Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Berkeley, CA
Students enrolled: 412
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
BAM is a school with a fully engaged principal, completely committed staff, and an active family community. It also has a very nicely run after school program with exciting after school enrichment offerings. Although it has little green space on the yard, it's nestled in a residential neighborhood on quiet streets in a lively and fun Berkeley neighborhood. Most BAM teachers do an excellent job of providing differentiated learning in the classroom and, with rare exception, are extraordinarily sophisticated and dedicated-- far more than you might expect but exactly what you would hope for in this college town. In addition, BAM has a lot of great connections with the University, including Saturday engineering classes for girls run by Cal grad students. What makes BAM particularly special, though, are its very talented, hard-working teachers and staff. Add to that, progressive ideals and a truly diverse student body, and it's near-perfect. You can't go wrong with any Berkeley public school, BAM especially.

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
BAM is a great school with a hard-working and thoughtful principal, creative and dedicated teachers, and a giving and involved parent community. We are a diverse group, with students from all different backgrounds and the principal and teachers work hard to create a welcoming, safe, and engaging learning environment for all the kids. BAM's parent community is dedicated to supporting the school with lots of volunteer coordination and crucial fundraising for critical programs such as PE, counseling, arts enrichment, field trips and more. We have had 3 kids go through BAM and are grateful to be part of this community.


Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
This our first year at BAM, and so far we have been very impressed with our son's teacher and Principal Collins. Our son is sensitive and can be challenging at times, so we have made efforts to keep open lines of communication with his teacher. She is always very thorough with her responses, and she has made time to return emails and phone calls. The school seems very organized - newsletters, paperwork going back and forth to school, etc. We are so happy!

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
BAM has a strong set of teachers, an amazing principal, and a very involved parent community. During my four years so far at BAM, I have seen things only get better for the kids, the school and the community. There is a very engaged and diverse PTA with representatives holding seats for African-American Affairs, Latino Affairs, LGBTQ Afffairs, Special Education, Asian and API Affairs, etc. We have been able to find help for anything we have needed - and here is a special Thank You to the counseling and special ed department - they are a talented and dedicated crew.

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Great Teachers, Administration and community! My children have been very happy here and had great experiences with their teachers and classmates.


Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Berkeley Arts Magnet is a great public school with dedicated teachers, staff and parents/caregivers. The kids at BAM have the opportunity to participate in all kinds of arts enrichment. The teachers and staff are so dedicated to the academic success of all the children.

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Berkeley Arts Magnet (BAM) is an excellent school from K thru 5th. The school is led by an exceptional principle who cares deeply about her staff and students. The teachers set high expectations from the children and form strong relationships with both the children and their parents. Their effective teaching creates an enthusiastic culture in which to learn. Reading, math, geography, art, music, dance and much more are taught by high quality teachers. BAM staff realize that they have a profound impact on the students lives and take it very seriously. They are a dedicated group. Additional support services are available at BAM, such as mental health services, reading support, as well as a District-wide practice to provide early and appropriate intervention as determined by the school based on needs assessment(s). And BAM parents care very much about the school and it shows as a result of the high degree of parental involvement. BAM PTA offers a variety of after school enrichment classes that are great fun for the kids. A group of parents formed a "greening committee" that is making lasting changes to the big yard and K yard to foster more creative, stimulating play. We love BAM.

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 4

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
Berkeley Arts Magnet is strong public school located in an urban environment. Being near restaurants, coffee shops and other stores makes it a very convenient place and the strength of the leadership of the principal and the top rate teachers she has higher in her tenure makes it a great place to be. Parents and caregivers are very dedicated to the school and hold many different events and fundraisers to ensure that all children have access to the wonderful services and programs that complement the CA curriculum. It is our 5th year at BAM, and we love it!


Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
We are so grateful to be a part of the Berkeley Arts Magnet community. BAM is a wonderful place where my child is thriving. The teachers are nurturing and dedicated to our children's academic as well as social and emotional growth. BAM is a diverse and welcoming place for all kinds of families. We've been really happy.

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
BAM is wonderful! My husband and I have been so impressed with the school on many different levels. First and foremost, the academics are top-notch, but we have also been impressed with the school's sense of community and the warmth from both teachers and staffers alike. Our sensitive son has really thrived here, and we are excited for our other children to attend the school, as well. By the way, I am also a Latino parent and have been extremely happy with our child's experience in this regard at the school. This year our son did a pretty extensive unit on Day of the Dead, and last year's Cesar Chavez day celebration was wonderful. Most importantly, *all* cultures are celebrated at BAM - we love the school's diversity, and we love that our child is excited to go to school every day.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School
1645 Milvia Street, Berkeley, CA  94709
(510) 644-6225
Last modified Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berkeley Arts Magnet at Whittier School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top