Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marsh Creek Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
I am continually impressed with the teachers and staff at Marsh Creek School. In the past few years parent involvement seems to have increased significantly. With the support of the Parent's Club there have been many fun and free family events to unite our school community. Teachers have embraced technology and have begun implementing many exciting programs in the classrooms. The intervention programs in place assure that struggling students get the support they need. Teachers are working together to create activities for students who need to be challenged academically as well. Teachers work extremely hard to meet the needs of all students and to develop relationships with families. I am disheartened to read a review stating that "bad teachers" are being sent to Marsh Creek. I wish parents knew more facts before posting information. Teachers are actually able to choose which school they prefer to teach at. It is clear to me why many of them choose Marsh Creek. I am proud to have a student here. Go Hawks!

Marsh Creek Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
I am very disheartened to leave a bad review of Marsh Creek Elementary. After four years and sending two kids here I can only say good things about three faculty members. Most of the teachers we have been in contact with as well as the principal are concerned mainly with saving the school from lawsuits rather than actually helping a special needs child. We have two special needs children and have had to fight tooth and nail to get them the help they are required to receive by law. Principal Dalfonsi is the biggest disappointment. My initial meetings with her led me to think she actually cared... and she does, for the school itself, not the students. This is the classic case of a public school that wants to shovel kids through as long as the meet the very minimal of standards. If you have a choice go to Pioneer or Krey or anywhere else.


Marsh Creek Elementary School 4

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love Marsh Creek Elementary School! Everyone that works here has a heart of gold and I can't say anything bad about them. Mrs. D'Alfonsi knows every student and they get excited that she knows their name. The office ladies are so helpful and always welcomes me with a smile. My son has had Mrs. Fuson for Kindergarten, Mrs. Sweeney for first and has Mrs. Mills for second. He's learned so much from all three of them! I'm happy to say that they have all made a great impression on my son and he strives to do his best because of them. I'm happy to say that Marsh Creek is our school!

Marsh Creek Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2012
- a teacher
I am proud to be a teacher at Marsh Creek School. Our staff is at this school because we chose to be here and love the school community. Our families are hard working and are very interested in their child's success. The staff also works long hours to provide the best education for the students. Our API and CST scores continue to grow every year. Go Hawks!

Marsh Creek Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2012
- a teacher
Congratulations Marsh Creek School on the impressive rise of CST scores each and every year! With dedicated staff and caring families working together, our students are on the path to success.


Marsh Creek Elementary School 3

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
The principal is a mess and lacks leadership. The scores have gone done, and the kids who excel don't get challenged enough, they just get pushed aside. The principal doesn't support her students enough. She should have been in politics because she tells you what you want to hear, yet does what she wants in the end.

Marsh Creek Elementary School 1

Posted April 07, 2012
- a parent
My son went here for kindergaten and we were very dipleased with the school. I have heard through the grapevine that this school gets all the teachers that no other school wants and after my experiance I totally believe this-though I do know of a few good teachers that work here too/ just more bad than good.

Marsh Creek Elementary School 4

Posted December 26, 2011
- a parent
I am the parent of 3 children that attend MC grades K, 2nd and 5th. My second oldest child greatly benefited from the reading intervention classes, and another one of my children even placed out of speech therapy class thanks to early intervention. There is even a great after school program free of charge for families in need of childcare that isn't offered at any other Brentwood school in the district. The curriculum is good and if your child isn't being challenged enough, I have found teachers to offer optional extra assignments. A school is more than test scores and the break down of ethnic groups it is about the learning environment and family support. My children are happy and look forward to going to school every day at Marsh Creek.


Marsh Creek Elementary School 4

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
My children have only been at Marsh Creek for 7 months, they transferred from highly rated to schools on the other side of the county. I was a little hesitant with the reviews and word of mouth. However I have found Marsh Creek to be a good school. The teachers are very caring. I like the character/esteem building and reward programs they have in place. There is a large ESL population, but the school seems to have strong programs in place to support that population of students. Marsh Creek has had steady improvement in their test scores. I would like to see improvement in providing a greater challenge to children who are above average. I would also like to see greater parent participation.

Marsh Creek Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
My child has attended this school for 3 years and we have had the worst experience ever. The teachers he has had does not seem to care when a child has a learning problem. When the issue was brought to the principal he just showed that he did not care about the students' for he did nothing but refer me back to the teacher who informed me that she did not have time for my child who was having a hard time understanding his school and homework. It seems that all the principal cares about is increasing his test scores. I hate that we even moved to this area because of this school.

Nearby schools

Marsh Creek Elementary School
601 Grant Street, Brentwood, CA  94513-2259
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (925) 513-6420
Last modified Marsh Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top