Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Camarillo, CA
Students enrolled: 2,493

3 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Adolfo Camarillo High School 3

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is said to have a student percentage of 65% that use drugs. First time offenders are policed through the justice system. Kids just think they will be smarter and not get caught so this system doesn't work. The answer is to rehabilitate like the court system does instead if kicking them out of school and creating a juvenile a record for them to follow around for the rest of his/her life. I believe a crack down is necessary but policing schools are not working as in the case of Adolfo Camarillo High School. The academics are exemplary and the kids that attend receive high ratings in star testing. The drug use in this school and the policing of it are ruining the future of our children's future and resulting in further delinquency. The police that police this school don't deal with the kids honorably despite cooperation. That in itself instills in our kids that the camarillo police are their enemy resulting in the disrespect of their authority. We are dealing with kids here and they make mistakes. Rehabilitating our smart kids is the answer instead this school treats and prosecutes them as criminals for first time offenders.
1 person found this helpful

Adolfo Camarillo High School 4

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school! But horrible front office staff. Very rude! But great athletic programs and caring teachers.
1 person found this helpful


Adolfo Camarillo High School 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a community member
This school is the best in Oxnard Union High District. Teachers, at least AP/honor class teachers, are caring and responsible. Campus seems safe. Parking is an issue, especially now with the construction of its swimming pool. The biggest problem I have observed is the attitude of front office staffs. A few of them (you know who you are) always give students and parents cold shoulders and use condescending language. Totally agree with one of early reviews--"Very unwelcoming to parents and students." School admin must know about this, but couldn't or wouldn't do anything to correct it. What a shame!
1 person found this helpful

Adolfo Camarillo High School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a teacher
ACHS is a great school. I'm very happy that I decided to take my own children here instead of in the city where they live. The administration is supportive and consistent, and the teachers are available for their students and care about learning. I wouldn't want to teach anywhere else!

Adolfo Camarillo High School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
Great school API 869. Great staff and Principal. Mr Lipman is an Award winning Principal.


Adolfo Camarillo High School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Teachers seem to really are about the students. Some special teachers make material exciting and interesting.

Adolfo Camarillo High School 2

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
The CP classes are far too simple and the honors classes are hit and miss, mainly just tons of homework. The classes are filled to the maximum and the best teachers are extremely difficult to get. Outstanding teachers are rare; most are average. On site daycare for children of students (Little Scorps) - and there is actually a daycare elective (students care for students' children). Volleyball program unorganized and political. Office staff ok. Counselors overworked, stressed but kind. Lipman is a difficult person to deal with, terrible bedside manner and seems to care little about students. Very unwelcoming to parents and students.
1 person found this helpful

Adolfo Camarillo High School 2

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Here's what all the locals already know: in the last few years, so many unhappy parents/students have transferred out of this school to Newbury Park High School (which is in a different district), that now Oxnard Union District won't allow any more transfers. See Ventura County Star article on 1-12-12, "Oxnard Union High School District to tighten its transfer policies". Says everything about the attitude, doesn't it, that the District's response to unhappy parents/kids is not to improve, but just restrict people from leaving.
1 person found this helpful


Adolfo Camarillo High School 1

Posted March 31, 2011
- a student
Been trying to get help about an issue im having at this high school for about two weeks now. Been sent to four different people and all they have done is sent me in a circle around to each other. Who knew it was so hard to get a little help. If there were a choice for no stars to rate this school i surely would have been glad to choose it. People in the office don't care about the kids. and now it comes to my attention that they don't even care when the parents get involved. Not helping means not doing their job. Long story made short... the people who work at this school are the most irresponsible people i have ever come across. I would suggest transferring to another school if your headed for Camarillo High.
1 person found this helpful

Adolfo Camarillo High School 1

Posted March 27, 2010
- a student
Administration does not crack down on drugs like they say they do. Trust me, they don't! Teachers often seem to hate their job, or teach too slow or fast! Aside from sports and our acheivements not mentioned, I would NEVER go here
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Adolfo Camarillo High School
4660 Mission Oaks Boulevard, Camarillo, CA  93012
(805) 389-6407
Last modified Adolfo Camarillo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Adolfo Camarillo High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top