Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Castro Valley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2013

Overall, this school is really great. We have a daughter in pre-k and k, and they both have learned so much from their teachers. They really do encourage parents to volunteer, which I think is hugely important. The biggest issue is that there is a large percentage of students coming in to kindergarten without some of the basics. This does slow down some of the large class work. Luckily, the teachers do small group instruction as well, which helps those students who are a little further along. The thing I love about this school is how multicultural it is. Students literally from around the world. This bit of education is invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Very happy with school. I know my child is receiving a great education by caring and knowledgeable teachers & faculty. Would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

This is a great school. Great grounds and awesome teachers. I found that the teachers not only were excellent at their job (teaching) but at gaining trust, respect, and even friendship from their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

My son goes here for over a year: Great school & amazing & dedicated teachers!!! Very happy to be part of CVE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

I love this great school because the teachers pay full attention to every single child and give them the love and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

My son goes to school here he is just finishing 1st grade. I must say I love this school and the involvement with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

My Daughter is in KG and she loves it!! I am proud that my daughter is in CVE!! Initially when I saw the ranking of 7 OUT OF 10....I was little worried but very soon I realized that my choice was correct!! My daughter loves to go to the school each day, I have seen the education method by her teacher and am confident about my decision!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

My son is just about to end 1st grade at CVE. I can't think of a better place for him to spend his elementary school education. Principal Denise Hohn is an amazing lady who makes it a point to respect and get to know the kids as well as the parents. I am impressed by the amount of enthusiastic parental involvement through PATA, family participation and class volunteering. CVE has an excellent teaching staff, and friendly school staff coming together to make this uniquely diverse campus work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

My son is entering 1st grade in September. I could not be happier with his wonderful kindie teacher. She was truly meant to teach little ones. Her dedication to her class and her craft really shined through. The teachers I encountered were all enthusiastic about CVE. I was impressed by the parent involvement in continuing to make CVE the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My son is in Kindergarten this year. I am lucky enough to have had a transfer from san Leandro District to CV. I think this school is great so far!! Very academically driven, great staff and principal. I am very impressed with this school. CVE is the place to be!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

CVE is a great school filled with caring teachers, parents and staff. There is a wonderful energy thanks to the diverse student population. Our family is greatful for the opportunity to share in the education provided by CVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

Most of the teachers seem to be very keen and Miss C., our daughters 3rd grade teacher is like a second mom to the kids. We love all the extracurricular activities that are provided. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

My Daughter is in her last year at CVE. I am sad to be leaving this wonderful school. It has been a second family to my daughter. I found outstanding and dedicated teachers in all the K - 5th grade classes. She is doing great in school and really has enjoyed going to CVE. CVE has a big welcome back family picnic, skate nights, movie nights, Halloween Carnival, spirit days, and many other ways to make your child's school years a life long cherished memory. 'CVE is the place to be'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

CV Elemantary has outstanding curiculum and teachers. My kids are proud to be students here. I am proud to be able to send my child to such a ecellent school. There will be many great contributers to society thanks to Marshall Mustang staff and parent help and appreaciation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Very good school. I'm sorry I have to leave the district due to personal reason but this is one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My son was in kindergarten last year, and I was very impressed with all of his teachers. He learned a lot, was accomodated for his learning and behavior issues, the teachers communicated to come up with ideas together, and we both loved the school. I would have kept him there until middle school if I hadn't moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

My son has attended CVE for the last year and a half, and he has made tremendous improvement in his reading and writing. I felt in his last school (not in the CV district) he was left behind and not given the attention he so desperately needed. The teachers at CVE are excellent. They take the time for work with each child. I look forward to another year. Thanks CVE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Castro Valley Elementary School is wonderful. I have been a part of the CVE family for four years and have another four years to go. All the teacher's have been dedicated to my child and the programs in placed to keep my child on track are great. CVE has a Bear Academy available to students who need additional coaching. Upper grade students volunteer to help the younger kids and the program is a great success. CVE has a new state of the art Science Center, a new Kindergarten playground, and with the help of the PTA many new and exciting things are coming for the school. Your children will love the CVE family and get an excellent education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

Have you ever heard the saying, 'you get what you give'? As a former CVE employee and PATA President, let me say that CVE is a structured, thourough, nurturing learning enviornment. My children(4) attended CVE on an intra-district transfer because I felt confident that the education that they would receive there would be outstanding. After my son attended CVE for 3 years, I chose to get involved with PATA and then chose to work at CVE. It was my misconception that PATA wouldn't want or didn't need my help, and once I participated, I found out just how valuable parent support and involvement is. CVE staff is well-trained and caring, and also very accomodating to those families/students with special needs. CVE has worked hard to offer the best possible education for its' students and if parents are dissatified with CVE, then I suggest that they get involved and participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

My opinion of this school is far better than the others I've read. I do agree with another parent in that the teachers are wonderful and are in tune with the needs of our children. Parents are friendly, if you are friendly with them. I'm not the outgoing type but I found myself donating my time and efforts to benefit this school. Going to the PATA meetings is one way to meet others and if you go you'll see the time and efforts of the select few who go way out of their way to do for this school. Parents with daytime jobs also put aside one night a month to attend and listen to ways they can be of help. I think that in order to feel like you 'belong' to a school, one schould reach out to help also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

836

Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

836

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females68%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females66%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females57%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asian69%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females70%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females72%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian56%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females89%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females67%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females70%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females65%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 36%
White 23%
Asian 16%
Two or more races 12%
Black 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
English language learners 26%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Denise Hohn
Fax number
  • (510) 537-9892

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20185 San Miguel Avenue
Castro Valley, CA 94546
Phone: (510) 537-1919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Grace School
Castro Valley, CA



Anchor Education, Inc.
Castro Valley, CA



Stanton Elementary School
Castro Valley, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT