Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Benicia, CA
Students enrolled: 552

5 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
Just wanted to say thank you to the first principal Mrs.Susnjar for starting a wonderful school where many children have received an outstanding education. It is with many thanks and appreciate for Mrs. Susnjar for giving an excellent start to the school, leading by example, and exceeding her duties as a principal. She always went above and beyond and we thank her.

Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
Simply wonderful school! The K program is great! All the teachers are caring and give extra help to those who need it. Really great parent and community participation and support. Well organized PTG and the principal cares more about safety and education than a super fun environment which in my opinion makes for a better education/school. Not to say it isn't still fun though! Lots of fun school wide events and programs! It's just a well rounded environment. We really like this school!


Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
Joe Henderson Elementary is an AMAZING school. The teachers here are all wonderful and have excellent communication with the parents. The principal Mrs. Garton is fabulous with the students and the parents. She always knows your name and child. My 2nd grader has done everything from the Science fair to a Family Tree. The education at this school couldn't be better even if it were a private school. We are proud Henderson Hounds!!!

Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2013
- a parent
Great school and nice environment. My kids went to this school and I have only nice things to say.

Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
My family loves Joe Henderson! My son is in the afternoon kindergarten class with Ms.Costanza. She is an amazing teacher! My son has really enjoyed the past few months in her class. I love how organized every project, party and day is planned, and have enjoyed helping Ms.Costanza in the weekly class centers. Joe Henderson is an excellent school, and we are very blessed that our son attends such an amazing school. We hope that he can continue attending Joe Henderson for years to come!


Joe Henderson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
I love Joe Henderson elementary school as it is filled with artwork and innovative projects by the students, along with a group of teachers incredibly dedicated to maximizing resources to give our children the best educational experience. There are many teachers in the school who have been there over 20 years,testifying to the solid foundation of the staff who are an incredibly committed and inspirational group of teachers. I have loved my children's experience with their teachers and the entire Joe Henderson community.

Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Joe Henderson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful and caring. The principal is a little disorganized but well intentioned. If your child is academically driven, he or she will succeed here. If your child is a free thinker or has any special needs, you may want to look elsewhere. If you are considering relocating to Benicia strictly for the schools, make sure you research what kind of culture you seek. Benicia transplants aren't always welcome.


Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Joe Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
Gifted program for kids 4th grade and up is improving. Wonderful teachers. Nice parents at this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joe Henderson Elementary School
650 Hastings Drive, Benicia, CA  94510
(707) 747-8370
Last modified Joe Henderson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joe Henderson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top