Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bowman Charter School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
I love the direction the school is headed with the new principle. This school has the most exciting feild trips and the most amazing staff. We are so proud to be a part of this school.

Bowman Charter School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
We have been a Bowman family for years, with our oldest child graduating from Placer HS last year, and our youngest is in 2nd grade now. We moved from the district 2 years ago and never felt like we were "out of district" parents. The administration has been very warm and welcoming through the years. While there are ups and downs with any organization, I have to say that Bowman has always stepped up, admitted fault if necessary, and made amends. I would not dream of moving my child from here and am happy that he will finish the K-8 program at Bowman. Great school! Wonderful facilities! And excellent after school program at Kids Club. Margaret Blake is just fabulous and my son adores her and her staff.


Bowman Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Mrs Heisler is perhaps one of the most influential teachers for my 7 year old. She was just the right mixture of tough, fun, and strong. Mr Havens was specifically important to my older son and was a friend and mentor at school, as well as pushing him through some difficult middle school years. Thanks to you both my kids are doing great and we all appreciate everything you do!

Bowman Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
It seems that there are those that are harder than others, but I think that is fair. Some kids need more push than others. Some do well with less homework and more classwork, while others will prefer to work hands on in class and crunch numbers at home. Regardless of the student, I think that the teachers present can effectively meet each childs needs and make sure that at the end of the year they have fulfilled most, if not all, expectations.

Bowman Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My son finishes homework at Kids Club most nights, but when he doesn't, it is because the "family" homework is what is left. This leaves time at home for discussion, projects, and family time.


Bowman Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
There is sort of a "don't give up" attitude with positive competition to succeed. "I can't" is not really accepted and the "try and try again" attitude is taught which shows kids that you may not get it right the first time, but you only fail if you give up and don't try.

Bowman Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My son is 7 and has learned to respect others, their space, feelings, and belongings, through the help of wonderful teachers.

Bowman Charter School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
The teachers encourage kindness and caring between the students, and promote good behavior with praise and recognition.


Bowman Charter School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Having 2 boys, both that like to get in trouble here and there, the school is more like a partner in their development and helps to teach right from wrong gently and without making them feel like bad kids or monsters.

Bowman Charter School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
Absolutley amazing school! Bowman has been a great school for my tk'er so far. We are excited to grow there!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bowman Charter School
13777 Bowman Road, Auburn, CA  95603-3147
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (530) 885-1974
Last modified Bowman Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top