Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carver Magnet Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 417 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Carver Maget is the Best school with Best Teachers. They have many clubs like Destination Imagination, Chess, Young Astronuts, Math Club. They are strict in timings which is good for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Carver is a fantastic school! My son will be in the 5th grade this year, and he is excited about going to school! He enjoys his classes, the math lab, the young astronauts, the science lab, computer lab & LEGO club. We have had a wonderful experience with all the faculty --- the teachers, specialists, administration & support staff work well together & that teamwork spills over into the general positive attitude in the school. My son has had so many opportunities t Carver that he would not have experienced at a neighborhood school in our home district. The parent volunteers at the school are great as well...for the past few years, Carver has received awards for the highest number of volunteer hours reported within the district! If you are looking for a school, please come visit us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

We are very pleased with the teacher and school, my duaghter is kindergradener. We love this school. Miss Daniel is a great teacher and I wish all the teacher should be like her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My son studied in Kindergarten here. We think the teacher and the facilities provided at this school was excellent. Our son had a lot of good things to say about the Space lab and other labs. The teacher organized many fun activities which our son enjoyed. The teacher was always very responsive and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

My children went to Carver 2009-2010 school year. This was my children first and last year. I hated this school. The teacher my son had was very racist. The principal didn't show good school leadership i had a major problem i talk with the principal about it and she let me know that she gave it back to the teacher to handle it. What can of principal it that. The only good thing i can say is that the vice principal was very helpful. Anytime she was there i would try my best to deal with her rather than the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

This is our 3rd school in the last 3 years, and it will be where we stay! Carver is a wonderful school. My daughter's teacher is fabulous, and does a great job at meeting every need of each child in her class. All the supplemental subject teachers are excellent in their fields, and do a great job at getting the kids excited about learning. Our principal runs a tight ship, yet is very approachable, and is concerned for each student. I have been very pleased with how difficult discipline situations have been handled, too. Carver may only have received a 4 rating, but don't let test scores deter you from considering this school, as test scores do not paint an accurate picture of the school as a whole. As a former teacher, I can confidently say that my daughter has received an excellent education this year! I highly recommend Carver Magnet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

My child has attended Carver since kindergarten. She is in 3rd grade now. We have been really pleased with academic performance and extracurricular activities offered afterschool. So far she has participated in Chess, art, reader's theater and drum clubs after school. The teacher's do their best to help her learn more each day. I do feel like more could be done about the discipline in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Carver is a wonderful school full of caring staff and opportunities for parent involvement. My son has really thrived in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

Not only does this school have excellent staff but they have a great PTA team who sponsor the extracurricular after school clubs and send some students to space camp during the summer. The teachers and PTA members work great to make this the best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

Carver has great extracurricular activities, such as art, music, math lab, and young astronauts. However, the school district has reduced the classes down to just a few weeks a year, instead of weekly. Carver also has great clubs for the kids to join, like chess club, and art club. Most of the teachers are great. The school does lack disciplin, and leadership. The school survives off of the pta, which is a small group of parents dedicated to the children, and the school. Unfortuntely, it's the same people that the school relies on too much, and they get burned out. The bathrooms are NEVER cleaned, and the smell is horrible. Soap is not provided by the school, but by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

We transferred to this school after moving to the area. I have to say that I am not greatly impressed. My youngest had a wonderful teacher, Ms. Traylor. However my oldest teacher was much more difficult to deal with. The racial breakdown that is required creates a serious discipline problem. It is obvious that the majority of the problem children fall into a specific socio-economic group. We came from a school with similar racial make-up but testing scores averaged in the 90 percentile. Here they average much lower and the yearly school report card shows the exact location of the lower scores. Although this school might be a crown jewel to some, it needs a lot of polishing to really be something to talk about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

This school gets an A for academic programs, an A for extracurricular, art, music, PE, and a B- for parent involvement. Discipline however is a C-.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My experiences at Carver so far are fantastic. I have transferred my children to this school from another district because of their exceptional academic program and reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2003

Carver has been a great school for my children. The teachers and staff are caring, educated individuals who always keep the heart and mind of each student in the forefront of the educational process. Student, Parent & Teacher involvement is key to each child's education, and Carver is an excellent example to set the standard for all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 21%
White 29% 64%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 East Sixth St
Little Rock, AR 72202
Phone: (501) 447-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alternative Agencies
Little Rock, AR


St Edwards School
Little Rock, AR


Seventh Street Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT