Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Beverly Vista Elementary School 2

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Have been to two other schools since and now realize how overated this school is. First, all teachers should teach the same. Second, no parents should be grading homework. This would be appalling at any other school. Third, it is not worth living in this area for a decent school district . There are so many other great schools out there , don't think this is the best and deny your children a better quality of life!

Beverly Vista Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school. The teachers are very fond and caring of their students, and they will put aside extra time to work with them afterschool. I am entering 8th grade, and I can say that both the elementary and middle school teachers are really great. Although located in Beverly Hills, there aren't any snobbish, rude people (to my extent of knowledge). The peers are all gentle and kind, and I admit, it is pretty hard to squeeze in socially if new,(it usually takes months to even a year for newcomers to feel finally at ease) but after that it would be like nothing has changed. The arts and especially the music program is advanced, with educated and fair teachers. There are plenty of other extracurricular events to choose from, from technology to student govt. to sports. The honors system is pretty advanced and distinguished from the regular classes. This is a great school... I can't even imagine leaving it for high school after the end of 8th grade! I will miss it terribly. :-(


Beverly Vista Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
the review i posted just a day ago disappeared... hmmm, was it because it was negative???

Beverly Vista Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a teacher
Principle has been calling police social services and detectives on parents when they pick up kids. He wont let parents of special needs students volunteer. He puts good reviews on himself and plays favoritism with the affluent locals because he grew up in Beverly Hills. Its a clique and administration bullies newcomers renters and low income kids. Kids don't learn much and compete on material lots of bullying from kids parents and teachers.

Beverly Vista Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
Don't listen to the bad reviews about the school from the parents! I currently attend Beverly Vista and the problems i hear them talk about never actually happen in school, there are no rich parents that don't want to see a lot of homework, the principal does have authority, and it is very easy to make friends. When i first joined the school i was a little intimidated, but quickly made lots of friends and got used to the school. Although someone mentioned that the two different math classes they offer are the same, it is completely false. The honors program learns much more challenging stuff at a faster pace and is only there for people that are up for a challenge. All the teachers there know how to teach and are very talented at it, so I learn a lot at the school. The school has a much higher standard than every other school i have gone to, which makes school a challenge, but also fun. I am very pleased with the school and I am happy i am attending it.


Beverly Vista Elementary School 2

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
One would expect from a school in Beverly Hills to be at the leading edge when it comes to education, especially when there is no shortage of money! All though a nice,safe campus, the quality of education is way bellow other schools! There's schools in poorer areas with way better prepared teachers than Beverly Vista! Another part of the problem are the rich influent parents who don't want to see a lot of homework , effectively sabotaging the teaching process, puling the whole school down. The nail in the coffin is the weak principal, who doesn't have a lot of authority. What a shame!

Beverly Vista Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2013
- a community member
Beverly Vista- The teachers in the eight grade are extremely tough on grading. Especially the social studies teacher who barely taught us anything. The English teacher is amazing! She taught me so many little tricks and things to remember in grammar and while reading Julius Caesar, she also pretty much gave us the tools to succeed. However, the chemistry/ physics teacher is by far the hardest teacher and course. The math teacher, also like the English teacher, is great.

Beverly Vista Elementary School 2

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
ohoh teacher Lisa no longer in the pre K, dont bother to go there now...no explanation given, our child crying...


Beverly Vista Elementary School 2

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
ohoh teacher Lisa suddenly gone from the pre K room, no explanation given, she was only reason why we kept our son there, we are leaving...he keeps crying

Beverly Vista Elementary School 2

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
Our child started BV this year in the 7th grade after having been attending a provate school. I was really disappointed by the lack of math classes available for students to take. My friends daughter attends an LAUSD public middle school and she is also in the 7th grade. She was placed in an Algebra class based on her test scores. At BV there are only 2 different math classes for 7th graders, and essentialy both are the same. This si very disappointing that there are not more options for high achieving students. I was also disapponted by the lack of focus on the standards at Back To School Night presentation. The majority of teachers only spoke about homework, not the standards and how my child is being prepared for the next grade level and for high school. Kudos to the PE teachers as they were the only ones who spoke about state testing and how they are assisting the students in meeting the standards.

Nearby schools

Beverly Vista Elementary School
200 South Elm Drive, Beverly Hills, CA  90212-4011
(310) 229-3665
Last modified Beverly Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top