Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School

Public | K-5 | 412 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

BAM is a school with a fully engaged principal, completely committed staff, and an active family community. It also has a very nicely run after school program with exciting after school enrichment offerings. Although it has little green space on the yard, it's nestled in a residential neighborhood on quiet streets in a lively and fun Berkeley neighborhood. Most BAM teachers do an excellent job of providing differentiated learning in the classroom and, with rare exception, are extraordinarily sophisticated and dedicated-- far more than you might expect but exactly what you would hope for in this college town. In addition, BAM has a lot of great connections with the University, including Saturday engineering classes for girls run by Cal grad students. What makes BAM particularly special, though, are its very talented, hard-working teachers and staff. Add to that, progressive ideals and a truly diverse student body, and it's near-perfect. You can't go wrong with any Berkeley public school, BAM especially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

BAM is a great school with a hard-working and thoughtful principal, creative and dedicated teachers, and a giving and involved parent community. We are a diverse group, with students from all different backgrounds and the principal and teachers work hard to create a welcoming, safe, and engaging learning environment for all the kids. BAM's parent community is dedicated to supporting the school with lots of volunteer coordination and crucial fundraising for critical programs such as PE, counseling, arts enrichment, field trips and more. We have had 3 kids go through BAM and are grateful to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

This our first year at BAM, and so far we have been very impressed with our son's teacher and Principal Collins. Our son is sensitive and can be challenging at times, so we have made efforts to keep open lines of communication with his teacher. She is always very thorough with her responses, and she has made time to return emails and phone calls. The school seems very organized - newsletters, paperwork going back and forth to school, etc. We are so happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

BAM has a strong set of teachers, an amazing principal, and a very involved parent community. During my four years so far at BAM, I have seen things only get better for the kids, the school and the community. There is a very engaged and diverse PTA with representatives holding seats for African-American Affairs, Latino Affairs, LGBTQ Afffairs, Special Education, Asian and API Affairs, etc. We have been able to find help for anything we have needed - and here is a special Thank You to the counseling and special ed department - they are a talented and dedicated crew.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Great Teachers, Administration and community! My children have been very happy here and had great experiences with their teachers and classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Berkeley Arts Magnet is a great public school with dedicated teachers, staff and parents/caregivers. The kids at BAM have the opportunity to participate in all kinds of arts enrichment. The teachers and staff are so dedicated to the academic success of all the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Berkeley Arts Magnet (BAM) is an excellent school from K thru 5th. The school is led by an exceptional principle who cares deeply about her staff and students. The teachers set high expectations from the children and form strong relationships with both the children and their parents. Their effective teaching creates an enthusiastic culture in which to learn. Reading, math, geography, art, music, dance and much more are taught by high quality teachers. BAM staff realize that they have a profound impact on the students lives and take it very seriously. They are a dedicated group. Additional support services are available at BAM, such as mental health services, reading support, as well as a District-wide practice to provide early and appropriate intervention as determined by the school based on needs assessment(s). And BAM parents care very much about the school and it shows as a result of the high degree of parental involvement. BAM PTA offers a variety of after school enrichment classes that are great fun for the kids. A group of parents formed a "greening committee" that is making lasting changes to the big yard and K yard to foster more creative, stimulating play. We love BAM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

Berkeley Arts Magnet is strong public school located in an urban environment. Being near restaurants, coffee shops and other stores makes it a very convenient place and the strength of the leadership of the principal and the top rate teachers she has higher in her tenure makes it a great place to be. Parents and caregivers are very dedicated to the school and hold many different events and fundraisers to ensure that all children have access to the wonderful services and programs that complement the CA curriculum. It is our 5th year at BAM, and we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

We are so grateful to be a part of the Berkeley Arts Magnet community. BAM is a wonderful place where my child is thriving. The teachers are nurturing and dedicated to our children's academic as well as social and emotional growth. BAM is a diverse and welcoming place for all kinds of families. We've been really happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

BAM is wonderful! My husband and I have been so impressed with the school on many different levels. First and foremost, the academics are top-notch, but we have also been impressed with the school's sense of community and the warmth from both teachers and staffers alike. Our sensitive son has really thrived here, and we are excited for our other children to attend the school, as well. By the way, I am also a Latino parent and have been extremely happy with our child's experience in this regard at the school. This year our son did a pretty extensive unit on Day of the Dead, and last year's Cesar Chavez day celebration was wonderful. Most importantly, *all* cultures are celebrated at BAM - we love the school's diversity, and we love that our child is excited to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

Our family has been really happy at this school -- it is an excellent choice for elementary school and has met our high expectations so far. We have found the teachers to be smart, warm, capable of managing a classroom well, and really good at imparting enthusiasm for learning. The principal, Ms. Collins, is strong, very responsive, and highly committed to continual betterment of the school for all kids, and is well-liked by students, parents, and teachers. There are lots of extra arts, music, and P.E. options that many other schools lack, as well as an awesome, active PTA. We looked thoroughly at many private schools and the other public schools in our zone and neighboring districts, and when comparing the curricula, teacher-student ratio, student achievement, quality of teachers, leadership and responsiveness of the principal, satisfaction of current parents, and price tag, this school really shined. Is it perfect? No. There are many areas for improvement -- for instance, the playgrounds could use a lot of greening. But overall, this is a great school with a great faculty, and we have been really pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

I m a Latino parent of a 2nd grader at BAM and I found the school to be less than supportive of my child s needs. I agree with most of the postings here that the school has potential to be a thriving environment for all students. To my disappointment I felt our child was consistently ignored and us the parents belittled . I want to express my frustration , since the PTA does not seem to support my community.. Physically, mentally, or spiritually.. My ethnicity is well grounded in all and the PTA just bombards us with money request but no support for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I chose this school because of all the high remarks I was told from past parents, but this school has not lived up to the experience. There is bullying going on at the school, and it seems some, bullying of teachers to do what is wanted related to how to treat parents. I am african-american and it seems that our population of students and parents are the direct target to this behavior, thus the retention rate of black parents has been consistently dropping since the top administration has come to the school. I have a fourth grader and we can not wait unitl we move to the next grade. My daughter has friends so we will wait it out. I tell any parent black or not think twice about bringing your child to this school."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This school has the potential to be a great school. However the principal doesn't encourage parents to be involve in their child's education. According to the school policy, parents and other family members can only visit for 20 minutes. There are other Berkeley schools that welcome parents to be part of the learning environment and encourage parents to participate in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

We came to Berkeley Arts Magnet from a highly regarded, really expensive private school and we love it here. It is one of those rare places where you enter feeling stressed about work, etc., and then you always feel better after being at BAM. We came for the diverse, positive social environment, one that wouldn't tolerate negative behavior, and we found it. What completely surprised us was that there was also a rigorous, effective academic environment. Our daughter was learning about fractions in Kindergarten, and enjoying it! Her reading and math skills just took off. Communication with the parents is excellent (weekly newsletters from principal and teachers that parents have to sign, the earlier review must be misplaced). The teachers and principal work extremely hard to make it all happen, and the PTA is absurdly professional. The kids are happy, and there is great supervision on the playground and in the afterschool programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I was an Arts Magnet parent from 1981 through 1989. Now I will have been an Arts Magnet parent again, from 2004 through 10/01/09. Arts Magnet has consistently provided a diverse, safe, fun, and well rounded ediucational experience for my 2 girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The only school in Berkeley that retains a focus on art inclusion in the curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2005

Very good school, but my child is now in an independent one because teacher quality isn't consistent. Whittier has a terrific philosophy and many dedicated people working on its programs, but its challenges, particularly class size, will not change. I must rate the teacher quality on this survey, but it's really a crap shoot--some are outstanding, others only average. Most attractive to BAM are its dynamic mix of children and its music and performing arts program. Children leave BAM benefitting from and valuing the fine and performing arts programs. If one's child were able to have BAM's best teachers at least every other year, the school could be rated higher. But a child's classroom assignment is left to either chance or parent politics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

My 10 has been at BAM since she was five and she started off great. When she reached 3rd grade her grades began to drop. BAM has the potential to be a wonderful educational environment but the classes are too large. In her 4th grade class there were 32 students to one teacher and one part time assistant. It is too easy to fall between the cracks when the class size is so large. BAM has a great staff and leadership, but they are trying to accommodate too many families and the children are failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

The parent community is very involved and the teachers, for the most part, are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

873

Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

873

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females86%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females91%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females56%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females64%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females89%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females86%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females75%
Males70%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females71%
Males70%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students65%
Females64%
Males66%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 40%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 16%
Black 14%
Asian 10%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
English language learners 16%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Kristin Collins
Fax number
  • (510) 644-6265

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1645 Milvia Street
Berkeley, CA 94709
Phone: (510) 644-6225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Quantum Camp
Berkeley, CA



The Crowden School
Berkeley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT