Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Mayne Elementary School 1

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
My childs 2nd grade teaches needs to retire since she no longer has a passion for teaching. the homework is not consistently passed down to students correctly and the teacher will not let come back to get find out what the assingment was even if it's friday and the work due on tuesday. i reported the issue to the last principal but she left her position before she followed up with us. several time she has cornered our child in front of us looked at him in the eye while raising her voice and point at him saying i know told you to this but you did something else ,of course he's going to agree when you corner him and put him in that situation where he has no way out when confronted by the teacher in public of other students and parents . we fear reaching out to the district due to fear of retaliation of her targeting and failing our child hope fully some reads this and reaches out us on how to go about this properly.

George Mayne Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
mrs.hamane is a passionate caring teacher ,wish she could be the gold standard for your older teachers


George Mayne Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
if passed down properly with clear cut expectations for students and parents to follow up

George Mayne Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
they target students to fail if teachers is called out on her issues and no effort is made to follow up until days pass or weeks usually involving other school workers to make it seem she's doing her job

George Mayne Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
my childs teacher in 2nd grade has had issues passing down homework reading App. thd students & parents were never i structed on how to use it and if not done correctly he will not get credit for it and teacher will asumd and tell you she knows that you as a parent and your child have failed to do your job and that you're being lazy in those words. i reported it to the previouse principal the issue with passing down homework and other non english speaking parents have the same issue. last time spoke to his 2nd grade teacher she looked at my child in the eyes ,raised her voice and pointed at him what she thought he was doing but she never knew he didn't know how to use it . the issue lies in when the homework is not passed down correctly to students hiw do we as parents know what has ti get done and by when,i talked to the teacher on friday for homework due on tuesday she said it was our problem not hers and we couldn't do it at all. the last female principal left before she got back to us and that was the end of it. we fearfull to go to the new principal or school district since she does have the power to fail my child we really don't know what to do anymore.


George Mayne Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 25, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers need to show better life management skills of their own in order to be better role models to their students.

George Mayne Elementary School 2

Posted June 25, 2015
- a teacher
Many of the teachers need to retire as they've lost their passion for teaching, their energy to do a good job, and their compassion for the students. There are a few teachers who "lead" the decisions of the entire staff (not very representative of all the staff, however), and keep a relatively negative feeling in the workplace for the others. Brand new principal is in over her head.

George Mayne Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
This was my kids' first year at George Mayne (K & 3) and they felt welcomed and enjoyed their classes. There were a lot of field trips and special events, there are music lessons for grades 3-5, there is a play coach working with the kids during the day and at lunch recess. The teachers are great too. The PTA members are welcoming to new volunteers.


George Mayne Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
"SOAR" program rewards kids for good behavior, play coach program (featuring Coach Jeff who my kids love!) encourages fair play and cooperation.

George Mayne Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
I had some doubts about this school before my daughter started attending two years ago. My doubts have been erased as I have seen her grow and learn so much. She loves going to school and the two teachers that she has had, Mr. Tai (kinder/1st grade combo) and now Ms. Hamane have been awesome. They are both so passionate about teaching and wanting their students to succeed. We have a new principal this year and although she's only been here for a couple of months, she seems like a good fit. I like the school's philosophy of positive reinforcement and recognizing the good work/behavior that the kids are putting out there instead of focusing on the negative. The only thing that I really don't like is the physical location of the school. There is construction activity going on all around the school. It's polluting and doesn't seem like a very healthy environment for children with all the dust and diesel trucks constantly coming and going.

Nearby schools

George Mayne Elementary School
5030 North First Street, Alviso, CA  95002-0187
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (408) 423-1700
Last modified George Mayne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top