Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canyon High School 5

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
The school is well established with great science teachers. I have had 3 children go through there and have gone on to UC and top colleges.

Canyon High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 23, 2015
- a student
The spanish teachers are great, the math teachers are great, the english teachers are great, and the science teachers are great. Note: I am in honors classes and have only had honors/AP level teachers for the most part, excluding Spanish.


Canyon High School 4

Posted November 23, 2015
- a student
The student body at Canyon is very welcoming. This can be attributed to effective anti-bullying and inclusion programs. The sports programs are in decline, however, with only track remaining a yearly contender. For the most part, the teachers are great as well. The biggest problem is the administration and counseling. Although there are some good administrators/counselors, this area is overall weak, especially when compared to that of Valencia or Hart, whose counseling departments seek out the highly successful students to give them the inside scoop on the best ways to improve your college resume. At Canyon, however, I did not receive such treatment (probably in large part because I had THE worst counselor my first 2 years), and could've done such things as taken more classes over summer etc. to improve my standing with colleges and compete with students like those at Valencia in the admissions process. Overall, Canyon is definitely not a bad school, but there is much room for improvement. Disclaimer: This review was hastily written and may contain grammar errors, run-ons, etc. Sincerely, A current Honors/AP student at Canyon

Canyon High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a student
Mr. Schulhofer is the greatest. He's probably the most entertaining and caring man I have ever met. he makes AP Euro not seem as bad as it is.

Canyon High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a student
Generally, yes, although there are bone heads at canyon like any other school. This is largely due to leadership


Canyon High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 23, 2015
- a student
Anti-bullying programs and sports and AP classes and clubs and good teachers and leadership and text a tip

Canyon High School 5

Posted June 26, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been attending school in this area since fourth grade. She was in her freshman year at canyon, but since we moved she won't be able to go this year just because we are only a few feet away from the school's zone. We are very sad. My son graduated from Canyon, and I think it's the best school. Now she will have to go to Golden Valley. Any ideas?

Canyon High School 3

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
This school need a lot of attention in the area of getting its students ready for college. Counselor and some teachers are very political. If you want good recommendation, you need to play some political games. Only a few students get all of the SCV Foundation scholarships, and they are all in ASB officers. Yet every year counselors would tell parents that there are plenty of scholarships, but no student apply.


Canyon High School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a student
heyy! im a sophmore and this school really is the great.all the teachers are really cool and their great at teaching, they make it alot of fun. i was scared when i first came here but it turned out i was really happy i did come here instead of golden valley, plus its really easy to find your way around the school. Go Cowboyss! XD

Canyon High School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
Mr. Messina, the principal at Canyon, really tries to get parents involved. He holds wonderful information sessions (called the Parent Advisory Council, or PAC) monthly, at which he works hard to get a lot of information into the hands of parents, and takes the time to listen to parent concerns as well. All of the teachers and support staff have been wonderful as well. The experience has been beyond our wildest expectations for our son.

Nearby schools

Canyon High School
19300 West Nadal Street, Canyon Country, CA  91351-1253
(661) 252-6110
Last modified Canyon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top