Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Christian School

Private | 7-12 | 162 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Carmichael

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

This school does not advertise so you will not see a lot of information about Victory Christian School. The school is faith based and has high academic standards. If you are thinking about sending your child/children to this school, call today and take a tour and visit with other parents. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

I homeschooled until high school and heard how much the teachers care about the students at this school. It's difficult to go from being so involved with your child/student to letting someone(s) else do all the teaching/training. However the staff at VCS made that transition so easy. There were many hurdles, esp.. learning how to study for tests and quizzes weekly as VCS follows a traditional teaching style. The change has proved valuable for our child and we plan to enroll each of our other children as they enter high school. They have a 'bridge' program if you homeschool but don't want to tackle the harder subjects for high school and can enroll your child for 1 or 6 classes depending on your desires and needs. The teachers really do care so much and a couple of them had my husband in tears as they talked about our child in the parent/teacher conferences. No place on earth is perfect but VCS is exactly the school we'd heard it was and we're very pleased with the level of care, the commitment to academic excellence, the quality of the students, and the way the staff will work with each parent to make this a great experience and education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

I can't say enough positive about this school! Loving, caring teachers, high standards, small class size, Christ centered, this school is all of these and more. I have three children, two have graduated from Victory and one is a Senior and my husband and I have never regretted the investment we have made in their education. It is a true blessing to not have to worry about the safety of your child or what they are learning. Victory ranks among the top in the country on SAT and ACT scores and on standardized testing for elementary ages. I would highly recommend this school to any Christian family who wants the best for their kids. Worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

Both of our boys go to Victory and we are very pleased by the love and care that each students recieves. They love them as Christ loves them! They are very happy at Victory and know the teachers and administration cares about their walk. They are academically thriving and I can't think of a better way for our family to spend our money. It is nice to be at a school that welcomes God and praises Him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

I had both my children going to VC. My daughter is thriving in 2nd grade. My son is in 6th and we had to move him back to public school because the teacher was too nit picky and out of touch with the students. When he moved to a public school, they were doing the same curriculum as VC was doing...why was I spending all that money to have him go to a private school? If looking for a private school...know this one is very fundamental in its religious beliefs and rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My children have been attending this school since kindergarten and have enjoyed the experience. The teachers on both the elementary campus as well as the high school campus care about the students, are educated in their field, and are very approachable when help is needed. SAT testing has proven that level of education they are receiving has kept them in step and more, with both private and public schools across the nation. We are very pleased with this school and recommend it regularly to our friends and aquaintances
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

I have been impressed with the quality of the academics at Victory, combined with the love that teachers show for their students. Very impressive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

Both of my boys are attending this school and I have had nothing but good feedback from them and I am very happy with both principals and have had great interaction with their teachers when needed. The teachers seem to love what they do and are doing it unto the Lord. The children are safe on the school grounds as the campus staff is very safety conscience and aware of what is going on at all times. Parents are kind and helpful and we will probably be sending our 3 year old there when the time comes for her to start school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

My family and I have been involved with VCS for 15 years, and it has been a wonderful experience. My husband and I like most families have children that are very different in their learning styles , and never have I had a teacher compare them. We have experienced grace and genuine concern for our whole family, not just our children. Nope it's not perfect, but show me a church or school where people are involved that is. My husband would not have worked countless hours of overtime to send our children there if we did not love it. My daughter is entering her jr. year @ a academically challenging Christian university where she is a A student, I asked if she felt VCS did a good job preparing her she said'I think they over prepared me':) Our last child is finishing this year, it will be very hard to leave. Heidi White
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I would never send my child to school here. The major reason is because the school is very judgmental. Buyer Beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

With over 20 year's experience with VCS, we have found the teachers and staff professional, very caring, and earnestly desiring to show Christ's love to the students. Our children have gotten excellent educations, preparing them well for college and for life. They have been regularly challenged to commit and spend their lives for Christ, His Kingdom and people. We would recommend Victory heartily to any parent who wants their child to receive a great, Christ-centered education in a loving and caring atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2006

There is nothing good to say about this school. I don't mean to sound to overly dramatic but I would never send my children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 26, 2004

I cannot say enough good about VCS. My children have been there since 2002. After a bad experience with what I thought was a good school, I was most skeptical. Three minutes on campus with Mrs. Marques shattered all of my doubts and fears. She loves what she does, she knows the heart of your child, she knows them by name and brings out the very best in all around her. She has surrounded herself with a staff of people who share her passion for the kids and academic excellence all centered on Christ. There is no doubt in my mind that when my children come home they have experienced God's love and have had the same values instilled as we have in our home. VCS is an extraordinary extension of our home. God blessed us with a Christ-centered, academic facility for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Hispanic 7%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Huffman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3045 Garfield Avenue
Carmichael, CA 95608
Phone: (916) 488-5601

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Paragon Program
Carmichael, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT