Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Burbank Montessori Academy

Private | K-3 | 21 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burbank

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $413,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 27, 2012

This school is simply wonderful. It gave my daughter outstanding preparation for elementary school, and she had a lot of fun. Parents are involved and the teachers are kind and dedicated. I can't say enough good things about this school-- I am sad that we graduated, but am thrilled that we found this hidden gem for child's preschool experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

Great school with caring teachers. My daughter spent 3 years here and enjoyed every minute. She couldn't wait to go to school every day and the methods they use work. Every kid in the Kindergarten class was reading at a 1st or 2nd grade level. One of the saddest days ever was when we said goodbye to the school. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

I believe the intention is good and the staff is kind but this school felt more like glorified daycare. Teachers in the 3.5 year old room seemed politely exhausted by the class size. No real attention was given to sign in/out and my child just seemed lost at drop off. Kids didn't have a personal place for lunch box etc. So belongings are just tossed into a room or in the corner. It also really bothered us that the gate to the playground, as nice as it is, was never locked, meaning anyone could walk on at anytime. For others this may be a fine place, but it did not work out for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My daughter has been going to Burbank Montessori Academy for over a year now and we have been so pleased with her progress. Every time we drop her off we are amazed at rapidness of the education these kids are picking up. I love that the children have a choice as what they'd like to do during the day. The teachers are all nurturing and wonderful here. They also have a great play yard that's shaded by huge trees that have been there for years. I highly recommend this school to any parent who find academics important to their child during the early years. They are also quite affordable compared to many other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

My child has gone to this school since she was three years old. The school has many great assets such as the wonderful sand playgrounds which are shaded by very mature trees. The teachers are very caring and pay attention to children and parents. Children are very happy and well cared for. The quality of snacks could be improved, otherwise this is a wonderful and happy place for small children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I loved the teachers, especially the director Kit. Very nurturing you can see they really enjoy the kids and they go the extra mile. I liked the ratio 1 teacher to 6 students as well. They have a structure to the day but very age appropriate and lot's of play. I saw a big change in how my child could sit and pay attention during circle times. The yard is shaded and all dirt which I thought was important for a very active boy. My son is having a blast and talks about all his friends at school. They work with parents to their individual needs, help in potty training etc. I can't say enough positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Very warm and loving environment which fosters the desire to learn in the children. It is very small and intimate so the kids get a lot of one on one attention. The student/teacher ratio is great. The children seem to be much furher ahead academically than the kids in other schools that are the same age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

BMA has a pleaasant campus with a nice playground. Students range from age 2 to 7. My daughter has thrived here, and I'm generally pleased with the quality of education. They strike a good balance between Montessori-style academics, and just plain fun. My daughter (almost five) has learned some basic arithmetic and can sound out one-syllable words. The teacher turnover has been high, however, and the teacher quality is variable. The great teachers are great, but a few of the others have been weak on communication to parents, and handling of discipline issues. Extracurriculars aren't impressive. They've had a few fieldtrips since we've been there, and there's pull-out dance and computer classes for an additional fee. The kids do lots of arts and crafts. They have water play on some days in the summer -- they also watch some videos, not too crazy about that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 26%
Black 15% 6%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Two or more races 15% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kit Curry
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

217 North Hollywood Way
Burbank, CA 91505
Phone: (818) 848-8226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brighton Hall
Burbank, CA




Toluca Crossroads School
Los Angeles, CA


Toluca Lake Elementary School
North Hollywood, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT