Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Burbank Montessori Academy

Private | PK-1 | 60 students

1st Montessori school in Burbank serving the community for 30 years.

 

Living in Burbank

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $413,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

What a great school! My twins have attended for 2.5 years and couldn't be happier. It is also a very international place with teachers from a number of different countries and a student population which is just as global. It is also affordable so there is a good diversity of families. It is essentially an all year round school, with extended hours so it will fit any person's schedule. The teachers are all great and appropriate for each phase/class. The fact that they allow your child to have a diaper and pacifier (in the youngest class) until they're ready to let go says it all. They also are acutely aware of developmental milestones and will tell you if there are any concerns. They all have 25 years plus experience teaching ages 2-5 yrs and are a great resource for parents. It's a great place to start your child's journey in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2012

This school is simply wonderful. It gave my daughter outstanding preparation for elementary school, and she had a lot of fun. Parents are involved and the teachers are kind and dedicated. I can't say enough good things about this school-- I am sad that we graduated, but am thrilled that we found this hidden gem for child's preschool experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

Great school with caring teachers. My daughter spent 3 years here and enjoyed every minute. She couldn't wait to go to school every day and the methods they use work. Every kid in the Kindergarten class was reading at a 1st or 2nd grade level. One of the saddest days ever was when we said goodbye to the school. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

I believe the intention is good and the staff is kind but this school felt more like glorified daycare. Teachers in the 3.5 year old room seemed politely exhausted by the class size. No real attention was given to sign in/out and my child just seemed lost at drop off. Kids didn't have a personal place for lunch box etc. So belongings are just tossed into a room or in the corner. It also really bothered us that the gate to the playground, as nice as it is, was never locked, meaning anyone could walk on at anytime. For others this may be a fine place, but it did not work out for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My daughter has been going to Burbank Montessori Academy for over a year now and we have been so pleased with her progress. Every time we drop her off we are amazed at rapidness of the education these kids are picking up. I love that the children have a choice as what they'd like to do during the day. The teachers are all nurturing and wonderful here. They also have a great play yard that's shaded by huge trees that have been there for years. I highly recommend this school to any parent who find academics important to their child during the early years. They are also quite affordable compared to many other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

My child has gone to this school since she was three years old. The school has many great assets such as the wonderful sand playgrounds which are shaded by very mature trees. The teachers are very caring and pay attention to children and parents. Children are very happy and well cared for. The quality of snacks could be improved, otherwise this is a wonderful and happy place for small children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I loved the teachers, especially the director Kit. Very nurturing you can see they really enjoy the kids and they go the extra mile. I liked the ratio 1 teacher to 6 students as well. They have a structure to the day but very age appropriate and lot's of play. I saw a big change in how my child could sit and pay attention during circle times. The yard is shaded and all dirt which I thought was important for a very active boy. My son is having a blast and talks about all his friends at school. They work with parents to their individual needs, help in potty training etc. I can't say enough positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Very warm and loving environment which fosters the desire to learn in the children. It is very small and intimate so the kids get a lot of one on one attention. The student/teacher ratio is great. The children seem to be much furher ahead academically than the kids in other schools that are the same age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

BMA has a pleaasant campus with a nice playground. Students range from age 2 to 7. My daughter has thrived here, and I'm generally pleased with the quality of education. They strike a good balance between Montessori-style academics, and just plain fun. My daughter (almost five) has learned some basic arithmetic and can sound out one-syllable words. The teacher turnover has been high, however, and the teacher quality is variable. The great teachers are great, but a few of the others have been weak on communication to parents, and handling of discipline issues. Extracurriculars aren't impressive. They've had a few fieldtrips since we've been there, and there's pull-out dance and computer classes for an additional fee. The kids do lots of arts and crafts. They have water play on some days in the summer -- they also watch some videos, not too crazy about that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 26%
Black 15% 6%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Two or more races 15% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Dance teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kit Curry
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (818) 841-4160

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Yoga Classes
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Yoga classes

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
35
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
80

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Burbank Unified Schools
Carpenter Elementary
Campbell Hall
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

217 North Hollywood Way
Burbank, CA 91505
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 848-8226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brighton Hall
Burbank, CA




Toluca Crossroads School
Los Angeles, CA


Toluca Lake Elementary School
North Hollywood, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT