Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Timothy's Preparatory School

Private | K-8 | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Apple Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

Called the school and spoke to the head of Pre-K. She was nice on the phone til I told her my child has SPD then she try to tell me to take him to public school and that if we really wanted him in the school then we could pay for an aide on top of the school fees, I was floored, this is Pre-K lady. In fact my son already goes to another private Pre-K ( we are being relocated to CA) and his teacher tested him many times and said he is the smartest kid in her class way advance in his class the only thing is he may not sit still for the 20-30 mins they want on same days. She said if he can not do that then he would be bad for the class and teacher. I'm not surprised to read the review from the mom who son had speech problems and was denied. This is why I am going to homeschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

My son was not admitted because he is delay in speech is sad to know that it was the only reason for this school to denay him his enrollment this is not professional .I feel they are looking for perfect kids to be perfect in everything so the teacher don't have to work and keep the school in perfect rating I feel very disssapoint with the staff and the teacher that make the evaluation to my kid.she has only 5 kids in the classroom and she couldn't keep it with one more.very bad impression
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

We have had our daughter enrolled since kindergarten in 2009. She is now a happy, motivated 3rd grader. Every day she comes home from Me. Martinez's class and says, "Today was awesome because ____!" Without fail. I could not be happier with the education she has received thuis far & the values she's exposed to. One of the first things I noticed when she was a kindergartner was how involved the older students were with the younger ones. Responsibility & character are really emphasized. I don't know where the previous parent got their stats as there have never been more than 15 kids in my daughter's class. When they had 15 kindergarteners, the school actually brought in a 2nd teacher! I highly recommend St Tim's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

St. Timothy's Preparatory is a strong academic school that fills each student with christian values that prepare the student for a successful life. Many students have graduated from this school and are now attending colleges. Both my children have attended this school and both of them have had a positive learning experience at St. Timothy's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It's the best school in the High Desert - academically and otherwise
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 14, 2009

St. Tim's is a great school. The class sizes are small, the staff is great, and parents are all very friendly. It has been a positive experience for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

St.Tim's Prep is a great school with 5 star leadership and teachers class size at about 10 to12 St. Tim's produce a first class student that does well in H.S. and into college


Posted December 18, 2008

My family has been with St Timothy's Prep since 1998. My daughter graduated in 2005. The experience was great. The work can be challenging & there is alot of parent involvement. Not sure where the previous parent got her student average from but there has never been more than 15 students in a class since we have been with the school. I think that is why this school is so succesful. The staff is very supportive & the Principal has done amazings things for the school. They do not have a music program but chapel every morning is a great way to start the day. These children learn love, respect and character. They acquire a very strong foundation that is needed to become successful and guides them in the right direction to higher education. So happy with the school, I enrolled my other two children. Phenomenal school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

After working in the public school setting and then having the pleasure of working at St. Timothy's Prep, I would NEVER go back to public schools. Our school has a low student to teacher ratio. Currently I have 12 children in my class. On average I have had 12 each year. I am not sure where a previous parent who posted on this board got their information, but our largest class is at 15 students. Compared to public school that is half of their class size. I currently have a preschooler and a 1st grade student who attend St. Timothy's. I have had nothing but the absolute best care for both of my children. I continue to work at this school because I believe in our mission and I want my own children to receive the best education I can give them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2008

I rate St. Timothy's 'Quality LOW' and by the way... CLASS SIZE is UP to (20) now. We have sent our kids to St. Timothy's for about 4 years and it just keeps disappointing us. We CAN afford it, money is not the issue. We wanted the quality experience and education a 'private' school offers but for the $5800.00 a child we are now required to pay we are still not getting our monies worth. On top of that, in the cold months the kids STILL have no place to eat indoors. On the hot scorching days the kids STILL have very little shade on campus & must eat outside in the scorching heat. No grass. All sports are played in the dirt. The kids look impressing when they memorize 25 BIG spelling words on their test every Friday, but can't spell the simple words when writing a paragraph. Not good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

I attended St. Timothy's school for almost my whole schooling career (except 5th grade. Sorry Mrs. Carlile) The small class sizes are awesome and promote a better teacher to Student relationship in which its like almost learning and discussing t the same time (well in middle school it is) We get into heated debates and learn while doing this) The teachers are amazing and really go up and beyond what is told of them. I see it as a small extended family i can visit and meet with. Of course they still have their annual events with the added Dinner and a play. (i am so going to that) I can express how great it was to attend a school like St. Tim's from Pre-k Skip 5th and go on to graduate in the year of 07'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2007

St. Timothy's is a true gem. This school has an excellent elementary as well as pre-school program. The middle school program (grades 6-8) prepares its students for high school and beyond. Critical thinking and analytical thinking are underscored here. The school is safe and the children are well cared for. Teachers are motivated and give their all. I have had my son at this school since third grade, he is now in the seventh. I searched around quite a bit before choosing St. Timothy's. I have no regrets, this school cannot be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

St. Timothy's is an excellent school. The teachers are dedicated, creative, and aspire to a high standard. Children are taught how to write and critical thinking skills, as well as ethics and morality. The small class size creates a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

St. Timothy School has incredibly low class sizes and an atmosphere where kids feel and are safe. The academics at the elementary level are good, but the middle school program is outstanding. For the middle school students there are academic extra-curriculars- sports and band are not offered. Because of the small size of the school virtually any student who wants to participate in an activity may do so. This is a school for people who are seriously focused on getting their kids and excellent education. It is the best school in the Victor Valley and well worth the price of tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

School class size averages around 13 students per class. Very well adapted for learning. Plenty of attention to children and safe grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

Great caring and family oriented school. High parent involvement/volunteers. They have an annual Christmas program, Halloween Carnival, Science Fair, Art Festival, International Day and book fair. I can go on and on. Educational field trips are on a monthly basis. They have camp at the end of the year for the middle schoolers. They start the day with 1/2 hour of chapel every morning. This year (January 2005) 8th graders went to Washington D.C. for a week. They have day care from 7:00 am to 6:oo pm. You can always reach a teacher, principal or office staff should you have any questions or concerns that need immediate attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 26%
Hispanic 13% 52%
Black 9% 6%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Bonnie Cambridge
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15757 Saint Timothy Road
Apple Valley, CA 92307
Phone: (760) 242-4256

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oxford Preparatory School
Apple Valley, CA


Phoenix Academy
Apple Valley, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT