of the school. Without knowing the values of those who have expressed an opinion, I would be hard pressed to take stock in what they are saying. It is the responsibility of the parents to ensure that their child is getting the most of their classroom teaching. Is their room for growth at SCA? Absolutely. What ministry or business isn't always looking to improve? I've had the pleasure to discuss many difficult issues with Mr. and Mrs. Stewart over the years and have always found them to keep every decision student focused. The teachers work at SCA simply because they love Christ and they love children. I am blessed to have my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

I agree with the parent who wrote the Feb 06 review. It is all about who you are and how much you donate. The leaders of this school are not what seem to be. For the most the teachers are great people but my children were not prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Black 5% 22%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 8%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11301 Geyer Springs Rd
Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone: (501) 565-3276

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chicot Primary School
Little Rock, AR






Cloverdale Middle School
Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT