Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Highly qualified teachers, great student body, academic focused. Excellent use of technology. Met the needs of my LD child while continuing to push her to excellence. 1 fundraiser the entire school year and the money was used for sports equipment.

St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Great, demanding curriculum. Highly qualified teachers. We removed our son from a local school due to bullying issues and he has never been happier. Technology use in the middle school is exceptional. My child is safe, happy, very well taught, and supported by a loving staff. I am so glad we moved over to this school two years ago.


St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Excellent teacher to student ratio! Teachers are highly qualified. I have had two students at this school for over 8 years and I would never consider removing them.

St. Peter's Lutheran 2

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
I had great expectations for this school, but unfortunately, as I suspected it disappointed us. Favoritism is rampant, priority is given to children whose parents attend church. The school is run as a church instead of a business. The teachers are unqualified and unprofessional. In good conscience, I would not recommend this school. The curriculum is not much better than public schools and there is always a heavy demand on parents. Other private schools in the areas are cheaper and better run.

St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school! Just don't expect them to fix the mistakes you have made raising your child. The only problem we have ever had with the school is when people try to send their out-of-control child to be "fixed" by St. Peter's. We have been there for five years and have never had to do any fundraising. There is a great mix of academics while maintaining a loving, Christ-centered learning environment.


St. Peter's Lutheran 2

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
What a disappointment. Unhappy to find the bare minimum of resources (and the fund-raising never ends) were re-invested in the students. Two preschool classes crammed into one room separated by a partition made for a noisy, uncomfortable environment. Expected to find a no-nonsense focus on academics. Found that socializing and fund-raising was the priority. One of our children was identified as a problem student so we sought professional academic testing. Turned out the only problem was our child was under-challenged and bored silly. Very few teachers are credentialed and way too many have, or once had, their own children at this school. They are clearly in no position to change anything. Unfortunately, the School Fellowship (PTA) and school board exist only to carry out top-down directives from the principal, a stiff-necked woman closed off to every opinion but her own. There little avenue for ground up communication, so parents have no real voice here, nothing can change or improve.

St. Peter's Lutheran 1

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
Positives: Fairly small class sizes. Updated campus (library and computer lab). Student body much more diverse than noted in online profiles. Negatives: Textbooks and curricula nearly identical to public school with a few *parent driven* additions implemented as homework and a little religion thrown in. Unsophisticated, unreliably skilled teachers selected mostly for their involvement in the church rather than educational accomplishments or p rofessional competence. Rigid, one-size-fits-all approach to teaching geared toward average performers. Accelerated learners not particularly challenged, struggling students promoted despite minimum mastery achieved. This is an unsophisticated, countrified school that makes a virtue of being average. Granted, their average is better than most public schools average, but that s not really saying much, is it? We were hoping for so much more emphasis on problem solving and creative thinking. The last straw was our child s teacher discussing a classmate s ADHD diagnosis as an explanation for the chaotic classroom environment. Fortunately our plans to move out of state spared us from having to switch schools.

St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
Our son has had an amazing year at this school! The teachers and administration are excellent and provide a very strong values-based eduation. What a blessing! We could never imagine enrolling him anywhere else.


St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted March 01, 2007
- a parent
We have had 4 kids at this school for the past 10 years. We have experienced every grade and each year the teachers top themselves in how they motivate, inspire, educate and love our children. This is a small school, one class per grade. The kids in every grade are friends. The principal is a no-nonsense, caring, firm woman. She leads by example and as this is a Christian School, there is a lot of love combined with high expectations for all behavior. Education of the mind is equal in importance to developing the souls of the children. Our decision to have our kids at this private school affirms itself every year as we watch independent, self-assured, well spoken 8th graders move on to be top performers at high school and college.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Peter's Lutheran
8701 Elk Grove Florin Road, Elk Grove, CA  95624
(916) 689-3050
Last modified St. Peter's Lutheran is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Peter's Lutheran Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top