Students enrolled 476
Hours no info
School leader Ms. Debbie Derana
Transportation options no info
Type no info
Before school no info
After school no info

Contact this school

2100 Mount Diablo Scenic Boulevard
Danville, CA 94506

(925) 362-7208
Nearby homes for sale
Map of The Athenian School address.

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

July 04, 2013
Having gone to the local public elementary school my daughter did not want to go to Athenian for MS as all her friends were going to the public MS school. I have always allowed her to participate choices that effected her directly but I pulled the 'parental' trump card on this and she enrolled, attended, completed MS and HS at Athenian, and THANKED me for having insisted she attend. As a parent, hearing my daughter thank me for that decision was unparalleled parental joy. Athenian is the only school in the area that provides a strong well rounded education for life!

- submitted by a parent
January 16, 2013
Our daughter went through middle school and now is in high school. Athenian is wonderful in developing students. Noone is "left out" of conversations or forgotten. They focus on developing the whole child and instilling competence, indiviuality, and community

- submitted by a parent
July 08, 2011
The Athenian School exceeded our expectations for our son when we moved from England and he went to the Athenian for middle school. The faculty is outstanding and are able to bring out the very best in their students. One of the strongest qualities is a curriculum and philosophy which develops the student to integrate their learning across multiple disciplines and not simply remember or recite facts.

- submitted by a parent
May 17, 2010
We have had two children at Athenian 6th grade thru High School. Both have benefited greatly from what Athenian offers, which is very consistent with how they present the school. To start,classes average under 15 students in the upper school and 16 or so in the middle school. My kids have been in classes as small as 6 and no larger than 19. Teachers are motivated, they build individual relationships with each student and they know their subjects. The athletics prigram is very strong. My children went in non-athletic and each were dedicated to two different sports each year by the time they graduated. Extracurriculars, including performing arts, exchange programs thru Round Square, community service, robotics, the airplane program and superb. They learn to appreciate, communicate and relate to diverse students, whether they be from very different socio economic backgrounds or those boarding from around the world,

- submitted by a parent
April 21, 2010
I am enrolled in this school and man, do I love it! It has GREAT acedemic structure, friendly kids, and it is set in a calm, peaceful, and GORGEOUS area- at the foot of mount diablo!

- submitted by a student
April 13, 2010
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 10, 2010
Our son is a 6th grade student in the Athenian Middle School and we see him challenged, growing and gaining confidence in himself each day. He was identified as a gifted student in elementary school and we feel that the Athenian faculty and community are nourishing him intellectually, socially and emotionally just as we had hoped.

- submitted by a parent
no rating January 16, 2010
I went to The Athenian School and loved it! It was challenging and fun. It has a great learning environment, the teachers were very nice and supportive.

- submitted by a student
January 01, 2010
We enrolled our son at Athenian after six years at our local Green Valley School, where he went from kindergarten to fifth grade. We looked at Los Cerros Middle School and decided we needed to invest the money in our son's future and send him to Athenian. Every year, our son received the personal attention he needed and his academic performance just exploded. Every child is educated as an individual and encouraged to excel. In middle school, our son attended an educational conference in Vancouver, BC as a representative from Athenian and spent part of a summer at the sea turtle preserve in Baja California. In the Athenian high school, he was one of the school's representatives at a global Round Square educational conference in the Republic of South Africa. Our son just graduated in 2005, was accepted to Stanford, graduated this year and is now at Genentech.

- submitted by a parent
November 29, 2009
Our son is doing very well at Athenian middle school. The teachers, in general, are experienced but not ancient, young enough still to have energy for instructing. The program is well-developed. Close attention to each student is evident. Very annoying is the constant fund raising and nickel and diming for every trivial expense. This begging seems worse than other private schools we have attended. Nevertheless I highly recommend this school. Other private schools in the trivalley (we looked at Quarry Lane) are poor imitations.

- submitted by a parent
October 05, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 11, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 22, 2007
The Athenian School has given my daughter a middle school education that surprised and overjoyed my wife and me with its excellence and fully rounded approach to childhood development. The academic standards are rigorous and absolutly top-notch, but the humanistic techniques employed by the teachers also vigorously reinforce the values of self-reliance and caring for others. I could not be happier with this school.

- submitted by a parent
April 27, 2006
My daughter has attended the Athenian School for two years (6th and 7th grade). It is by far the best accademic school amoung the private schools in the tri valley area. The school philosophy emphasis character and well-roundedness in addition to accademic excellence. I could not be more pleased with the school.

- submitted by a parent
March 16, 2006
I attended this school and it changed my life. I left Athenian not only self assured but also educationally sound and ready to attend an outstanding college. I highly recommend this school, as would any of my classmates.

- submitted by a former student
March 15, 2006
I think it can provide my daugther a happy and fruitful year. It has a high quality of academic programs. I recommand to your child to study here

- submitted by a parent
February 26, 2006
The Athenian School touts a mission of creating a well-rounded individual ready for the real world. This is an accurate description of what it has done for my classmates and me. It has done so by an excellent admissions office creating a diverse, intelligent, and respectful student body that of an unmatched caliber when compared to HeadRoyce, Bentley, and CPS. It has done so with an excellent teacher body, one that is always ready to mediate instead of dictate. It has done so with an extensive array of (some optional some not) activities designed to educate about diversity and encourage commutation. Athenian is an ideal place for a respectful student that is ready to learn with out the red tape and with the flexibility of being surrounded by academic and personal intelligence. For me, Athenian has been the ideal school.

- submitted by a student
November 29, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 21, 2005
Athenian has been a wonderful experience for my son who has attended there since the 6th grade. The curriculum enhances learning through the use of class integration and field trips. For example, 7th grade European History was brought to life through a Rome day where the children dressed up and performed plays. The math, science, history and english are rigourous. Art and foreign language is part of daily schedule. The foreign language is taught through emphasis on hearing the language rather than endless grammar excercises. The only area in which this school needs to improve is having a few teachers learn to return exams in a timely manner. The parents get involved through the auction and fundraising process.

- submitted by a parent
May 05, 2005
The Athenian School is a dream come true for academics, and being set in the lush hills at the base of Mount Diablo, it is one of the most beautiful campuses we have ever seen. The teaching program couples excellent academics with a whole-child approach, making sure each student is not merely learning rote material but actually integrates it into his or her personal growth. For instance, every Friday students spend all day putting what they learned that week into practical use -- for instance, visiting NASA during one week of concentrating on astronomy, or visiting a museum while studying modern art. The teachers are uniformly sensitive and nurturing, and very accomplished. The only shortfall of the program is that, being a private school and being set in the remote edge of Danville, there is not as much opportunity for parents to gather together, though the school does organize events.

- submitted by a parent
May 03, 2005
The Athenian School is a great school. I have attended since 6th grade, and I love the freedom and equality. Everybody is treated so equally, and the teachers become some of your best friends. There is a great volleyball team, and other teams to great as well. The performing arts lacks a little bit, but the curriculum definitely makes up for it. The parents are very involved, which my parents love, but I hate. I guess thats because I am a teenager, but that is besides the point. Athenian is my home, and I am so proud when I get to say, 'I go to the Athenian School.'

- submitted by a student
January 05, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
February 05, 2004
I couldn't have had a better high school and middle school experience. It is difficult to put into words what I have gained from my time at Athenian. Truely, this school was my life for six years. My writing, math, science, leadership and communications skills improved dramatically. I sincerely believe that Athenian is the best private school on the west coast if not in the United States.

- submitted by a former student
August 19, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
August 10, 2003
A wonderful middle school and high school. The community service programs are the best along with the incredible AWE (Athenian Wilderness Experience). Advisors and teachers really get to know the students. Seminars for juniors and seniors are inspiring. The school offers many special seminars, such as, psychology, journey through childhood, and the Baja seminar.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     
Last modified: June 25, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Athenian School
2100 Mount Diablo Scenic Boulevard, Danville, CA  94506
(925) 362-7208
Last modified The Athenian School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
The Athenian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews.