Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Mckinley Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Corona

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I started out a skeptical this year because of last years principal, but overall Dr. Dedrict seems to be a positive principle. I love that he started "The leader in me" program and I have not seen much of a bullying problem so far, like I know there were in years past. Starting to have some school pride! I love my sons teacher this year too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I love this school.it has a very responsible and kind staff.My son's teacher is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I love this school, I wish the teachers were around when my daughter was in school ( 30 years ago) Thanks Mrs Luna my niece loves going to your class everyday. And so far Dr, D is doing a good job too !


Posted February 1, 2013

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. MY SON ATTENDS MRS. BAILEYS KINDERGARTEN CLASS AND I CAN NOT BEGIN TO TELL YOU HOW IMPRESSED I AM WITH THE TEACHERS, SCHOOL STANDARDS AND PRINCIPAL. I AM VERY ACTIVE IN THIS SCHOOL AND I SEE HOW CONCERNED, CARING AND EFFICENT THIS STAFF IS . KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. IM A PROUD PARENT OF A MCKINLEY KINDERGARTEN STUDENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

McKinley needs improvements fast! The constant feel of the school environment is let someone else take care of it. With the size of the staff and the amount of parents its ridiculous how much falls through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

My oldest daughter now 16 attended Mckinley entirely. Honor student great teachers an awesome staff. We had changes with principal's and so forth but Ms. Neumann came in and has always been great. Now my youngest daughter attends and teachers remain great and no problems. Talk with your child. My daughter is escorted at times to my truck by the principal and she does care! No one is perfect but I think she a very nice person no matter what anyone says. Also, on issues of bullying I do agree it needs to be more aggressive in actions such as suspension or kicked out! Parents get into the office and quit calling face to face will work if not then go to the district. Talk to your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

I am very disapointed that these parents feel so negative towards the principal first of all she is very hard working. Dedicated not only to her Staff but also to the students. I would like to see the parents who are complaining have the responsibility of not only over 800 students but also staff. Parents that are the first ones to complain are the ones that are never involved. My two children go thr and i have never had a problem not only with a teacher or the principal. Stop pointing a finger and put yourself in her shoes. And if you feel so strongly about it be more involed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

My child was a student and had a horrible time in his last 2-3 years because of bullying. No support from a school that has a "no tolerance" rule. In 4th grade it was horrible and Mrs Friedl was the worst. She saw what was happening and did NOTHING!! I was promised that the bullying kids would be taken care of....but of course it wasn't! The more and more problems my child had the more excuses I heard for the guilty. Clean up the bullying problem and get better leadership and McKinley may get the great reputation it had when we started there. I must say the teacher are wonderful (except the above mentioned) and the PTA is exceptional. This school is not shy on creating entertainment for the kids but the administrative part of it has really hurt the moral of the school. In the final years of my child going here all I heard was how parents were trying to get there kids transferred to another school because of the principal and the falling of the parent/teacher/school relationship and how its faultering. Guess one should analyze and to who was the last one to come on board and who is to blame for sinking the ship!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

Sorry but My son is out of this school soon! Some teachers are doing hard work I am sure... But from what I expereinced in this school made me think twise! so Finally my son going to a better school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Great school, great faculty. My son attended for 4 years and did very well. Never had an issue, parents who complain about teachers need to speak to their children and be better parents. Too bad we cant take teachers with us to jr high. Thanks for the experience MC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

We need another Principle. She could care less about the kids and is only interested in furthering her career. Some of the teachers are same thing. I am very disappointed. If the child got an A or B, teacher will love him. if he gets C and under he will be not her attention anymore and she will not even care if he gets an A. I called the office so many times requesting Parent teacher meeting to discuss my son 5th grade needs and what can we do to improve it, THEY IGNORED me big time. I think there is discrimination in the school towered second language English and that's so sad. We are in a free country. we all Americans no matter of our heritage or color. Please Human Resources do something about that. WE need another Principle. educated teachers that will care about the child who is not doing good at school... Please do like other schools. Highland or Corona ranch "what a great principle, teachers they have" Thank you. Angry MOM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

After 4 years at McKinley, we are finally jumping ship and going to another school and it is because of the principal, Ms. Neuman. First off, let me say that the teachers, PTA and majority of the office staff are wonderful. My son has gone to McKinley since the 1st grade and has never had a bad teacher. He received student of the year in 5th grade and is always on High Honor Roll. I attribute his success to the amazing, hard working teachers. With that being said, the principle is another story. She is fake, mindless and is only interested in her paycheck. She does not have the best interest of the children at heart and she blows off any parent who has a question or concern. She never returns phone calls and I personally have had to call her boss at the District and complain about her not returning my call after I left 4 messages for her. The police have been called to the school on several occasions, by teachers and parents, due to bullying, because Ms. Neuman refuses to adequately handle situations properly. McKinley has a zero tolerance rule on bullying, but Ms. Neuman does not follow that rule. McKinley would be a great school if Ms. Neuman would find a new home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Totally agree with the parents that say the principal does nothing. She could care less about the kids and is only interested in furthering her career. What's worse is the district backs her poor decisions. It appears that they too want to help keep her record clean. The principal says "thank you for bringing this to my attention" then does nothing. She should add in "now I can quickly sweep this under the rug and manipulate the situation to protect myself and my career.". How about protecting the kids like you are paid to do? The teachers are amazing. They work so hard to teach our children even when their classes grow every year. They do a fantastic job. Even though they have a principal that doesn't discipline kids that disrupt their classes. It makes a tough job even tougher but these teachers get their job done. Too bad the principal doesn't do hers. The PTA is amazing and works very hard to raise money so that our kids have great programs provided to them. Overall it's a good school but really needs a new principal that puts the kids and their safety first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

The principal never addresses issues brought to her attention. She has a total disregard for bullying, foul language and unacceptable behavior. She enables bullying by never disciplining the students who exhibit poor behavior time and time again. When approached she simply says "thank you for bringing this to my attention". I am very disappointed that whenver issues are brought to her attention, they never actually get any attention and are quickly dismissed. I have seen this on numerous occasions. That being said, McKinley has some amazing teachers and staff it's a shame that I cannot same about the principal .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

I agree with the parent who says the principle has a disregard for bullying. I believe it is rampant in this school. My child comes home with so many stories that need immediate teacher principle intervention but instead is told to stop tattling. Again in agreement with the "no student left behind" comment. My child is having a few struggles in the 4th grade and needs a little extra help. The school now does what they call intervention courses in math and language arts- the intervention classes are just as big as the normal class size so again no real help there. I asked the principle if they had something where my child can get one on one and she responded" that aint gonna happen". The school gets an A+ for fun activities and keeping the students entertained but fails in my book when it comes to getting the students to understand work given and actually apply it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

The basic outline structure of the school is good, but the classes are too large for a teacher to help a small group, let alone one child who cannot keep up in class. If the kids aren't getting it, they just push onto the next subject, and give them crazy amounts of homework which even I as a parent am struggling with! The teacher is very nice, but I would like to see more understanding of the children. "No children left behind:" is definitely not the case here. Have no complaints about any of the staff, and the PTA does a great job with fundraisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

I love Mckinley and the staff here are amazing, however not sper excited about the principal, she seems to have a constant disreguard for bullying and other important issues, she never makes time and is always too busy for parents. However I ahve 3 kids here now and have never been unhappy with the teachers infact I have never seen a better group of teachers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

We have enjoyed all the teachers. All staff are hard-working and love kids. Our daughters can't wait for this year to begin!!!!


Posted August 4, 2011

We are very happy with Mckinley, my son had Mrs Kliss for Kindergarten and she was awesome! The principal was very involved and had a lot of fun family activities to offer. Looking forward to 1st grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

Two years and two GREAT TEACHERS but 2 years of a completely non responsive principal. She is terrible and now in our second year, and only 3rd month of the school year there are already 4 serious incidents that Ms. Neumann has completely disregarded. She is dismissive with parents attempting to communicate, takes no responsibility and her favorite line before brushing you off is "thanks for bring it to my attention, I'll look into it" . but nothing happens, children are now being endangared by her lack of attention to what is happening on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

812

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

812

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females57%
Males35%
African American36%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females58%
Males44%
African American50%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females50%
Males33%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students62%
Females60%
Males65%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females73%
Males54%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females77%
Males68%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females62%
Males68%
African American63%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females67%
Males71%
African American65%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students61%
Females57%
Males65%
African American58%
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females78%
Males59%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females72%
Males65%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate53%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
White 27%
Black 13%
Asian 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
English language learners 15%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Trevor Dietrich
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (951) 736-7192
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 Aztec Lane
Corona, CA 92879
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 736-7190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT