Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Brea, CA
Students enrolled: 448
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


William E. Fanning Elementary School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Horrible experience at Fanning, my son's first grade teacher was a nightmare! She didn't have any interest in the children excelling, and seemed very non-interested over all. She was leaving the school before I was getting there to pick up my son after school. Many children mentioned that she was always yelling at them.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Fanning is a wonderful school! We have a new prinicpal that has brought new energy and a desire to make the school the best it can be! She is very present in our school's community and sends weekly emails to keep all parents in the loop of what is going on. The teachers are experienced, open minded and show dedication to their students. The PTA try's to enrich the student's experience by seeking out activities for students such as art and music programs and providing additional educational support in the classroom. Fanning has a group of several parent volunteers but more parental involvement would be helpful. Overall, this school is exceptional and will only be improving each year to come!


William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten here at Fanning this year and I am glad I choose this school. I am zoned for another school in the Brea district but transferred to this school because of the great reviews I have heard from other parents. My son and I both love his teacher and I feel like she really cares about the kids education. I love that its a smaller school and I really like the residential location of the school. I have had a great experience so far! I hear great things about the other teachers from other parents and look forward to the coming years here at Fanning.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
My daughter started kindergarten this year and Fanning has Provence to be an amazing school. The principal is present and very active in the school. The teachers are wonderful. Love the community feel. Not a fancy school, but it is perfect to me.

William E. Fanning Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
Was, and could be again, a great school. The Principal is weak and the staff have no leadership. There is no program for gifted students and it is no coincidence that their test scores have fallen behind as far as the district goes. The school has a wonderful library, but no librarian...the resource is wasted.


William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2006
- a parent
I am impressed with the quality of academic disciplines.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
Fanning is very good school - with respect to Acadamics and Arts.Good and dedicated teachers adds the feather in the crown.The GATE programme need to be promoted.Different instructions need to be given to GATE students in Math and Language Arts.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 3

Posted September 29, 2005
- a parent
LD/ADHD toxic.pod classrooms.bullying/cliques unchecked. principals(3/9years)weak.some teachers don't believe in adhd.504ignored. attitude:kids need to learn independence,but they dont teach. more support in secondary. +arts no librarian. laurel school best for ld/add


William E. Fanning Elementary School 4

Posted June 08, 2005
- a student
This school's unique architecture lends itself to socially enriching a student's learning experience. The design is based on four interconnecting 'pods' 1-2 graders, 3-4 graders, 5-6 graders connecting to the central pod which houses the library. The kindergarten section is a separate unit which includes it's own playground providing additional safety for your young ones. The cafeteria is also designed to provide students the opportunity to perform and share a stage that is perfect for meetings and events. Nestled in the hillside the outdoor playgrounds and field are not encumbered with the blythe of traffic of busy streets and strip malls.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 4

Posted February 04, 2005
- a parent
The academic programs are excellent. Music, art and sports are provided by special instruction or programs. Parent involvement is important, since school budgets are lacking. These teachers are very good, but are not paid as high as other districts due to demographics (older neighborhoods.)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William E. Fanning Elementary School
650 North Apricot, Brea, CA  92821
(714) 529-3908
Last modified William E. Fanning Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William E. Fanning Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top