Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Conception School

Private | PK-8 | 390 students

Our school is best known for the spiritual and academic education offered.

 
 

Living in North Little...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $148,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

The school has received a new priest! Who both my son and I love... He really interacts with the school. My son has even recently informed me that all grade are now involved in a anti-bullying class. The principal and teachers are amazing. I've had 3 children go though I.C. and move on to the Mount, Pulaski Academy and the University of Louisville and they say that I.C. educationally, physically, and mentally prepare them for high school and college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

I'm appalled when people criticize a priest. However we have Another great priest at IC. The teachers are awesome!! The principal is extraordinary!! The whole staff there is wonderful!-- Like one big family all working together for the greater good of our children. Christ-centered environment. We ve been very pleased. As many other people to be sending our children to a Great school like IC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

Most of the teachers at the school are very good. However, enrollment continues to dwindle because of the priest. This is because he ignores and/or allows serious bullying issues, playing favorites and ignoring some kids behavior because he is afraid of some parents. He also insists on using incense during Friday school Mass, which chokes and nauseates the kindergarteners who sit next to the altar. The priest also chokes and coughs, causing many parishioners to comment that he looks like Barney Fife smoking his first cigar. Even though the teachers are very good, I would not recommend this school until the priest is transferred; which hopefully is soon.


Posted April 1, 2009

My son has been in school at IC for two years now and I am amazed on a daily basis at how well he is doing. The teachers, the staff, the pricipal and the priest have all been wonderful and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

There have been a lot of problems with the priest at this school. I don't believe the school would be that bad if the priest were not there, but as long as he is there this school is not recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I love IC! I have been going here since I was in Kindergarten and have known some of these teachers my whole life. I am now graduating and will miss this school very much. This year we have the principal as our math teacher and it is great I have learned so much and truly understand it and my grades are showing it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

I am very disappointed in this school. Cliques are terrible, especially in the upper grades. There are several good teachers in the lower grades but I certainly wouldn't send a child to junior high here. A lot of complaints have been made against the priest too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

This school has welcomed us in with open arms. They have been helpful and understanding. We did not growup here nor start here, but you would never know it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

Mrs. Wolfe is the best thing that ever happened to the school. She is completely dedicated to education and the children. In the past year she has greatly improved the curriculum, technology and clique issues. Teachers are all great, and make much less than those in the public system so you know they are doing it because they truly enjoy teaching children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

I was mainly disappointed in this school. It is overshadowed by cliques, both parents and teachers. There were several parents (we personally knew) removed their kids because of the teachers focussing more on dictatorship. The principal, Mrs. Wolfe, is so arrogant and rude. She doesn't know how to interact well with parents & students. There are way too many teachers with attitudes but there are some good ones whom you'll LOVE them to death, like Mrs. Boone, Mrs. Byrne, Mrs. Buchanan, Mrs. Eubanks, Mrs. Hurtado, office staff, & 5 other more faculty members. Dr. Tyson is the best music teacher that IC ever had. She's a BIG asset to the school. In general, the school provides a great & safe environment with no drugs & violence, except comes up short on education because I found their curriculum not very challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Having experienced North Pulaski and North Little Rock Public Schools, this school is hands down the best. I chose it because it was out of the public school system and I had never heard a negative remark about it, plus it was close to us. I have been very pleasantly surprised with all aspects of this school, from teacher quality, to parent involvement and sporting options for the children. Not only that, but in the case of my child (6th grade this year), there are no cliques amongst the children! They all play together, they love their school and teachers, and they all spend time together after school for events in which parents are always present and welcome. What a wonderful learning and growing environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

I am impressed. My kids are doing more academicly than my friends children in public schools. The teachers are great. I think that parental involvement is good due to the Fair Share program requiring 20 hours or cash. Before some parents were never seen. My kids prefer non-school extracurricular activities, but I think that the school's are good. Discipline is great. My kids go to a nearby summer care program affiliated with another church. There I see a real comparison of discipline. The public school kids have difficulty staying out of trouble. The only concern I have is the safety at dropoff and pickup. At dropoff most kids have no problem with the slow (make you late) looping single-file line cars. I fear for those who must park in the center of the loop and cross the line. Pickup is I've got mine. Let's get the heck out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

IC has always had a great school with outstanding academic and religious programs. They offer a well rounded education that includes art, music, pe and computer. Higher than average standardized test scores attest to the focus on academics. The church and school support each other in all aspects. My children went to IC and I am sending my grandchildren there as well. Many families have had 3 generations at IC. What a testament to the spirit of IC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

I love this school and I am very very pleased with both the academics and the religious aspect.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 64%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Private School (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Marcia Brucks
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (501) 487-6097

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Beta Club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
FACTS Program

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mt. St. Mary High School
Catholic High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7000 John F Kennedy Blvd
North Little Rock, AR 72116
Website: Click here
Phone: (501) 835-0771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Indian Hills Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR



Crestwood Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT