Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Heights Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 592 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

This is an almost horrible school there is at least one fight a week, and teachers have almost no control of their classes. Lots of foul language. If you want to learn this is not the place to go. The students are so wild that you would get no learning done. There are a few great kids and if you hang out with them it can be a good experience at the school. But for the most part I don't think it's that great of a school.


Posted August 8, 2013

My older daughter attended this school two years ago, and now I have a younger one who has been placed in this school. With the reviews below, I can concur and am now VERY concerned. Be prepared to be both the parent AND the teacher for your child.The teachers were confrontational, the priniciple didn't respond unless I contacted the superintendent. And even then she would rush your concern, and promise to get back with you.....which she never did! The counselor is a gossip . My child's grades declined, and one class was even allowed to go for about 5 months with a new substitute changing weekly, while the entire class failed! And again, it wasn't until I threatened them with a federal act that something happened. I might just bus my child to Maumelle instead of dealing with this.....NOT A GOOD SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

My son attends this school, and I could not be more disappointed. If you are looking for a good school, look beyond Forest Heights. The teachers are rude,and do not seem concerned about the learning process of its students. Check their scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Many teachers are excellent at Forest Heights. The Principal is not responsive to parents. He lacks the leadership and management skills to get control of discipline. He displays indifference to parents and students when they have clear issues to bring forth. Unfortunately, many parents must pass on this public middle school after excellent elementary schools.


Posted May 4, 2010

well, times has definitely changed since the last post about this school...I would like to encourage any parent that is looking into Forest Heights, not to...I used to attend back in my day, and it was really nice...I loved every minute of it, but, after transferring my child to that school (thinking it was the same as if I was still there) it has been tragic. I have had so many problems since my child has started attending that school...the principal, asst principal are scared to speak with the parents, when the parents have a right to know why or how they are trying to control unruly kids. The kids are going around bullying the kids that actually do want to learn, and the faculty and staff know this, but, nothing is being done about it. It's really horrible...please please please seek elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

I'm a student at Forest Heights now and I am horribly disappointed. And right now it isn't the teachers or the principal itt's the sixth grade children. Now i am one of their sixth graders but I only act like the other students on occasions!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

FHMS has excellent staff. In the inner city schools it is difficult to find as many caring staff per student as what can be found at FHMS. I have a special needs child. Since I have taken time to get involved with the school staff, they work with us well and take care of my child's educational and social needs. The principal is exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

After choosing to move to the area I did because I was assured that Forest Heights was the best the LRSD had to offer, all I can say is I am horribly disappointed. My biigest complaint is that my son was not provided a math book and the best response I got was 'we only teach for the standardized testing, anyway'. How can a school that can afford a football team be unable to provide math books? Also, it looks like the racial balance is not what is reflected in their profile here. Finally, the principal will not return phone calls and when you do get to speak with her she flatly suggests that you complain to the school superintendent and the teachers refuse to work with the parents on anything at all. If you have a choice, pass this one by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

FHMS is a great school; in the two years that I have been there I have learned so much. The teachers there focus on how they can help the students. The first year I was there I was scared but when the year went by I realized that these teacher want to help me and they are there to better my education. The assistant principles are great there they focus on the student s needs and try to compromise with the parents and teachers. The extra curriculum is wonderful there it gives students a chance to enjoy there selves after a long day of learning and at Forest Heights . The student there enjoy themselves while learning and I know When graduation time comes around many tears will be shed not only because of losing close friends but because of leaving a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2005

As a formal child that went to Forest Heights I am glad to say that I really liked the school the students and the teachers. The teachers were really good role modles. Lori Neal
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 21%
White 8% 64%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5901 Evergreen St
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: (501) 447-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Christ Lutheran School
Little Rock, AR


The Anthony School
Little Rock, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT