Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Over the past 5 years that my children have attended Fanning, I have experienced the amazing community that is Fanning. The principal is active all day throughout the school. The teachers work closely together to ensure our children make seamless transitions yearly. The school was also recently updated and has some of the most current technology out there. I'm always very proud to say that my children attend Fanning. We actually moved into this neighborhood specifically for this school, and couldn't be happier with our decision.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Metcalf is a very visible principal who is always friendly with the students and parents. She will often visit the classrooms just to say hello and see how everyone is doing. My son is in the second grade and so far we have had a great experience with all the teachers. The front office staff are always friendly and willing to help out. The PTA takes great pride in their fundraising activities. This year, they introduced Watch Dogs which allows the fathers to become more involved in the school. I would highly recommend Fanning Elementary to anyone who is considering schools for their children.


William E. Fanning Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Metcalf is the rock of this school! She has a vision of all Fanning can be, and she is actively striving to improve the school and her students all the time!

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Fanning is a family of students, teachers and staff who have high expectations for each other. The teachers promote technology across all areas of curriculum and the principal encourages school spirit with several programs. Fanning is a wonderful school that prepares its students well for their futures!

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Fanning has given both my children and excellent education. The teachers do an amazing job engaging the students through activities, technology and class assignments. The school administration is dedicated each child's success and well being. Every conversation that happens starts with how does this help our students. The PTA is very active in adding quality programs to the students experience and engaging families in the process.


William E. Fanning Elementary School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Horrible experience at Fanning, my son's first grade teacher was a nightmare! She didn't have any interest in the children excelling, and seemed very non-interested over all. She was leaving the school before I was getting there to pick up my son after school. Many children mentioned that she was always yelling at them.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Fanning is a wonderful school! We have a new prinicpal that has brought new energy and a desire to make the school the best it can be! She is very present in our school's community and sends weekly emails to keep all parents in the loop of what is going on. The teachers are experienced, open minded and show dedication to their students. The PTA try's to enrich the student's experience by seeking out activities for students such as art and music programs and providing additional educational support in the classroom. Fanning has a group of several parent volunteers but more parental involvement would be helpful. Overall, this school is exceptional and will only be improving each year to come!

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten here at Fanning this year and I am glad I choose this school. I am zoned for another school in the Brea district but transferred to this school because of the great reviews I have heard from other parents. My son and I both love his teacher and I feel like she really cares about the kids education. I love that its a smaller school and I really like the residential location of the school. I have had a great experience so far! I hear great things about the other teachers from other parents and look forward to the coming years here at Fanning.


William E. Fanning Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
Was, and could be again, a great school. The Principal is weak and the staff have no leadership. There is no program for gifted students and it is no coincidence that their test scores have fallen behind as far as the district goes. The school has a wonderful library, but no librarian...the resource is wasted.

William E. Fanning Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2006
- a parent
I am impressed with the quality of academic disciplines.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William E. Fanning Elementary School
650 North Apricot, Brea, CA  92821-3501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (714) 529-3908
Last modified William E. Fanning Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top