Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alta Loma Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 255 students

Our school is best known for touching hearts and training minds.

 

Living in Alta Loma

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $320,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

We just attended the "Abundant Blessings Auction" this past weekend, and I was so impressed with the great attendance of parents, teachers, and church members. What an outpouring of support for our school and students! I enjoyed the fellowship and fundraising, and the evening was beautiful. Thanks for all those who worked so hard to make this event amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

A very competitive school, due to parents wanting only "their" child to outshine all other classmates. Not much different than Public school behavior happening at this school between the children and parents. 10% of the parents are "friendly" and the other 90% are the complete opposite of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I have a middle school child, and the 1:1 iPad program that was introduced this year is amazing! Technology is important at this school, and the teachers and administration place an emphasis on preparing students for high school and beyond. The Accelerated Reader program is also used extensively to increase student reading scores, and even my reluctant reader participates willingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

I enjoyed the biblical instruction but the academics are similar to the surrounding public schools. There also were not many opportunities for parents to participate. An open PTA would be helpful. There are a few that are approved to participate and this does not foster an inclusive feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

I absolutely love ALCS. Not only am I a teacher, I am also a parent. I fell in love with the school immediately. I know the characters of the teachers and staff and I am honored to work with such loving people. I have 3 kids currently attending ALCS..1 in preschool, 1 in elementary and 1 in middle school and my kids love being here. ALCS is a family! I am so blessed to be here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2011

We decided to look into private schools when I learned my son would be mixed with 1st and 2nd graders for the coming year at the public school he was attending. There would be approximately 26 to 30 kids in a classroom. I feared what every parent would fear. How could 1 teacher cater to all these children? So I started researching the public schools 1st and due to budget cuts most of the schools in our area were doing the same thing. I was told if I wanted more individualized attention I'd pretty much had to pay for it. I had a had a tour of several private schools both Brethren and Non. We fell in love with ALCS the moment we took the tour. The campus security is amazing, the classrooms were small and had a intimate setting. The children and teachers were all were happy and everyone made us feel welcomed. The academic goals are impressive and the schools SAT scores are proof alone that this school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

It's THE best school in the area! The teachers are so caring and loving! I absolutely recommend this school! It feels so great to have found this school. It's very safe and I feel so satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

My daughter has been attending the Alta Loma Christian Preschool. for a week now.. She is still crying and clings on to me every morning making it very difficult to say good bye...but I know that it will get better. I transferred her from another school. Although she did great there, it feel as if it was just a daycare and the food they provided was awful. Alta Loma Christian School deserves five stars because they have one of the nicest teachers. They text and call me and let me know how she's doing, when she took the nap, what she ate for lunch etc. It is a very nurturing, safe and caring environment,where the children learn and play. I believe it is the best school in the area. I know that once my daughter get adjusted to school, she'll love going there. I did a lot of research before enrolling my little one here, and I'm very happy with my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

It's just the greatest environment for nurturing children with academic excellence and Christian foundations!


Posted May 17, 2010

They care about the children, what they learn and to have the parents be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Recently accredited, caring teachers and great curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This school is equipped to provide academically and biblically to my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Because of ALCS I am able to go through out my day with a peace of mind that my son will be taught not only academically but spiritually as well. Teachers and administration are always friendly and willing to address any issues. Been an ALCS family member for 7 yrs..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This school has strong biblical teaching principles. The teachers really are great models of Christ like behavior. Also the schools accredidations are very noteworhty accomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Alta Loma Christian School provides my son with an education that is academically in the top 10% of the nation! The class size is also small (20); as a result he receives more individual attention. The teachers, staff, and administration are willing to do whatever it takes to ensure the success of all of their students. The environment is one that is safe, loving, and encouraging. Biblical integration has helped us to build a strong foundation for my son that will stay with him his entire life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Alta Loma Christian School strives for excellence in all areas. Executives and staff are all men and women who sincerely desire to meet the needs of ALCS students. Test results are proof of their ongoing efforts to attain excellence in academic achievement. The recent application for and attainment of accreditation with both WACS and ACSI are also evidence of their desire to attain excellence. However, ALCS does not stop with teaching just academics. At Alta Loma Christian School, there is great emphasis on providing a way to minister to the whole child. This includes body, mind and soul. The recent addition of a recreational field is evidence of a desire to provide for the physical needs of students. In weekly chapels and weekly parent/staff prayer sessions, the emotional and spiritual needs are continuously addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

High quality Christian education...a great service to our community


Posted May 13, 2010

Having served on School Board for 2 years I was in a position to get to know the Principal, Mrs. Johnstone very well and many of the staff. One does not have to be on campus for any length of time before observing the love Principal and staff have for the students and their dedication to providing an education of excellence for each and every student. ALCS Principal and staff do everything within their power to provide a safe and pleasant atmosphere both of which are conducive to a great learning environment. Each student is seen as the unique individual God created her or him to be. Excellence in the education of each student as an individual, and that each child would grow spiritually, academically and personally, being used by God to accomplish the plans He has for their lives is the goal of every staff member at ALCS.


Posted May 13, 2010

I love this school because the staff deeply cares for the students, they are more than teachers of academics, they are role models and Christian leaders. My children feel safe at ALCS, safe to learn but as well as to make mistakes without ridicule. God's grace shines upon this school....there is a strong family feeling the minute you step foot on the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Alta Loma Christian School's doesn't just teach children the basic knowledge they need but also gives them a positive learning environment and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Black 17% 6%
Hispanic 14% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Model Classroom Renaissance Learning (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lori Johnstone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Brethren in Christ
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (909) 466-4579

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
250
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
255
Students typically come from these schools
Highland Christian Preschool
Pebbles Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Los Osos
Rancho High
Damien, UCA, OCS, St. Lucy's
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9974 19th Street
Alta Loma, CA 91737
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 989-2804

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Rancho Heritage School
Rancho Cucamonga, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT