Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Berkeley, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Although a little sad and up set that my child teacher has been unable to come back until December of this year and my child has been having sub after sub. I believe this is a great school with friendly staff and parents. I know since my child started this school the parents are on board just as the teachers. Great school and principal

Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
This school has a really involved parent community, and teaches the whole child. The lunch program is healthy and ecologically aware (there is compost and recycling). There are programs for inclusion awareness, and Yoga, art, and gardening programs! The Kindergarten has a hired second teacher in most of the classes a third of the class time, and so it is often a 10:1 ration. More than that there are usually three to four adults in the room with the 20 Kinders because of parent volunteering. I love it there!


Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
For the most part, a fantastic, dedicated teaching staff. New principal coming in, but highly acclaimed. Former principal was incredible, setting very high standards for all students, and helping them achieve those standards.

Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
oxford school rocks my daughter loves her school

Oxford Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Oxford School is a warm, welcoming, diverse community of students, teachers, parents, and grandparents who work together to make Oxford a wonderful place to learn, academically, socially, and emotionally.


Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
Oxford is a great school where kids receive an excellent all-around education. While Oxford offers strong academics, there is still plenty of emphasis on art, music, drama, field trips, and other enriching activities. The teaching staff and administration are excellent. There are many, many family and community volunteers who contribute a lot to the school. I highly recommend Oxford.

Oxford Elementary School 4

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
My son has enjoyed Oxford's academic and aftercare programs a lot. The principal is just great and the teachers do their best with the school budgets.

Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2005
- a parent
Oxford is a great elementary school. It has a small student to teacher ratio, and everyone knows everyone. It's like one large, caring, family.


Oxford Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2005
- a parent
My child attended k-5. Quality-of-academic-programs: Good. Every year I purchase homeschooling book for corresponding grade and teach what is lacking in class. Availabilty of music/art/sports/etc: Available afterschool (fliers handed out). Slightly pricey. Music available in 5th (during school-free). Used to be available in 4th. Funding cuts. After-school program has special activities, also offered at discounted rate. Parental involvement: Key. If child isn't self-motivated or doesn't understand, then may fall behind without parental involvement. Oxford has high test scores probably becauses there is a lot of parental involvement. My child's friends who get bad grades are those who's parents not involved. Last year a few kindergarteners failed. Fluent in English. 3rd grader failed who speaks english but parents don't, still no excuse! These are students I know personally, don't know how many more. Proof of what happens if parent can't pick up slack. Teacher/child ratio problematic. No money for teacher's aid. Diverse student body.

Oxford Elementary School 4

Posted October 28, 2004
- a parent
Great school in nurturing environment. Most teachers are excellent and capable of dealing with a very diverse student body. PTA is getting stronger.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oxford Elementary School
1130 Oxford Street, Berkeley, CA  94707
(510) 644-6300
Last modified Oxford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oxford Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top