Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
El Cerrito, CA
Students enrolled: 365
 

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harding Elementary School 2

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
This is our 7th year at the school and we still have a couple more to go with our younger child.We started at the school with high hopes and we have been fortunate with the teachers so far. Positives:amazing Carnival,fun auction night,successfull jazz and art night several nice functions throughout the year,the garden lady is the best,my kids have made very good friends from all backgrounds Negatives:not much music and art though fundraising is plenty for that, Biggest negative:the principal,has very poor people skills and should really not be working in a position where she encounters many people,she is biased towards her friend teachers even if they mistreat students,poor decision making that negatively effects the students,rude to very rude,not able to work cooperatively with anyone,parent community is looking the other way as long as it is not their family targeted,she promotes programs that personally benefit her or her family members, All in all ok school with some caring teachers and some good kids.My kids love their friends and that counts for something,just know concerns might not be dealt with at all

Harding Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
We are happy with Harding; my child is thriving in their 4th year. The best part isn't the school itself but its community. The active pta and dad's clubs are natural extensions of the neighborhood that surrounds the school, and the camaraderie on campus is real. It's a public school with the usual problems. Limited resources, and local/district/state/union bureaucracy limiting change and accountability. There are great teachers and average teachers there like most places. Principal Takimoto seems to be doing a decent job. A staff member quit recently and she is being called a bully here; It does take a strong will to make headway in 'the system' but she is not a bully. She sets expectations, and if you dont meet them she (oh my!) holds you to account. There have been long term sub situations but despite the obstacles out of her control she has filled the gaps with good teachers. Is it Prospect Sierra or Bentley? No. Does it cost 25k? No. It's an above average public school that is very safe and has been steadily improving for many years, with an outstanding community.
2 people found this helpful


Harding Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
This school is like a poison apple.It looks perfect and shiny and yummy,then you cut it open and you see it,s rotting inside and it starts right at the core .
4 people found this helpful

Harding Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
When the Principal bullies the teachers, a climate of bullying will reign. This used to be a lovely neighborhood school with excellent caring teachers but since the current Principal, good teachers have fled, others have given up because if they do not obey her ( she takes any feedback or different ideas as a personal attack) or if they don't actively curry favor , they will be punished in room or class assignment or public rude treatment. She has brought in a few teachers that were old colleagues of hers it seems. They are terrible teachers who yell at kids, leave them untended and bully - like she does. She defends them ( one in particular) agains t the parents' legitimate concerns and requests - because they are her favorites. My child still suffers from that year. Why is the District letting her ruin a good school?
13 people found this helpful

Harding Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
There is a reason Harding is ranked 6 - the principal. She shows no respect for parents (just political nonsense) and her relationship with the students is one of disdain. Staff is apathetic as well as parents because the bullying tactics hold strong. The principal will get back at you. They would rather not say anything than be the target of her wrath. This is where the bullying begins at Harding.
15 people found this helpful


Harding Elementary School 2

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
Creativity is shown the door.Music and art are being undermind and the program that they offer is more for the kids entertainment than learning any music whatsoever.The school is dictator run where Parents input is not welcome.The principal is often times rude.She uses a lot of words with no substance if you listen very closely .There are some truly wonderful teachers but don't be surprised if your child has substitutes for a good time of the schoolyear.There have been classes that have had substitutes for a whole school year.Be aware,go in with eyes wide open and use some critical thinking and don,t drink the Kool aid.
13 people found this helpful

Harding Elementary School 2

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
The school has changed for the worse since the current principal has been in charge. It now is run like a prison with the principal being the warden. She LOVES rules. The school looks good on paper, but is losing it's soulfulness due to a bureaucratic, egomaniac of a principal. The children are the ones who bear the brunt of it all. Sad.
15 people found this helpful

Harding Elementary School 2

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers . I am a bit concerned about the recess situation . It seems that the adults on the yard constantly are yelling at the kids.The administration has frequently pointed out the importance of teaching the students to treat each other with respect ,how will they learn this however when they are always being yelled at.Last time I checked this is a public elementary school and not an institution for young criminals. And on a different note the principal sees it fit to move teachers around the different grade levels without any concern for how this will impact the students.Often times this has not been done with the best interest of the students in mind but rather to mess with the teachers.There have been several times it has been bad decisions where the kids had to suffer throughout that school year with for their grade incompetent teacher and the parents objections and complaints have been totally ignored.We have lost some good families that have done a lot for the school because of this.Such a shame.
14 people found this helpful


Harding Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2015
- a teacher
This school has an active PTA. If you are thinking of working here, get an insider's perspective first. Do not expect support. In the last few years, a number of teachers were treated poorly and left.
10 people found this helpful

Harding Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
This is my 4th year as a parent at Harding and I currently have two children there. Overall, we are very happy at Harding--we've had had some very good teachers, my children have nice groups of friends and are engaged and eager to go to school, and the community is very welcoming and supportive. I have had several interactions with the principal mostly because of volunteer work I do at the school, and I have always found her to be straightforward and easy to work with. The one time I needed to talk to her about an issue with my child, she responded promptly and the issue was resolved to my satisfaction. It is through her support that we have two great programs funded by the PTA: Youth in Arts and the Edible Garden program. She is actively working to promote a kind, respectful environment for everyone. I think she is doing good things for Harding and making it a better place for everyone--we are lucky to have such a dynamic, hardworking and dedicated principal who is making real changes for the better. Yes, she follows the rules, but that is her job and she is very clear about what the rules are and is happy to listen to your point of view and work with you if she can.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harding Elementary School
7230 Fairmont Avenue, El Cerrito, CA  94530
(510) 231-1413
Last modified Harding Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harding Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top