Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Adolfo Camarillo High School 2

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
I have removed my kids from this school. Poor quality of most teaching staff. (One was on his phone throughout classes with the phone going off throughout the kids' exam times.) Many are very unhelpful when trying to catch up on missed work due to child's time off for illness. Not enough discipline, or any with some teachers, in the classroom. Kids are allowed to be on their phones in class. How is any learning accomplished with that??? Learning and teaching are not happening nearly enough in the classrooms. Money driven administration. Little care, if any, from most about changing anything or improving conditions. No AC in classrooms, still. Kids wander on and off campus whenever they please. Security is poor. Many fistfights, plenty of bullying, and ample access to drugs. Don't send your kids to ACHS.

Adolfo Camarillo High School 2

Posted May 29, 2015
- a community member
As an alumni, I am very disappointed in how far my school has fallen. The principal stresses the fact that "All of our classes are college prep", which means that those students not on a college track are left behind. Teachers are a hit or miss. We had 2 great teachers - teachers who showed support and concern for their students. At best, the teachers are overworked and understaffed - at worst, they are obviously burnt out and borderline abusive. Getting information from school staff has proven to be difficult - and they've made it very clear that questions from parents are an inconvenience. We were fortunate to have a great counselor in Mr. Taketa. One shining star kept this from being a one star review.


Adolfo Camarillo High School 3

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is said to have a student percentage of 65% that use drugs. First time offenders are policed through the justice system. Kids just think they will be smarter and not get caught so this system doesn't work. The answer is to rehabilitate like the court system does instead if kicking them out of school and creating a juvenile a record for them to follow around for the rest of his/her life. I believe a crack down is necessary but policing schools are not working as in the case of Adolfo Camarillo High School. The academics are exemplary and the kids that attend receive high ratings in star testing. The drug use in this school and the policing of it are ruining the future of our children's future and resulting in further delinquency. The police that police this school don't deal with the kids honorably despite cooperation. That in itself instills in our kids that the camarillo police are their enemy resulting in the disrespect of their authority. We are dealing with kids here and they make mistakes. Rehabilitating our smart kids is the answer instead this school treats and prosecutes them as criminals for first time offenders.

Adolfo Camarillo High School 4

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school! But horrible front office staff. Very rude! But great athletic programs and caring teachers.

Adolfo Camarillo High School 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a community member
This school is the best in Oxnard Union High District. Teachers, at least AP/honor class teachers, are caring and responsible. Campus seems safe. Parking is an issue, especially now with the construction of its swimming pool. The biggest problem I have observed is the attitude of front office staffs. A few of them (you know who you are) always give students and parents cold shoulders and use condescending language. Totally agree with one of early reviews--"Very unwelcoming to parents and students." School admin must know about this, but couldn't or wouldn't do anything to correct it. What a shame!


Adolfo Camarillo High School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a teacher
ACHS is a great school. I'm very happy that I decided to take my own children here instead of in the city where they live. The administration is supportive and consistent, and the teachers are available for their students and care about learning. I wouldn't want to teach anywhere else!

Adolfo Camarillo High School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
Great school API 869. Great staff and Principal. Mr Lipman is an Award winning Principal.

Adolfo Camarillo High School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Teachers seem to really are about the students. Some special teachers make material exciting and interesting.


Adolfo Camarillo High School 2

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
The CP classes are far too simple and the honors classes are hit and miss, mainly just tons of homework. The classes are filled to the maximum and the best teachers are extremely difficult to get. Outstanding teachers are rare; most are average. On site daycare for children of students (Little Scorps) - and there is actually a daycare elective (students care for students' children). Volleyball program unorganized and political. Office staff ok. Counselors overworked, stressed but kind. Lipman is a difficult person to deal with, terrible bedside manner and seems to care little about students. Very unwelcoming to parents and students.

Adolfo Camarillo High School 2

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Here's what all the locals already know: in the last few years, so many unhappy parents/students have transferred out of this school to Newbury Park High School (which is in a different district), that now Oxnard Union District won't allow any more transfers. See Ventura County Star article on 1-12-12, "Oxnard Union High School District to tighten its transfer policies". Says everything about the attitude, doesn't it, that the District's response to unhappy parents/kids is not to improve, but just restrict people from leaving.

Nearby schools

Adolfo Camarillo High School
4660 Mission Oaks Boulevard, Camarillo, CA  93012-5132
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (805) 389-6407
Last modified Adolfo Camarillo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top