Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
Bakersfield, CA
Students enrolled: 178

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Heritage Academy 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Top notch school without a lot of the drama at public schools providing more time to learn smaller class sizes you do not have to worry about overcrowding like at public schools. It is a private school that relies on money through events etc. I would expect to pay more at a private school public schools just don't have much to offer anymore

Heritage Academy 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
This is a good school that teaches about Jesus But my child complained about bad lunches they Where not good and the money u have to pay Every month dosnt look like it goes to the school Overall this is not a good school.


Heritage Academy 4

Posted July 23, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter attended Readyland Preschool and moved into Heritage Academy just last year as a kindergartener. What I like most about the environment is that they are not tied into the same stringent dictates that public schools are -- this does not mean that the rigor isn't there, because it is, it just means that the way children actually learn and thrive is taken into consideration when implementing the curriculum. My daughter thrives at Heritage; the focus on character building, spiritual growth (which can be beneficial to children of secular families), and community is going to help make her a better human while the focus on academics, critical thinking, and key educational skills will help her become a better scholar. I was amused by the parent who seemed baffled by the school's frequent fund raisers; it's a private school, it should be expected. What do you get for the money? You get small class sizes, opportunities for your child to have structured art, music, and computer classes; teaching to the test is virtually nonexistent and while public schools are struggling with Common Core nonsense, Heritage will continue to use their strong, highly developed curriculum.

Heritage Academy 2

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
I have two kids in Heritage. If you want your kid to learn about Jesus and lots about religion, this is the perfect school, but the academic level is poor, very poor. And also, almost every week they are asking for extra money, money for more supply, for contributions, annual fund donations, etc. Not pleased...at all.

Heritage Academy 5

Posted January 17, 2012
- a parent
My kids have attended Heritage since preschool (8+ years) and have had a wonderful experience. You cannot find nicer kids at any other school. This has to do with the teachers and principal inforcing christian morals and values. The education has been excellent and they try to make changes in books and labs to keep up with the times.


Heritage Academy 4

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten at Heritage, and our family has been totally blessed by the love and kindness of the teachers and staff. My daughter has learned so much about the bible, and Jesus, and is thriving with wonderful Godly friendships. I like the way that the Kindergarten Teachers have transitioned these 5 year old children from the comfort of pre-school into the rigors of Kinder Academics, without overwhelming them. Now, after the Christmas Break the students seem better prepared and even excited to dig into curriculim. Very pleased!!!

Heritage Academy 3

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
Heritage Christian school has a wonderful 5th grade teacher, handsome junior high bible teacher, and an extremely organized junior high Science teacher. Their secretaries rock too!

Heritage Academy 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Heritage Academy 5

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
Unbelievable, quality Christian education that does not diminish the academic requirements to acheive those goals. Our daughter has thrived in this environment and has been attending since pre school at age 2 1/2 years. She will enter the Third grade in September and can't wait for the Summer to end so she can go back to school. The school is well managed, has quality teachers who enjoy teaching and plenty of activities to keep the children fulfilled. Our daughter also takes Chinese lessons at the school and had done great on her SAT's. If you are looking for a safe environment, where education and Christian goals come together perfectly, we recommend Heritage Christian Schools.

Heritage Academy 5

Posted January 04, 2004
- a community member
Hi, I am a chess coach and I believe Heritage Academy has great teachers and excellent principals. The school benefits from lots of parent involvement as well as strong support from the local community in Bakersfield.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Academy
2401 Bernard Street, Bakersfield, CA  93306
(661) 871-4545
Last modified Heritage Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Heritage Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top