Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 5

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
I have been teaching for 27 years, and Longfellow is by far the best school I have ever worked at. My children went to Longfellow as well. The teachers are excellent, the support staff is excellent and they work very hard to create a school climate that is welcoming to everyone. They have a staff of counselors who provide individual and group support to those in need. Tons of enrichment activities including great music programs, sports and dance. The school is small enough that the staff really knows the students and watches out for everyone. This school combines academic rigor, scaffolded support for struggling students and enrichment activities. 5 stars for sure.

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 5

Posted January 11, 2009
- a teacher
As a young-ish teacher, I have found the staff at Longfellow to be the most supportive, collaborative and dedicated group of educators I have ever worked with. I truly love working at Longfellow. We are a community that cares for each and every member of our school 'family'. Furthermore, teachers are constantly working together to improve instruction and curriculum, meet the needs of our diverse student population, and continue the academic success we have been enjoying for the past few years.


Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
I think that Longfellow is a great school and the teachers are awesome! My child just finished her first year as a 6th grader in the dual immersion program and the teachers where excellent! She is looking froward to going into her second year in the next two weeks. Please consider this school when looking for great academic and fairly small loving, public middle schools in Berkeley! Thanks, ----------

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 5

Posted July 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 1

Posted September 21, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Principal Cheung is excellent. She solves problems, is straightforward, trustworthy and knows exactly what's going on. She's out every morning, greeting kids and closely monitering. The vice-principal and counselor are very good too. Children do not 'get lost' in this small middle school. No bullying. Strong, excellent teachers include computer, art and physical education. Math, science, english and history teachers - half are excellent/good and half are not. Zero period instruction is great: band and computer. Academic challenge is less than it should be at times. Afterschool program is a good idea, works OK and is inexpensive. Afterschool program offers jazz band, steel drum, art, sports teams, hip-hop dance, Mexican dance. The girls love the hip-hop dance instructor, a real character. Lots of student performances at night. PTA struggles to get parents to show up. Racial makeup of PTA participants bears no relationship to racial makeup of student body.

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 4

Posted January 16, 2006
- a teacher
great after school program. Generally solid teachers. Hit or miss with classes. Some sections, depending on combination of students, can be very academically oriented, others very unacademic. Smallish school so no student is anonymous. Not easy to get away with poor behavior.


Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 5

Posted August 20, 2004
- a staff
The after school program at Longfellow is the most highly developed of the BUSD middle schools due to the coordinator's 5 years of experience at the school. The program serves a diverse population and is open every school day from 3 to 6 pm. There is excellent academic support with tutors and mentors from Cal Berkeley in homework centers. Spanish speaking tutors are available in the ELL Homework Center and additional language building support is available after school with a daytime teacher. A computer class is offered two days a week. Enrichment activities include Jazz Band, Steel Drum, Contemporary Cultural Dance, Mexican Dance and Cultural Art. Once students have completed their homework, they can go outside for recreational sports every day. Athletic teams include: Flag Football, Girls Volleyball, Soccer, Girls and Boys Basketball, Baseball and Softball. On Fridays, students can play board games, pool and fussball in the Game Room.

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School 1

Posted February 03, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School
1500 Derby Street, Berkeley, CA  94703
(510) 644-6360
Last modified Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Longfellow Arts And Technology Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.