Students enrolled 2127
Hours 7:30am - 3:10pm
School leader Ruth Steele
Transportation options None
District San Ramon Valley Unified School District

Contact this school

501 Danville Boulevard
Danville, CA 94526

School website
(925) 552-3000
(925) 838-7802
Nearby homes for sale
Map of San Ramon Valley High School address.

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

August 31, 2014
I agree with most of the previous postings, however one thing that isn't mentioned is that the scores reflected on this page are not a reflection of the instruction provided by the school. If a poll was taken as to how many students were seeking help from tutors, probably about 75% of students receive instruction off campus. SRVHS' foreign language and English programs are a joke, and math is not much better. My son would ask his teacher a question and they would just say "that's so easy" and not provide any help. Morale continues to fall and parents are withholding extra money contributions. The school didn't even raise enough money to pay their lease for their computer equipment. I'm counting the days until my child graduates from here, but feel sorry for our neighbors with younger children. If the principal doesn't get replaced soon, this will be a sad, sad place. I don't know how bad the school has to get before they remove a principal as destructive and deceiving as this one.

- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2014
transferred to SRV from mv (along with the other 150+ transfers) made life long friends, WAY more spirited and more down to earth students and teachers. I felt with each teacher I ever had throughout my three years genuinely cared. The new principle is ruining the schools traditions- off campus lunch, senior parking ect. but the community at srv is so tight nit and close that she will be gone sooner than later- we already over rulled her basketball coach drama. srv is an amazing school, with teachers and students that are down to earth and friendly. go wolves!

- submitted by a community member
May 20, 2014
Lately the new administration has made changes in the school that has had an immediate detriment to school climate and morale. Specifically teachers and parents alike are outraged at the wide sweeping changes and students are walking around sulking and there is no school spirit. It's a bad situation a this school and the administration doesn't care. The administration has "dumbed down" the curriculum and the sports programs have all taken a hit by this administration.

- submitted by a parent
April 06, 2014
My grandchildrens' school is San Ramon Valley High School. I live just on the other side of the fence and often find a tennis ball or baseball in my garden. I am impressed by the sports events and sportmanship spirit always present at the school. It shows a commraderie among students because there is never a negative response to playing on the field...it is always upbeat. I especially like the wrestling team because they have won many individual medals and participate in many tournaments and are highly dedicated to practice all year round. The swimming team is out drilling early morning and sometimes late in the evening but the kids never stop cheering and keep a winning spirit.

- submitted by a community member
September 04, 2013
This is a great High school with awesome traditions. Current principal Ruth Steele only here for one year is single handedly ruining our school. She operates under a cloak of secrecy and has already, dismantled famed 6th man at basketball games, removed popular 6th period football conditioning, abolished the wolf foundation, cut popular poweder puff football game, disallowed off campus lunches for junior class, homecoming lyp-sync - gone, On-campus Grad night likely to go next, staff and teacher moral at an all-time low, parent community no longer on board....she came in with no regard or appreciation for the awesome culture and customs of this high school and is one by one dismantling all that makes this school great.

- submitted by a parent
July 24, 2013
The quality of teaching here is terrible and the kids here at like animals. I'm transferring to Monte Vista High School because I hate it here so much.

- submitted by a community member
September 21, 2010
Had an amazing overall experience. Great teachers, was captain of the cheerleading squad, on the dive team, dance, and a few clubs. Graduated from SR in 2006, graduated from college with honors in May, and am now in my first year of law school. Can honestly say that I am where I am today because of what I learned and who I became at SR.

- submitted by a student
no rating April 27, 2010
I have a daughter that graduated in 2008. She was involved in Leadership, cheerleading, Y&G, etc. and she and both of us enjoyed the experience. I now have a freshman that is involved in sports, Y&G and is leading a wonderful life at SRV! We are so happy to be involved in this wonderful community once again!!!

- submitted by a parent
no rating November 04, 2009
In addition to quality academics and a sports program that is focused on fair play, teamwork, ethics and positive coaching, the overall environment created for the study body is exceptional. My children loved going to school every day.

- submitted by a parent
September 20, 2009
A true community of teacher/parent cooperation helping our students become responsible leaders for tomorrow's future

- submitted by a parent
September 19, 2009
SRVHS supports and develops great students

- submitted by a parent
no rating September 18, 2009
The Principal, Joe Ianora is a visionary leader with the students best interests at heart. The Teachers are caring and actively engaged with their students.

- submitted by a parent
no rating September 16, 2009
San Ramon Valley High School is the oldest community high school nestled in the San Ramon Valley and has an amazing tradition of student excellence. It is a high school that truly represents a traditional American town academic tradition and the values that makes our nation great.

- submitted by a parent
no rating August 25, 2009
I have a daughter that graduated in 2008 and a new freshman. My experience with this school was wonderful. My older daughter enjoyed all 4 years, flourished and encountered absolutely NO mean girls, bullying, etc. It was totally positive and I am hoping and praying that it remains the same for my younger daughter!

- submitted by a parent
May 10, 2009
The school is a great school. New campus, great kids and its fun. Its one of the few left that allows off campus lunches everyday for upper classmen. There are a fair share of drugs but it is not overwhelming, if you say you don't want any they will leave you alone. overall I love the school, easily the best school I have been to.

- submitted by a student
March 27, 2009
San Ramon is one of the best schools there is. The academics are amazing, and so are the sports and music programs. I would never switch schools, and the staff is very supportive. No one is left alone, and everyone is like a family. SRV is full of spirit and learning, and everyone loves it there.

- submitted by a student
December 19, 2008
Two of my kids have attended SRVHS. My 3rd will not be going there. Most of the teachers are not good. Be prepared to shell out big bucks for outside tutoring (a huge cottage industry around Danville) to learn the stuff that the teachers don't teach the kids. One of my kids had 7 english teachers during the first semester of a class. The school is extremely cliquely; very pretentious kids go there.

- submitted by a parent
August 20, 2008
My brother just graduated from SRVHS. He absolutly loved it. He loved all his teachers. They knew how to push him, they made him laugh, and they taught him well. San Ramon is a very welcoming school. Everyone is friendly, unlike Monte Vista, who is known to be full of cliques. Drugs and acohol were never a problem, all schools deal with it and San Ramon is no different. The activities ( Grad night, proms, rallies, etc.) are all very well done. Overall, this is a great school full of spirit, learning, and great attitudes.

- submitted by a student
May 23, 2008
San Ramon has a great school spirt. there is a lot of energy and i look forward going every day. Only down side for parents is that there is a lot of drugs and a lot of alcohol. Teach your kids right and you should have no problem. I disagree with the coment below. SRV is a tier 1 school and is exceptional in academics.

- submitted by a student
April 25, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 21, 2008
I have now sent 2 kids to this school and it will be the last child I will send. They just don't learn at SRVH. The math and science departments are so weak. The teachers lack passion and accountability. My daughter has had 4 counselors in 4 years so they is only confusion and disruption every year. One of her classes had 3 teachers in 3 months! The new principal is trying and it has gotten better as far as drugs and alcohol but they need to find better quality teachers with a teaching attitude and let the kids that want to learn, succeed.

- submitted by a parent
September 01, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
August 01, 2005
The new principal is bringing a good combination of high expectation and compassion for individual students. Alchohol and drug use are being cracked down but students are still considered individually.

- submitted by a parent
April 11, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
January 06, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

What does this school offer? Arts? Sports? Share what you know »

Student diversity

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.

884

Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Ramon Valley High School
501 Danville Boulevard, Danville, CA  94526
(925) 552-3000
Last modified San Ramon Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Ramon Valley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top