Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter was transferred to North Davis as she entered 2nd grade. She's now a 4th grader and I have not regretted it a bit. Her teachers have all been very experienced and enthusiastic. I am impressed by how organized the teachers and PTA are. I also think it has the best location amont all elementary schools in Davis. It is close to county library, arts center, community pool, senior high school, and UC Davis. Students from high school and UCD help out in classes. There are also supports for jump rope club, chess club, running club, 3rd grade swimming lessons etc.

North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful teachers, engaged parents, great enthusiasm for teaching and learning


North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2008
- a parent
My son is a Kindergartener and we have been very pleased with North Davis Elementary. Mrs. Wilhelm and Mrs. Campos are a fantastic team and work well with the children. There are a lot of parent volunteers and the PTA is able to provide a lot of extras like a vocal teacher, art and PE programs.

North Davis Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 12, 2007
- a parent
This school exemplifies the best of Davis education. The majority of kids ride bikes to school on dedicated greenbelt paths. The teachers are uniformly good (with a few truly great, nurturing and perceptive ones). The principal walks the school constantly, knows all the kids and parents by name, plays guitar, and even bakes cookies for the annual auction! Mentoring is actively encouraged so that sixth graders are kind/helpful to the younger kids. There are almost zero discipline problems. I've graded homework there for 4 years and literally every kid turns in completed work on time. A previous review that complained of no communal activities or holiday shows was misinformed: there are picnics, an auction, a carnival, both winter and spring music shows for all grades led by a local professional singing coach. Also, there's a special P.E. program led by a local aerobics instructor, and art workshops! 10+!

North Davis Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2006
- a parent
Good neighborhood school! Centrally located at Davis.


North Davis Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
I like this school. The teachers are good and have a lot of experience. The location is great with it's proximity to the community park, swimming pool, library, public hall, etc.

North Davis Elementary School 3

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
we just moved to the area, and my child had to start school here. the school seems good so far, they seem to care, but have a funny way of showing. I love my childs teacher, but other faculty at the school need to be checked, but on the flip side, they fail to give individual attention, and try and label the kids. They dont offer much activites such as afterschool programs, or open houses, or anyother fun events. They also dont celebrate any holidays in the classroom, which is very disapointing and frustrating. Not even a christmas or winter play or musical. I dont like that different teachers teach different subjects. while they seem to have a few things for underprivledged kids, it is rare, and tend to overlook them and favor the middle to upper class children, when in reality these children dont need as much help.

North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
This is a phenomenal school. My son is in kindergarten this year and loves going to school each day. His teacher, Mrs. Horowitz, is friendly, professional, and a natural in the classroom. Looking forward, teachers in higher grades also receive high marks from the parents, so we couldn't be happier. There is a ton of parent support, and the school is led by an extremely competent principal (Judy Davis). Kudos!


North Davis Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2004
- a parent
The principal and staff are very hands on and always accessible to parents and students. There is a high level of parent involvement through Pta sponsered projects and volunteer opportunities in the classroom, library, etc. The school promotes a safe, positive learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Davis Elementary School
555 East 14th Street, Davis, CA  95616
(530) 757-5475
Last modified North Davis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Davis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top