Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Echo Horizon School

Private | PK-6 | 213 students

Our school is best known for its recognition as an Apple Distinguished School.

 
 

Living in Culver City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $711,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

Echo is an awesome school. As a parent at the school for several years now I've been impressed with how EHS combines strong academics with a nurturing approach-- students come first, use of technology is top notch and the envy of many l.a. private schools. (I mean that literally-- other schools come to Echo to see tech done right). The arts are integrated thru out and the school simply feels like a breath of fresh air compared to many other schools. For an independent school, there is much less attitude from the majority of the parents. We were so happy when we enrolled to see how happy our kids were and we remain pleased. My kids are doing well, are progressively challenged and are learning in a much more motivated fashion than their previous independent school. The Head of School is a dynamic, long time educator from Marlborough and a strong leader. She is moving the school forward even more and making adjustments after the school was capably led by the previous Head for 27 years. We feel fortunate to have our kids at Echo Horizon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

We looked at a lot of schools -- and I do mean A LOT -- before we chose Echo Horizon. It has been a wonderful fit for my son who just completed Kindergarten this year. We chose Echo because of the quality, kindness and involvement of the teachers and staff. From our very first day there, all of the educators, not just the ones who taught Kindergarten, knew my son and greeted him by name each morning. The focus here is on educating the whole child, so in addition to wonderful academics, there is also emphasis placed on character, leadership, creativity and community. Personally, I feel that education is a marathon, not a sprint, and Echo's gentle way of teaching demonstrates why it is so important to keep children's natural curiosity intact. The new principal seems to be making some much needed changes and is open and receptive to parent input. The other parents and older children have been extremely welcoming and we really love being part of the Echo Horizon family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

I usually don't have the time to post how much I love something - but after reading a previous review - I felt compelled to respond. My family has been at Echo Horizon School for 4 years and we are so happy! I can't say enough wonderful things about the incredible, thought-provoking, creative academics they offer and the warmest community full of truly nice, bright kids and lovely, down-to-earth families. Teachers are top-notch academically, genuinely caring, and are all trained in Responsive Classroom and how to integrate technology into everyday learning to enhance the lessons. Our four arts disciplines are integrated into what each grade is studying academically - creating an enriching, unique multi-disciplinary approach to learning. While we did go through a seamless transition this year and we have an amazing new Head - any changes taking place are positive to ensure the best academic and character education. We now have sports teams! And a school is always best when fantastic new blood enters with fresh ideas - which is exactly what is excitedly happening here! Kids at this school love to learn! Echo Horizon School is a special place - and you'd be lucky to join us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

We have been parents at EHS for over 12 years. We researched and visited a broad spectrum of schools,from traditional to cutting edge.EHS offered a balanced academic,social and artistic environment at a beautiful campus adjacent to a large park.EHS provided a fantastic foundation for our children,one of whom is thriving at LA's most competitive secondary school and another who is on the way.The school continues to build on a foundation of inclusiveness and thoughtful teaching principals.It has earned and maintains a world class reputation as a technology leader(Apple Distinguished School for 5 years running).A new Head of School brings new energy and ever improving best practices to numerous aspects of school life.Curriculum and other key areas such as athletics and the arts are always improving.It is an imperfect process,but there is a new found spirit that embraces positive change while adhering to core principals of inclusiveness,character and group as well as individual achievement.We live in the heart of a city that groans under the stress of its affluence, poverty, competitiveness and stress.This school and greater community is an oasis. We would do it again in an LA minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

A school in serious decline. Their summer school was just abruptly canceled due to low enrollment. Only 22 of the 40 Kinder spots were filled for this coming fall. Staff turnover is high; they seem to be having trouble attracting quality teachers. The school feels like it is dying. We are glad to be out soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

We have been at Echo Horizon for over four years now and it has been an outstanding school in so many mays. When you think of Westside Private school, you automatically have a biased opinion, am I correct? This school defies all stereotypes. The children, the families, the community and excellent teaching create a warm, friendly and loving environment. The kids are kind, empathetic and bright-This is a great reflection of the parents and the philosophy of the school. The new head of school, Martha Schurr is a great asset to Echo. If you are to look at a school on the westside of LA, with a well balanced, down to earth community with solid academics look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

We are huge fans of Echo Horizon and our daughter has thrived there since the moment she first walked through the door of Pre-K. The teaching staff is attentive, warm, creative, and forward-thinking. And we love the other parents too! It is a truly great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I love the academic and character education my kids are receiving at Echo Horizon School! In any school, transitions are positive and needed to ensure the best and most current educational practices. Martha Schuur is an incredible leader (with years of teaching and administrative experience at Marlborough) with a motto of "what is best for the kids" always at the forefront of all her thoughtful decision-making. We produce self-confident kids who are academically challenged through our use of technology as an Apple Distinguished School, our Singapore math teaching kids to think critically about math concepts rather than just memorize, our Kahn-Academy-like flipped classroom lessons, our real-world project-based learning, and our great arts program, just to name a few. But additionally, our kids are shown how to be good citizens within themselves, with their peers, and the outside community. And the parent community is warm and inviting. All our students matriculate into all the top middle schools in and around LA. I can't say enough wonderful things about the education your young child will receive and the incredible friendships you will make at Echo Horizon School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

My whole family is happy at Echo! Enriching, challenging and creative academics, great caring teachers, strong character building, smart, nice kids, and wonderfully down-to-earth parents. And the new head is superb. (i strongly disagree with the posting from Feb 4 that says Martha rules with a heavy hand - she is an excellent leader moving the school forward in the right direction.) Martha has made so many positive changes and really listens to the kids' desires and the parents' requests. SHE HAS ADDED COMPETITIVE SPORTS TEAMS THIS YEAR - BASKETBALL AND VOLLEYBALL! AND THE INTEGRATED USE OF TECHNOLOGY IS THE BEST I'VE SEEN! Echo is an all-around excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I have 2 children that graduated Echo Horizon School, and still have one enrolled. If you want your children to have a character based education, while at the same time be academically empowered to succeed at the next level, this is the school for you. Families at this school are down to earth, unpretentious and nice. The program is top notched....technology program is first rate, my kids love the science curriculum, and after not having a sports program for many years, team sports have been introduced. We don't live that close to the school, but it's been worth the drive. This school is a match for our family and our values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

Echo Horizon School has been an amazingly good experience for my children. They are excited to go to school and are learning in such a way that a foundation for life long learning is being laid. We tried other private schools so we are able to make real comparisons in a way many private school parents are not. The school has a strong, down to Earth leader and dynamic new head of school in Martha Schuur, who was the asst head of school before becoming head... So the transition is a pretty smooth one, especially considering the prior head was at Echo for 27 years. Echo is a pretty special place. If you want a school that is completely focused on elementary education, always seeking to incorporate the best of new educational practices, has a great placement record with LA secondary schools, and turns out good, smart kids that others like being around then its hard to go wrong with Echo Horizon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

If you are considering Echo Horizon, think twice. After an exhaustive independent school search, we decided on Echo Horizon. While we love the Echo Horizon community/families/kids, the school is in the midst of change with a new head of school, with a heavy handed approach and rush to judgement, and lots of transition. The school openly admits that certain grades (and lots of other things) need work. In hindsight, we fell for the marketing - nurturing the uniqueness and different learning styles of each child, roots & wings, etc. which has not been our reality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I am thrilled with Echo Horizon so far, the community is welcoming without being overbearing. The teachers seem excited and happy to be there. I feel like my son is in a wholesome, nurturing environment, and he is excited to go to school everyday. He has made great strides in what he has learned in only a month. The teacher communicates at least weekly with parents about what was covered in class. I love that he brings home a folder with everything they did that day so that I can talk to him about it. Echo Horizon is the best of private school without any of the pretensions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Echo Horizon is a Westside gem. My daughter is thriving at Echo. The technology program is one of the best in the nation. The teachers are passionate and experts in their craft. They take the time to get to know their students and teach them to their individual levels. I also understand the school isn t perfect, but no school is. The head of school completed her last year prior to retiring, and an interim head of school is in place for the coming school year. It is normal for the talent pool to be in flux to adjust to new leadership and for programs to shift slightly. The Board is strong and committed and will not let this amazing school sink. Overall, Echo still offers the same or more than its competitors like Willows, Turning Point, etc. in terms of quality of teaching, academics, individual attention and community. We are happy and not jumping this ship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

Echo Horizon School is a well-balanced school that is pragmatic. This is not only exhibited in its curriculum, but also throughout the EHS Community - which make it the special place that it is. This school is moving through some changes which is exciting. Never will it lose it's nurturing characteristic. This is due to it's committed parent body and Board of Trustees. We have two children who attend and who have attended EHS. Our oldest just graduated and is moving on to an academically challenging middle school. We truly believe EHS prepared him well for getting him into that school and that he will thrive once there. Our younger child will likely attend a different middle school that is more suitable to him and this is what makes EHS truly awesome. The students are different (as is true of all children everywhere). At EHS they are not expected to nor are they forced to fit into one box. They are permitted to thrive in their way and be challenged in the way that meets their personal needs. This is a school that gets it. You don't want to miss the opportunity to be a part of this special community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Echo Horizon School is truly a great place for students to learn and develop their individual talents. The Arts program is cutting-edge and professionally run, fostering immense creativity. All teachers and staff really take the time to make sure every student is respected and nurtured. The negative reviews on this site are misleading and do not accurately reflect the community that is Echo Horizon. If you are seriously considering a private school, this is about as good as it gets. I highly encourage you visit and take a tour. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Echo Horizon has been nothing but a living nightmare for my child. They say they give their children roots and wings but they give them anything but that. I think I speak for many of the parents by saying that their children are not academically prepared for middle school. Another problem with this school is they don't have a sports program. The reason why they don't have a sports program is because they don't believe in competition. They say it's unfair if you loose, but they don't realize that you're going to loose in life and you're going to have to deal with it. They also have very unreasonable yard rules such you're not allowed to play tag on the yard, and you can't go on the pull up bars or monkey bars until you're in 3rd grade. I highly recommend that you don't send your to this school so they have to go through the unpleasant experienced that my child went through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

This is an excellent school - we are very happy with Echo Horizon. The teachers and staff are very responsive and truly know each child so they can deal with their individual strengths and needs. My kids love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Sad to agree with another reviewer but Echo Horizon School really is a sinking ship. Enrollment continues to spiral downward causing the school to make desperate, cost cutting decisions. Over the last few years, they have eliminated many well qualified, beloved teachers for cheaper, less experienced, more affordable staff. This plan has back fired! Parents are wondering why they are paying all this tuition for inexperienced newbies. In order to attempt to fill classes they continue to accept and keep children with special emotional and learning needs that the staff is not qualified to serve. With no school psychiatrist or even a school nurse, these exceptional children drain the staff and students. We've been involved with the school for the past 10 years and it's really sad to see the direction the school has gone. What was once a vibrant, amazing school has become an empty shell of it's former self. As our oldest graduated yesterday, we feel that we got off the sinking ship with only minutes to spare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

Echo Horizon School is the Best School EVER! Paula Dashiell is one of the best Principals ever. The school is half between a taking notes and project base learning. This is coming from a students prospective and I recommend this school to everyone. Kids go to middle schools like, Windward, WIldwood, Crossroads, Campbell Hall, Harvard Westlake, and so many more.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Black 10% 6%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Hispanic 5% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Martha Schuur
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (310) 838-0479

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • At Echo Horizon School, we value character education as highly as we do academic rigor. We believe that the education, care, and nurturing of the elementary age child is best accomplished in our PreK-6 grade setting. Echo Horizon’s teaching emphasizes character education to facilitate social and emotional growth, critical thinking, autonomy, resilience, and social responsibility. Prepared with 21st century skills, our graduates are admitted to their top choice secondary schools in Los Angeles.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

December 15, 2014

 
76
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$19000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Windward
Harvard-Westlake
Marlborough
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3430 McManus Ave
Culver City, CA 90232
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 838-2442

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Play Mountain Place
Los Angeles, CA


Turning Point School
Culver City, CA



Park Century School
Culver City, CA


Park Century School
Culver City, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT