Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 630 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2014

New to the area, so we were a little in the dark about the knowledge of district /schools. I am very pleased with this school. From qualified teachers, supportive staff, they really know their stuff. More importantly, the education seems solid (minus the common core junk:)). I feel that they push the kids, educationally, academically; they encourage responsibility, accountability and have high expectations. As a parent, I have no reservations sending my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2014

When you interrupt a girls school day to force her to change clothes or send her home because her shorts are too short or her bra straps are visible, you are telling her that making sure boys have a "distraction free environment" is more important than her education. Freedom middle school has unrealistic dress code policies, and I feel something should be done about it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

My son and daughter go to a Freedom Middle School and thus feel really good, this school has had so many principals and I think Mr. Monaco is new to our school district and needs to get a feel for our children and for the our partents! We are a school district with very active parents and good kids, there are some trouble makers but that's every where! I like Mr. Monaco and his staff! The teachers are great and all things considered, they do an awesome job! I think as parents we need to be very involved in the lives of our youth and I think Mr. Monaco will bring great changes to our school! My kids are upset about a possible dress code next year, but unfortunatly some students choose to violate the dress code! Some parents do not monitor how their kids dress and show up dressed up inappropriatly! Excited about the rest of the year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

I understand your concern regarding the child being late BUT I must say they have to teach them responsibility and what better way than making them accountable. If they are late for a job later in life they end up losing the job if it continues. With Freedom showing these children it's not acceptable they grow up to be responsible. That is something us parents can be proud of. As for my children, and I have 5 with my freedom child being my youngest, I give them a curfew for even playing outside. If I tell my child to be in by 8 then I mean 8 and not 8:01. If they walk in the door 1 minute late they go nowhere the next weekend. My 3 adult daughters now thank me for being disciplined with them because they are all responsible adults now. So let thank Freedom for helping
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

My son is a 7th grader at Freedom and has been in Rosedale Union since 3rd grade. Thus far his experience at Freedom has been pretty good. He has only had an issue with one teacher, but when I e-mailed the principal and councilor I received a quick response and the problem was resolved. The school is very strict which is a good thing. Too many children get away with too much these days and never grow up and learn how to be responsible for their actions. When I was in school they used physical punishment and had far less discipline issues than schools do today. When kids know they will be reprimanded for negative behavior they are less likely to misbehave. Keep it up Freedom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

The teachers and staff work very hard for the students and the community. I am very glad that both of my children attended this school. FMS did a great job preparing them for high school. The teachers are tough but fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

This school is a good school, but the teachers focus too much on getting the kids in trouble than focusing on the work. The kids get lunch detention for being late to school without an excuse even if they're 1 minute late, it's rediculous! The VP is awesome! And the student body is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

The Teachers and students are great,and the student body is excellent!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

There is another principal this year. Perhaps the school will improve. It hasn't so far. The staff spends entirely too much time on insignificant infractions, wasting the time of the staff, parents and students. This time could be used more productively in the classroom. We will be glad to leave here. Our child's academic performance has greatly decreased
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

Ditto the previous response. The principal of RN is now at Freedom. Good things to come? Discipline is way out of wack. A new VP so hopefully that changes too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

Very disappointed with this school! Staff focuses on the wrong things - more concerned about insignificant behavioral infractions than the overall academic, emotional, and behavioral growth of students. Teachers are difficult to reach - teachers have websites to update homework assignments, but frequently don't use, so parents can't get info and deadlines for kids are frequently not clear or provided last minute. I've only recently found out that many of my child's friends parents are also extremely unhappy with this school for the same reasons. While my child has great friends, I regret that I sent my child here. We would have moved after a great experience at RN if we'd realized what FMS was like.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

817

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

817

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
71%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females69%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females60%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Females72%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females54%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate60%
Parent education - declined to state36%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students38%
Females37%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate37%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate42%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students60%
Females57%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to state59%

Science

All Students61%
Females58%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 29%
Asian 3%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/AN/A
English language learners 1%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Charles Monaco
Fax number
  • (661) 588-6048

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11445 Noriega Road
Bakersfield, CA 93312
Website: Click here
Phone: (661) 588-6044

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





J C Worthy Institute
Bakersfield, CA


J. C. Worthy Institute
Bakersfield, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT