Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Mckinley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2012

We moved to burbank because " of the great school district". And since my child started attending this school, I haven't like several things about this school. I have not liked her teachers and since last years incident I don't think too highly of the principle either. There was an incident with my child and her teacher; when I called the school to speak to the principle, she immediately took the teachers side. It would have been nice for her to put her personal belief to the side and make me feel supported. I was asked if I wanted a call back/follow up about this matter. I told her to give my husband a call because I was too furious to deal with it. My husband NEVER received a call for the follow up! The PTA is alright. I understand parents helping out and supporting their schools. But, I get annoyed with the so many fundraisers; there was once two fundraisers in one month! When my daughter attended LAUSD they didn't ask for so many handouts and donations! They actually need it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

We LOVE McKinley. The teachers. principal, office staff and special ed staff are ALL stellar. They truly care about each and every child. They give 150% always. There is such a positive feeling of community. My son is finishing 1st grade and has learned so much. They hatched chicks!! He just loves going to school and it's because of the staff. We walk to school just like I did growing up. The PTA is very active: Pumpkin Patch, MAP (McKinley Art Project); rummage sale to name just a few events. Don't go by test scores. Support your local public school. You are blessed if McKinley is yours!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

I agree exactly with the last post word for word. The only reason it doesn't get the fifth star from my is the GATE program not being offered until the 3rd grade. My son is also in K and very advanced and I wish there were more programs for him so we could feel he is being pushed to the level he is capable of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

I love this school, I just wish they did things to challenge the smart kids! My son is in kindergarten and his teacher is great but he is so board with the content that he doesn't want to go to school. The office staff is AMAZING, they never treat you like you are asking a stupid question . . . even when you know it is! PTA is VERY involved, they send informational emails and they work hard to make sure that all the parents are involved even if they only offer one hour a year. Also the events that the PTA puts on for the kids are very cool like the Dunkin' with Dads, M.A.P. (McKinley Art Project), and the Pumpkin Patch, among other events. I love this school and just wish that they had more challenging content for younger kids! Waiting till the end of third grade to test for the GATE (Gifted and Talented Education) program is too long! On the up side they have an amazing accelerated reading program, and in place of the Outdoor Science School they have an in house Science Academy. Also there are a lot of teachers at this school who have been there for a very long time so they are dedicated to the school and the students! Overall this is a great school with a great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Great, nurturing faculty. Excellent special ed staff, very sensitive to the needs of autistic kids. Great Principal. We are very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My daughter had 6 amazing years at McKinley, from k-5 and couldn't think better of the teachers and staff. Parents are really involved at McKinley thanks to a great PTA and the school is clean, safe and well cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

My son just started kindergarten at McKinley and he loves it and is thriving. So far we've had a wonderful experience. I've met some great parents, teachers and administrators. The PTA is strong. The school has a nice family, small town feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I am a voluteer in Mrs. Wescott's 4th grade class with Mind Magic, the language arts program I created and have been developing at McKinley for the last 10 years. I continue to be impressed by the teachers, principal, parents and support staff here. They are dedicated, caring and co-operative and friendly. That's one reason I keep coming back to help!


Posted August 17, 2007

Our youngest is having a wonderful experience at this school. The teachers are very dedicated and caring. Our two older children also received a quality education here. They were very well prepared for middle school. We will miss McKinley very much when our last childr moves on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

We have a 4th grader and a Kindergartner and we all have had a wonderful experience at McKinley Elementary. My 4th grader has received student of the month awards every year since Kindergarten and my Kindergartner received his very 1st one this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I am really dissapointed in this school, for being in a burbank district, not enough classrooms to make the class smaller in students that to me is very dissapointing and embarrasing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

We are parents of a fifth grade McKinley student and we have been very satisfied with the excellent teachers and principal. They are a loyal, talented and dedicated team. Core group of about 30 PTA members. The PTA sponsors many great activities to make the school year fun for the kids. Great emphasis on ethics and school support for a peaceful, education centered atmosphere. Ideal environment for learning in a great Burbank neighborhood. We and our daughter have had a great experience at McKinley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

A very simple school. No frills. Good but few PTA who do many activiteds for the kids. Work hard in reading and math. Peaceful playground, quiet hallways but does lack excellence and motivating kids to reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2012.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2011 to 2012

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2012

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2011 to 2012

+2

Change from 2011 to 2012
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females55%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students55%
Females48%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females62%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students62%
Females53%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females92%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females87%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females71%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students72%
Females77%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state55%

Science

All Students59%
Females61%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 58%
White 29%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/AN/A
English language learners 25%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Roberta Kavanaugh
Fax number
  • (818) 558-5485

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

349 West Valencia Avenue
Burbank, CA 91506
Phone: (818) 558-5477

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT