Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emery Park Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Love the location of the this school! Many positive changes need to be made in regards to the administration, Cheerful office staff, a headstrong principal, more parent involvement! Since I last visited the school it was a sad tired school! big disappointment! Friendly smiles is a must when working with the children!!

Emery Park Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
My children recently left this school and we don't miss the unfriendly office staff or the odd messages left by the principal! The new strict rules meant to keep our children safe actually seem to make it more difficult for full time working parents to be involved. I have however heard my children mention how much they miss the lunch lady, very glad to hear that there is at least one smiling face the children can count on


Emery Park Elementary School 4

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
The teachers kept up with the demands of the state and feds by constantly being trained. Its unfortunate that there isn't enough time in a day to spend more time on having fun while learning. There is lots of homework even in the lower grades and at times its really too much. Parent involvement is needed in more than just the fun events. Knowing what the plans of the school, district , state and federal government are, can really help a parent better understand what their child's current needs are in order to succeed. The principal is open to discuss issues/topics with parents. The staff is committed to providing the best for the children at this school. The environment of the school is clean, friendly and safe. Parents, as annoying as it feels to have to obey by so many rules, try your best to remember that it is all for the safety of YOUR children. Overall I was very pleased with my child's education and I would recommend this school to anyone in that neighborhood. Parents also remember that teachers aren't babysitters and cant possibly teach your child everything, remember you have to also do your part at home.

Emery Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
My grandchildren go to Emery Park. Like the structure and the demanding academics. A bit too much homework, imo, for the lower grades. It appears to be very safe, and the staff are very careful about visitors.

Emery Park Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
I went to Emery Park (1997-2006) MOST of the teachers are outstanding and care for the students on an individual level. All though some of their materials are not as new as the neighboring schools the teachers work with what they have, the best they have and if others feel differently about it, maybe they should join the PTA and help fund raise and give their own money to the cause. They have movie nights for the family where they project a family friendly movie on the handball court for free and sell concessions to help fund raise. There is an amazing sense of community at the school.


Emery Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
All of my eight children attended Emery Park School, then went on to Alhambra High. I have no idea if it is still a great school as it was then, but I was very pleased with most of the teachers, their curriculum, and their cafeteria. (In the early times parents were allowed to buy a lunch ticket and eat with their children, but some parents ruined this by eating their children's lunch along with baby siblings, so it was discontinued) The teachers were very involved with each student, and I liked going to open house to discuss any problems, which were not many. I just had a problem with one teacher, as I was given the heads up by another parent and I was welcomed by the principal to observe the class, and write any complaints. That teacher was replaced and I had no further problems. Emery Park was a great school.

Emery Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
This school is the best school my child has ever ben to. She has many friends. The parents are included in any situation to help raise money for the school (PTA). The school lunch lady is very nice and memorises every kids names. The teachers are always willing to help students no matter what. The school may not have a play ground sets but it incourages kids to use thier imginations all the time! Everyone is nice and evry kids education is excellent!

Emery Park Elementary School 3

Posted October 10, 2011
- a parent
This school has not had a playground for at least 8 years!! However, every other elementary school in Alhambra has a NEW playground, except Emery Park. The PTA raised money; but was told the funds couldn't be used for this purpose. The district says money is available; but construction is delayed -again! Is it a surprise that Emery Park scored low on the CA State fitness test?


Emery Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
I went to this school back in the 80's and now my daughters both have attended. Emery Park is one of the best schools I've been to and I went to many different schools. I love the teachers they actually try to work with little they have.

Emery Park Elementary School 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
My child is a kinderguarden student at emerypark and i have to say i was very dissapointed in the school as a whole. The kinderguarden classroom is very crowded with the teachers things, bags of old items never used during class time, dusty stuffed animals and old boxes filled with unknown items. The teacher is not involved at all with the students infact one of the parent helpers corrects homework and puts new homework in their folders everyday. I have expressed my concerns with the principal who is new to the school, but I dont want my child to be singled out so I havent spoke with the principal ever since he said it seemed like a personal issue with the teacher. There was no chrismas program or and activity for the kinderguarden class all year, there has yet to be a field trip.

Nearby schools

Emery Park Elementary School
2821 West Commonwealth Avenue, Alhambra, CA  91803-1099
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (626) 943-3340
Last modified Emery Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top