Advertisement
Advertisement

Little Scholars Montessori School

Private | K-2

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Duarte

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $270,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

My daughter has been attending Little Scholars for almost a year one, starting off half days and now fulls days. She has learned and grown so much in the time she's been here. I'm so happy to have found a great school we both love, that's close to home and so affordable, thanks to Miss Rose and all the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

One of the hardest parts of being a new parent was entrusting someone to care for my precious 15-week old baby regularly instead of me. Meeting Miss Rose, Director at Little Scholars Montessori, and her highly qualified team in 2008 changed all of that. Our family was beyond fortunate to have the school practically in our backyard for the past five years. We have met many quality individuals there and it gave us great comfort to have the team to rely on, helping us raise our two sons. They supported my parenting style - cloth diapers, lunchtime breastfeeding and homemade baby food - and I am forever grateful. My five year old son gained the most in his time there. The quality of instruction exceeded our expectations time and again, surpassed only by the quality of care. He is going into school knowing all of the planets, alphabet, continents, Spanish up to 20 and colors, reading, writing his and his brother's name, doing basic addition and the list goes on. Pulling the boys out of school was a very difficult decision. Had we not recently moved, it would have remained our top choice for infant care, preschool, and after school care for years to come. They are family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

My 3 year old has attended Little Scholars for just shy of a year. I have been beyond impressed with the quality of and attention to detail by the teachers, the level of learning/teaching/curriculum and the special events/activities the school offers. I will most definitely send my 5 month old there when he is a little older. Thank you Little Scholars for being an excellent source of education and fun for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

this school is so great. I am a stay at home mom who started taking my daughter there for social interaction a few times a week. she has made a lot of friends who have been there since she was smaller. they teach them writing and language. our pediatrician remarks about what an improvement she has made since going there. they have quarterly open houses where they tell you how your child is doing and the areas that need work. also my child never gets sick, every time I am there they have someone cleaning and the place is always imaculate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

EXCELLENT SCHOOL!! I was soooooo afraid of leaving my son with a school after he was left with his grandmonther for 2 1/2 years, but the teachers at Little Scholars made me feel at ease. They greet him every morning with a smile and a hug, and my son LOVES his teacher and all the staff there. When i pick him up he is happy and loves to tell me what he did for the day. Mrs. Rose is an awesome director, and my sons teacher Mrs. Grace treats my son as if he was her own. My son has progressed so much since starting. I am so happy that i choose this facility for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I'm a parent of a son, who is around 5 years old now. He started his daycare lif as an infant at the Little scholars montessori school. First days, it was so hard for me to leave my child in a daycare, but the staff and the environment of the school made my child really happy and comfortable. My child grew up there with a good education and a good behavior. Me and my wife are really thankful for the director and her staff for giving our child such a lovable care at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

I agree with the person below me. The staff at Little Scholars is amazing. They are very friendly and all love children. I forgot to send my two kids lunch one day and the owner went out and bought lunch for them and didn't even charge me. One of my children is still attending there and one is in first grade now. My first grader's teacher is very happy with his work ethics and he is very advanced in his classes. My daughter is three and she is already reading and doing basic addition. Would definitely recommend this faculty to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

My son and myself loved the whole experience from the beginning. Feel sorry for that person who talk bad about the school. Is he fake?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I had my child there for 6 weeks. The teachers never smiled and all seemed to not enjoy working with children. They were having issues with my child and took over 2 weeks to talk to us about it. This was after me repeatedly asking how he was doing and being told he was fine. I would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1014 Hiland Avenue
Duarte, CA 91010
Phone: (626) 359-6011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT