Advertisement
Advertisement

Echo Horizon School

Private | PK-6 | 232 students

Our school is best known for being an Apple Distinguished School.

 
 

Living in Culver City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $711,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

We have been at Echo Horizon for over four years now and it has been an outstanding school in so many mays. When you think of Westside Private school, you automatically have a biased opinion, am I correct? This school defies all stereotypes. The children, the families, the community and excellent teaching create a warm, friendly and loving environment. The kids are kind, empathetic and bright-This is a great reflection of the parents and the philosophy of the school. The new head of school, Martha Schurr is a great asset to Echo. If you are to look at a school on the westside of LA, with a well balanced, down to earth community with solid academics look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

We are huge fans of Echo Horizon and our daughter has thrived there since the moment she first walked through the door of Pre-K. The teaching staff is attentive, warm, creative, and forward-thinking. And we love the other parents too! It is a truly great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I love the academic and character education my kids are receiving at Echo Horizon School! In any school, transitions are positive and needed to ensure the best and most current educational practices. Martha Schuur is an incredible leader (with years of teaching and administrative experience at Marlborough) with a motto of "what is best for the kids" always at the forefront of all her thoughtful decision-making. We produce self-confident kids who are academically challenged through our use of technology as an Apple Distinguished School, our Singapore math teaching kids to think critically about math concepts rather than just memorize, our Kahn-Academy-like flipped classroom lessons, our real-world project-based learning, and our great arts program, just to name a few. But additionally, our kids are shown how to be good citizens within themselves, with their peers, and the outside community. And the parent community is warm and inviting. All our students matriculate into all the top middle schools in and around LA. I can't say enough wonderful things about the education your young child will receive and the incredible friendships you will make at Echo Horizon School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

My whole family is happy at Echo! Enriching, challenging and creative academics, great caring teachers, strong character building, smart, nice kids, and wonderfully down-to-earth parents. And the new head is superb. (i strongly disagree with the posting from Feb 4 that says Martha rules with a heavy hand - she is an excellent leader moving the school forward in the right direction.) Martha has made so many positive changes and really listens to the kids' desires and the parents' requests. SHE HAS ADDED COMPETITIVE SPORTS TEAMS THIS YEAR - BASKETBALL AND VOLLEYBALL! AND THE INTEGRATED USE OF TECHNOLOGY IS THE BEST I'VE SEEN! Echo is an all-around excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I have 2 children that graduated Echo Horizon School, and still have one enrolled. If you want your children to have a character based education, while at the same time be academically empowered to succeed at the next level, this is the school for you. Families at this school are down to earth, unpretentious and nice. The program is top notched....technology program is first rate, my kids love the science curriculum, and after not having a sports program for many years, team sports have been introduced. We don't live that close to the school, but it's been worth the drive. This school is a match for our family and our values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

Echo Horizon School has been an amazingly good experience for my children. They are excited to go to school and are learning in such a way that a foundation for life long learning is being laid. We tried other private schools so we are able to make real comparisons in a way many private school parents are not. The school has a strong, down to Earth leader and dynamic new head of school in Martha Schuur, who was the asst head of school before becoming head... So the transition is a pretty smooth one, especially considering the prior head was at Echo for 27 years. Echo is a pretty special place. If you want a school that is completely focused on elementary education, always seeking to incorporate the best of new educational practices, has a great placement record with LA secondary schools, and turns out good, smart kids that others like being around then its hard to go wrong with Echo Horizon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

If you are considering Echo Horizon, think twice. After an exhaustive independent school search, we decided on Echo Horizon. While we love the Echo Horizon community/families/kids, the school is in the midst of change with a new head of school, with a heavy handed approach and rush to judgement, and lots of transition. The school openly admits that certain grades (and lots of other things) need work. In hindsight, we fell for the marketing - nurturing the uniqueness and different learning styles of each child, roots & wings, etc. which has not been our reality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I am thrilled with Echo Horizon so far, the community is welcoming without being overbearing. The teachers seem excited and happy to be there. I feel like my son is in a wholesome, nurturing environment, and he is excited to go to school everyday. He has made great strides in what he has learned in only a month. The teacher communicates at least weekly with parents about what was covered in class. I love that he brings home a folder with everything they did that day so that I can talk to him about it. Echo Horizon is the best of private school without any of the pretensions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Echo Horizon is a Westside gem. My daughter is thriving at Echo. The technology program is one of the best in the nation. The teachers are passionate and experts in their craft. They take the time to get to know their students and teach them to their individual levels. I also understand the school isn t perfect, but no school is. The head of school completed her last year prior to retiring, and an interim head of school is in place for the coming school year. It is normal for the talent pool to be in flux to adjust to new leadership and for programs to shift slightly. The Board is strong and committed and will not let this amazing school sink. Overall, Echo still offers the same or more than its competitors like Willows, Turning Point, etc. in terms of quality of teaching, academics, individual attention and community. We are happy and not jumping this ship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

Echo Horizon School is a well-balanced school that is pragmatic. This is not only exhibited in its curriculum, but also throughout the EHS Community - which make it the special place that it is. This school is moving through some changes which is exciting. Never will it lose it's nurturing characteristic. This is due to it's committed parent body and Board of Trustees. We have two children who attend and who have attended EHS. Our oldest just graduated and is moving on to an academically challenging middle school. We truly believe EHS prepared him well for getting him into that school and that he will thrive once there. Our younger child will likely attend a different middle school that is more suitable to him and this is what makes EHS truly awesome. The students are different (as is true of all children everywhere). At EHS they are not expected to nor are they forced to fit into one box. They are permitted to thrive in their way and be challenged in the way that meets their personal needs. This is a school that gets it. You don't want to miss the opportunity to be a part of this special community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Echo Horizon School is truly a great place for students to learn and develop their individual talents. The Arts program is cutting-edge and professionally run, fostering immense creativity. All teachers and staff really take the time to make sure every student is respected and nurtured. The negative reviews on this site are misleading and do not accurately reflect the community that is Echo Horizon. If you are seriously considering a private school, this is about as good as it gets. I highly encourage you visit and take a tour. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Echo Horizon has been nothing but a living nightmare for my child. They say they give their children roots and wings but they give them anything but that. I think I speak for many of the parents by saying that their children are not academically prepared for middle school. Another problem with this school is they don't have a sports program. The reason why they don't have a sports program is because they don't believe in competition. They say it's unfair if you loose, but they don't realize that you're going to loose in life and you're going to have to deal with it. They also have very unreasonable yard rules such you're not allowed to play tag on the yard, and you can't go on the pull up bars or monkey bars until you're in 3rd grade. I highly recommend that you don't send your to this school so they have to go through the unpleasant experienced that my child went through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

This is an excellent school - we are very happy with Echo Horizon. The teachers and staff are very responsive and truly know each child so they can deal with their individual strengths and needs. My kids love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Sad to agree with another reviewer but Echo Horizon School really is a sinking ship. Enrollment continues to spiral downward causing the school to make desperate, cost cutting decisions. Over the last few years, they have eliminated many well qualified, beloved teachers for cheaper, less experienced, more affordable staff. This plan has back fired! Parents are wondering why they are paying all this tuition for inexperienced newbies. In order to attempt to fill classes they continue to accept and keep children with special emotional and learning needs that the staff is not qualified to serve. With no school psychiatrist or even a school nurse, these exceptional children drain the staff and students. We've been involved with the school for the past 10 years and it's really sad to see the direction the school has gone. What was once a vibrant, amazing school has become an empty shell of it's former self. As our oldest graduated yesterday, we feel that we got off the sinking ship with only minutes to spare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

Echo Horizon School is the Best School EVER! Paula Dashiell is one of the best Principals ever. The school is half between a taking notes and project base learning. This is coming from a students prospective and I recommend this school to everyone. Kids go to middle schools like, Windward, WIldwood, Crossroads, Campbell Hall, Harvard Westlake, and so many more.


Posted July 19, 2012

We have two children, one who has graduated from Echo Horizon, and one who has just one year remaining. I am already mourning the end of our time at EHS. This is an honest, caring community, an anecdote to the Westside frenzy. Like our daughter was, we know our son will be more than academically prepared to face the challenges of secondary school, he'll be prepared ethically and morally. Immersed in a positive respectful environment where every child is known and appreciated is the best elementary school experience we could give our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

We have 3 kids at Echo and have been very happy there. The thing that makes Echo unique is how sweet the school is. Yes, they have solid academics, but so do other places. But the character education, the ethic of kindness and the warmth of the parents and faculty is what really sets this place apart. Our son entered the school two years ago as a bright, but shy kindergartener. We decided on private school because were worried that he'd get lost at public school -- we figured he'd do fine, but he would remain a wall flower. At Echo, he has really blossomed. He can read by himself and can add/subtract in his head. But best of all, he has become an outgoing little guy - he has gained social confidence and speaking skills. We believe that this has everything to do with the emphasis that Echo places on interpersonal dynamics, public speaking and really knowing the kids at the school. Our 2 daughters are in the pre-K program, which has been nothing short of spectacular. They have gained a solid foundation for building language and math skills, and they have gained independence. We had high hopes for Echo and it hasn't disappointed us in the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Echo Horizon school is not only a great school; it is a great community. We have been in the school for 5 years and would never consider another school. In a city where superficial things are often valued above true character, this school stands apart. The families are friendly and down to earth. The faculty are respectful and responsive, and the students benefit from all of it. We feel the administrators design curriculum and set school policies based on reasoned experience -- always taking into account the most important thing -- how it will affect the students...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

Echo Horizon like all schools has it's flaws, no doubt about it. Overall it is truly a fantastic school ( A school that is an Apple Distinguished School for innovative technology ) and some of the comments on this page are just not accurate. It's unfortunate that so many parents refuse to recognize their own childrens shortcomings and expect the faculty and staff to get their kids to a place academiclly and socially that they woudn't get to on their own. Sure, throw down lots of a money to a reputable school and that should fix my kid and get them automatically into Winward, Harvard Westlake and Brentwood. Well that's just not going to happen unless these micro managing Westside ex lawyer stay at home moms actually roll up their sleeves and put in some work with their own kids! I'm writing this message because my kid is graduating this year and coudn't have been in a better school and is going on to another great school. Hater parents, you're adults so take some personal accountability for your childs success or lack of it. Stop pointing fingers at the school and get more involved...you'd be suprised at what can happen when you actually get involed in your kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

The poster below states "no one leaves feeling their kids got a fantastic education"? Really? Yes, I feel there are some weaknesses, but, it is elementary school NOT college! While there is no second language in the curriculum, it IS offered after school. In the early years, a second language may prove challenging to a child with hearing loss; The school is true to its mission to mainstream deaf and hard of hearing children. The fancy trips mentioned below, are middle school trips! The Tech is Top-notch My child is well prepared for the next part of the journey. It's no "secret" we did some tutoring. My child hit a bump in the road, and rather than blame the school, we were proactive and met w the Head. For 6 months, we hired a tutor once a week; My child got through the bumpy patch and did well on both ERBs and ISEEs and no longer requires the extra support. My kid is graduating to a top Secondary School. Admission was gained on merit and not one connection! The pressures only increase in Secondary School, connections can't help with that! Echo does a good job of preparing the kids. This year, the graduating class is 28 kids - 28 were admitted to independent schools
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Black 8%
Asian 6%
Hispanic 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Martha Schuur
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

December 09, 2013

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$19000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Windward
Crossroads
Marlbourough
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3430 McManus Ave
Culver City, CA 90232
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 838-2442

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Echo Center
Culver City, CA


Play Mountain Place
Los Angeles, CA


Turning Point School
Culver City, CA



Park Century School
Culver City, CA


Park Century School
Culver City, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT