Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Byron, CA
Students enrolled: 606

3 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Excelsior Middle School 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. The anti-bully thing is really working and #icanhelp is too. This school is really pulled itself out of the ground. I'm very impressed. Great job Excelsior!!!

Excelsior Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
Excelsior has turned my above grade level student last year to a failing student at Excelsior in 6 short months. They have refused to work with her shortcomings (she has ADHD) and insist on punishing her (sometimes unfairly) to the extreme extent possible. Trying to keep up with homework is impossible as most of the teachers do not update their online system until an assignment is overdue. After many parent/teacher and parent/administrator conferences, nothing has changed at all. We are now looking into other options to provide my child an education as we feel this school has failed her. If you have a special needs child please look elsewhere.


Excelsior Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I am very pleased with Excelsior middle school. I have a daughter who is in the sixth grade and is receiving straight A's she has to work extremely hard for her grades and the teachers are helping her every step of the way! Challenging her and preparing her for high school and college. Whenever there is a conflict with another the student the teacher and administrative staff are on it!! What more could a parent ask? Please note that there is a new Byron school superintendent and a new vice principal at EMS. Together with the principal you can feel the change in the air.

Excelsior Middle School 1

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
This school has a horrible bullying problem. Aside from allowing the sale of shirts the administration does nothing to resolve conflicts. Leadership students are supposed to resolve conflict not create it and get away with it because they are from the chosen few. Not to mention the pesticide ridden GMO corn field that surrounds the school. Do you people think this is OK to spray pesticides literally next to the school grounds?!?!? When I mention this to the staff they looked at me dumbfounded, I am sure you want to keep your job but at what cost? Glad to be leaving the district.

Excelsior Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
This Middle School gave my daughter a wonderful foundation to build her self confidence, provided a supportive enriching learning community which allowed her to score both proficient and advanced in all categories of STAR testing and allowed her to try many new things such as leadership, Spanish, the theater arts and soccer (to name a few!) Loved it and now excited for her to move on to high school for which she is fully prepared thanks to this school!


Excelsior Middle School 1

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
So glad I got my daughter out of this school. To have a straight A student dislike going to school,b/c majority of students were not there to learn, but to socialize was frustrating. She would come home from class regularly telling me about 30 minutes wasted of not learning anything b/c that is how long it would take for teacher to get class on task.Also, any kids not doing well on tests were allowed to retake to get a better grade. How can they do that! So my daughter worked hard to get her A's, but someone else can get F's and retake the same test to get an A?? This school is setting up kids for failure, by not holding them accountable. The only teacher that holds kids accountable..Mrs. Long.. is the one that gets the most complaints from parents. Wake up parents! She is the only one that is holding your kids to high standards! 80% of kids at this school are rude, disrespectful, and feel entitled to follow their own rules when it comes to education and personal character. Material things seem to be more important than RESPECT at this school. SOOO glad to be out of there!

Excelsior Middle School 1

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
This school has a major bully problem that the administration refuses to address. I have spoke with the superindent office to and they also refuse to look into it stating that those problems are left to the principal yet when I applyed for an inter district transfer for my son to get him away from the problem the district refused stating finacial reasons. Otherwise they wont keep him safe but he cant go to a school that will because they want the money for him. And this bullieing happens right in the classrooms!

Excelsior Middle School 4

Posted June 01, 2010
- a parent
Is it smelly? YES. The gym smells like dirty feet and has since my oldest son started there in 2001 but the programs available (not sure what will be available NEXT year) and the education they get is very good. My 13 year old son can watch Jeopardy and do very well thank you. Are the teachers all equal? Of course not, some are nicer, some take no crap at all, not a word, not a late paper, so there is no 'administrative policy' but if your child does his or her work and doesn't ever speak out of turn, it's a good school. I know because other children (not my outspoken ones) are doing well after middle school!


Excelsior Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
This school is improving every year, and the teachers are outstanding. There are programs for kids who need help, and the Art, Music and leadership groups are outstanding.

Excelsior Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Excelsior Middle School
14301 Byron Highway, Byron, CA  94514
(925) 809-7530
Last modified Excelsior Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Excelsior Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top