Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter was transferred to North Davis as she entered 2nd grade. She's now a 4th grader and I have not regretted it a bit. Her teachers have all been very experienced and enthusiastic. I am impressed by how organized the teachers and PTA are. I also think it has the best location amont all elementary schools in Davis. It is close to county library, arts center, community pool, senior high school, and UC Davis. Students from high school and UCD help out in classes. There are also supports for jump rope club, chess club, running club, 3rd grade swimming lessons etc.

North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful teachers, engaged parents, great enthusiasm for teaching and learning


North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2008
- a parent
My son is a Kindergartener and we have been very pleased with North Davis Elementary. Mrs. Wilhelm and Mrs. Campos are a fantastic team and work well with the children. There are a lot of parent volunteers and the PTA is able to provide a lot of extras like a vocal teacher, art and PE programs.

North Davis Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 12, 2007
- a parent
This school exemplifies the best of Davis education. The majority of kids ride bikes to school on dedicated greenbelt paths. The teachers are uniformly good (with a few truly great, nurturing and perceptive ones). The principal walks the school constantly, knows all the kids and parents by name, plays guitar, and even bakes cookies for the annual auction! Mentoring is actively encouraged so that sixth graders are kind/helpful to the younger kids. There are almost zero discipline problems. I've graded homework there for 4 years and literally every kid turns in completed work on time. A previous review that complained of no communal activities or holiday shows was misinformed: there are picnics, an auction, a carnival, both winter and spring music shows for all grades led by a local professional singing coach. Also, there's a special P.E. program led by a local aerobics instructor, and art workshops! 10+!

North Davis Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2006
- a parent
Good neighborhood school! Centrally located at Davis.


North Davis Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
I like this school. The teachers are good and have a lot of experience. The location is great with it's proximity to the community park, swimming pool, library, public hall, etc.

North Davis Elementary School 3

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
we just moved to the area, and my child had to start school here. the school seems good so far, they seem to care, but have a funny way of showing. I love my childs teacher, but other faculty at the school need to be checked, but on the flip side, they fail to give individual attention, and try and label the kids. They dont offer much activites such as afterschool programs, or open houses, or anyother fun events. They also dont celebrate any holidays in the classroom, which is very disapointing and frustrating. Not even a christmas or winter play or musical. I dont like that different teachers teach different subjects. while they seem to have a few things for underprivledged kids, it is rare, and tend to overlook them and favor the middle to upper class children, when in reality these children dont need as much help.

North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
This is a phenomenal school. My son is in kindergarten this year and loves going to school each day. His teacher, Mrs. Horowitz, is friendly, professional, and a natural in the classroom. Looking forward, teachers in higher grades also receive high marks from the parents, so we couldn't be happier. There is a ton of parent support, and the school is led by an extremely competent principal (Judy Davis). Kudos!


North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2004
- a parent
The principal and staff are very hands on and always accessible to parents and students. There is a high level of parent involvement through Pta sponsered projects and volunteer opportunities in the classroom, library, etc. The school promotes a safe, positive learning environment.

Nearby schools

North Davis Elementary School
555 East 14th Street, Davis, CA  95616-2097
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (530) 757-5475
Last modified North Davis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top