Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lincoln Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Amy Frary: My daughter blossomed in your class! Now she loves to read and write. Thanks for all the special projects/fun food-related activities that made sixth grade special Stephanie Holeva: Keep up the good work in the Bridge Program: you are making a difference in kids' lives.

Lincoln Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Both ends of the spectrum here: several outstanding teachers that have moved my students to the next level academically and with self-confidence- many of these are Core (English/History/Grammer) teachers. Long-tenured teachers are often less motivated and doing the bare minimum.


Lincoln Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Most teachers are reasonable in HW expectations. On occasion that I thought the assignment was unreasonable for the time-frame, I emailed the teacher and had reasonable responses. Expect 45 minutes -2 hours/night.

Lincoln Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Lincoln has a program called 'Wallbreakers' This is a program that has students write/present/learn about topics such as disabilities, bullies, stereotypes. Students create a school newspaper with interesting topics based on diversity, caring, inclusion.

Lincoln Middle School 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I have had 3 students at Lincoln Middle School. Overall a good experience. Some outstanding teachers that have really positively influenced my students. There are a small number of unmotivated teachers, but they are in the minority. Administration is strong and engaged. Good diversity of clubs/programs/classes. I had one child attend the Bridge program, an integrated program for kids with learning disabilities; very well structured and served my ADHD child well. Large student body best serves kids who can self-advocate and are relatively independent.


Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attending in this school since 6th grade, and she is 7th grade now. I can only say this school is sucks! Principal and teachers are keep replacing since she was in 6th grade, and at least more than 7 principal replaced already. Never have field trip or outside activity from school. Communication between school and Guardian is not enough. Be aware of this school

Lincoln Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a community member
im a 6th grade at LMS and i love it there. the school is probably best. the school has classes fit for everyone! you could be in band or wheel. wheel if made of different classes that you switch around in every 6 weeks. there's drama, french, art, etc. For band you try different instruments and you get chosen to play an instrument that's best for you to play. there's trombone, flute, sax, clarinet, percussion(drums/xylophone) and trumpet. the class isn't hard at all. i play trumpet and its fun! the school has dances, fundraisers, assemblies and other fun events happening the time. at the amp ( a hangout area for everyone) sometimes there will be small events happening at lunch. there could be a lost 'nd found fashion show, a music event or even a gaming event! its a great school, i really recommend this school for everyone.

Lincoln Middle School 4

Posted September 20, 2012
- a community member
I love this school, really, I do. I'm am a 7th grade student going there right now, and I love how that I can advance to Algebra if I want to, if not, or if Algebra's too hard, I can just take course 2. There are some downsides though, 1. Some of the teachers are MEAN, I've never had one of those teachers, but you'll know, you'll know. 2. Some of the students are annoying/mean/rude, and no one has been trying to stop them. On the bright side, there are amazing things about this school too! 1. Fun core teachers, there's plenty of them! 2. Outgoing, Friendly kids, it's not hard at all to make friends here! 3. The lunch is actually good unlike other schools :P 4. HUGE library and field There's one thing I'll never really get over though, it's the fact that they took away our school snack bar. It's not that I want to become obese and stuff myself with snacks, it's just that when I need to stay in a classroom to retake a test that I miss, it'd be nice to be able to go out and buy a cookie or a bag of chips so I won't be hungry at least. The cafeteria closes at around 12:00, and lunch lasts from 11:37 - 12:15, 11:32- 12:13 on Wednesdays.


Lincoln Middle School 2

Posted September 13, 2012
- a teacher
If you're a parent get involved in your child's academic affairs because your child even at this so called good school could be looked over. Classes are large and teachers are wanting the type of students who really don't need motivation but would prefer to have a student without any type of disability even though they have special day classes. Don't get me started on that program; all styles of behavior goes on in that class so the learning environment is questionable. The front office staff is helpful but the one in the middle is rude at times so you better be prepared for her. The "Counselor" is also rude and rushes you....... actually that is the feel of the front office. I realize we are all human but taking a customer service excellence course would really be helpful and I think joining the PTA and lots of talking with your child would be an even more rewarding experience. I do have to say despite what I have recognized on this campus the children all look happy to be at this school. Also, we have to remember no place is void of placebo type teachers.

Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
My son attended for 6th and half of 7th grade. We had just moved to Alameda, so this review might be helpful to those in the same position. It was really hard to connect with other kids as most of them are coming from other Alameda schools and have known each other for a long time. It would be great if the school had a new student orientation. The school has almost 1,000 kids, so it would prabably be well attended. Too many students, not enough teachers. The traits the students are told they need to have are not demonstrated by the teachers. Profanity is WAY TOO abundant. Teachers do not enforce the policy against profanity. Being a Calif distinguished school is great, but education encompasses more than just academics.

Nearby schools

Lincoln Middle School
1250 Fernside Boulevard, Alameda, CA  94501-4808
(510) 748-4018
Last modified Lincoln Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top