Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ilan Ramon Day School

Private | PK-5 | 150 students

Developmental learning and a strong community

 
 

Living in Agoura Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $485,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

I have a child in the IRDS preschool and one in the day school (1st grade). My children are respected, loved, and taught as individuals to each of their strengths. My children are thriving and love to go to school every day. My first grader has a love for math, reading, and Judaic studies that I know is a direct result of her teachers and her school! Lastly, the parent involvement is very important to the school. Not only do I love to be involved, but it creates a wonderful community for children, teachers, administrators and parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

I've been at the school for 7 years with my oldest daughter and now my 5 year old twins are there for TK (Transitional Kindergarten) and we couldn't be happier. Amazing teachers in every grade, outstanding Judaic studies and Hebrew immersion and a great community of families. We've made some of our closest friends here and I know our oldest daughter will remain friends with her classmates for life. She is extremely well prepared for what middle school is going to throw at her and she's a confident person with who she is. My younger girls are having the best year and love going to school every day. IRDS is a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Ilan Ramon has been great for my kids. We send them to the school because we want them to have a great Jewish education but a strong secular one as well. They are not only getting a great education but they are also treated with kindness and respect. My children have been very happy and come home with smiles on their faces. We feel so lucky to have found our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Ilan Ramon Day School is a very special school for the children and parents. The small class sizes allows the teachers and administration to really know each child and teach to the individual. The math and science specialist is amazing. I am so thankful that my kids have such a strong math foundation. It amazes me! We have been in the Preschool and Day School. Preschool is warm and nurturing. This school has a way of building self esteem and instilling a love for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Ilan Ramon Day School Loved it We have been blessed to be at Ilan Ramon Day School for 8 years. Our children are achieving above grade level in a loving and caring environment. Individualized educational goals for each student makes this an exceptional school. The learning happens on an experiential level allowing the kids to become strong critical thinkers and participants in a world that is constantly changing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

Ilan Ramon Day School is a very magical place. From the moment you step onto the campus, you just know "this is where my child has to go"! The education is fabulous. The Singapore Math that they are teaching is fascinating. Every program is incredible, Judaica, music, song, dance, art, and so on. IRDS has it all. You couldn't ask for better teachers. Producing bright little mensches! Always teaching to your child's ability. IRDS is not just for your child. It is a close Jewish community that is there to help in everyday life events. It is one big family. So if you want the best Jewish Day School around, and a place that is down to earth... Take a tour, feel the magic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

The teachers are so supportive, the Principal is amazing, but what sets this place apart is that the parents (& grandparents) care and are deeply involved in a partnership with the staff in nuturing and promotoing academic (Blue Ribbon School) and social (making mini-menches) growth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Heschel West is an amazing school with amazing teachers. I never imagined my daughter could be so inspired to go to school every single day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

HW is magical. The kids love it, we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love my school - my kids love their school - it is a gem of a place with amazing teachers and families!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Great academics, great sense of community. At Heschel West we teach kids to things right, and to do the right thing!


Posted October 23, 2008

This Blue Ribbon School excels not only at academics, but also in behavior and morals. Students are expected to complete and exceed all government expectations of standard school requirements but also to help 'heal the world'. Values are not taught, but rather incorporated to everyday events and activities. Public service is a (age appropriate) requirement from day one and the community of teachers and parents alike is like none other. I can't say enough about this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Warm, nurturing environment that focuses on development of 'whole child.' Academics are good and there are many opportunities for involvement in sports, music and art. Very strong Judaica component and strong parental involvement. Middle school beginning this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon (2008)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Hebrew
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Yuri Hronsky
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • BJE
  • CAIS
  • WASC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Developmental
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hebrew
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Ilan Ramon Day School is a private Jewish pre-school and elementary school in Agoura, California. It is coed and Jewish affiliated, serving over 140 students from pre-school age 2 through fifth grade.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27400 Canwood Street
Agoura Hills, CA 91301
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 707-2365

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Conejo Jewish Day School
Agoura Hills, CA




Born Learners School
Agoura Hills, CA


Arbor Academy
Calabasas, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT