Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mater Dei Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 660 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chula Vista

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

"A place for everyone" We are a Christ-centered family with a wonderful STEAM program. MDCHS is a small Catholic school centered in values and in the Sciences. What makes us unique is that we are a close-knit diverse College-prep High school with great academic and extracurricular opportunities. We partner with USD, Cuyamaca College and many organizations who avail our students with internship programs and projects. We strive to form well rounded individuals who will make a difference in the world.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2013

My son just graduated in 2013 from Mater Dei, My son had a very productive and enriching experience, classes are what you make of them, the teacher are open and engaging but just and demanding, for me as a parent I am grateful , they let me know when my son thrived ( literally they call me up) as well as when he was getting side tracked (call me up or e-mail) it was up to us; teachers and parent to put him back on track, academically need more staff to fulfill the class requirements , they are limited on their electives because of under staffing, they due a great job of respecting but enforcing discipline and values trough out the school, my son was accepted in UCSD they help you prepare for the SAT/CAT with a cost of course but well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

I am so blessed to be able to send my children to such a wonderful school. I know that my children are being receiving an excellent education and their spiritual life is soaring. Thank you Mater Dei!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

My daughter is a junior and we are very happy with our choice to send her to Mater Dei. She came in from a public middle school. Transitioning to a Catholic private school was easy through sports and ASB. She has excelled academically and socially. Teachers are very approachable and accountable. The faith curriculum is superb and the quality of eduation is above par. The small class room size and beautiful campus is a plus. Religious experience a plus. The faculty is very good, school spirit can be improved upon, but it is still a somewhat new campus. Overall, a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

I am a SENIOR at Mater Dei...i love the school, faculty, and staff, as well as my peers. It is the best education and has taught me so many things. i have been accepted to USD, Point Loma Nazarene, and UCLA because of my hard work and the help of mater dei.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2009

My nephews go there and I am so thankful that their parents chose Mater Dei instead of the other schools in the diocese. The teachers truly care about the students and all of the kids seem really down to earth. They have plenty of athletic and club activities to choose from and most importantly, their religious education program is solidly rooted in the faith! I know that my nephews love it there. Mater Dei is everything a Catholic school should be and more!


Posted April 20, 2009

To be honest this school is nothing special. We go through the day talking mostly in class and not doing work and that is why we get so much homework. Then we go home and we do not understand what to do because we did not comprehend it in the classroom. It is also way too much money for the type of education and I really do hope i switch schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

As a sophomore student I personally say that this school is great,teaches a lot of values and discipline. One has to get really use to getting a lot of homework and not be lazy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

i love this school they offer a lot of clubs. They show very good discipline. i'm a cheerleader there and i know my school has spirit. I'm also a freshman and i love the other kids in my class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2005

Great curriculum, teachers are outstanding. I wouldn't send my child to any other school in San Diego County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2005

The school is great.. only as a freshman there, i do realize this school will give me the guidance and help i need to succeed in life. The academics are great, fun and interactive with the student body. The parents are 100% involved in the school. I see parents helping out teachers and other students all the time at my school. I have to tell other parents as a student there currently that it is great. My mother has recieved many compliments about how well-rounded I am because of my education. It makes me proud and happy to be going there.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. George Milke
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1615 Mater Dei Drive
Chula Vista, CA 91913
Phone: (619) 423-2121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Olympian High School
Chula Vista, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT