Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Elk Grove, CA
Students enrolled: 175
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Great, demanding curriculum. Highly qualified teachers. We removed our son from a local school due to bullying issues and he has never been happier. Technology use in the middle school is exceptional. My child is safe, happy, very well taught, and supported by a loving staff. I am so glad we moved over to this school two years ago.

St. Peter's Lutheran
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Excellent teachers. Credentials, staff development, and training in differentiated instruction. I feel the staff knows my child personally, and not just another number.


St. Peter's Lutheran
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Too much science homework in the middle school assigned, but other classes seem balanced. Teachers need to remember that family time is as important as school time.

St. Peter's Lutheran
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Focus on Christ and how to be a Christian in a secular world. Religion is taught daily not just through class but through daily actions of the staff

St. Peter's Lutheran
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Highly qualified teachers, stringent curriculum, and technology in every classroom. The iPad program in the Middle School is great.


St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Highly qualified teachers, great student body, academic focused. Excellent use of technology. Met the needs of my LD child while continuing to push her to excellence. 1 fundraiser the entire school year and the money was used for sports equipment.
3 people found this helpful

St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Excellent teacher to student ratio! Teachers are highly qualified. I have had two students at this school for over 8 years and I would never consider removing them.
3 people found this helpful

St. Peter's Lutheran 2

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
I had great expectations for this school, but unfortunately, as I suspected it disappointed us. Favoritism is rampant, priority is given to children whose parents attend church. The school is run as a church instead of a business. The teachers are unqualified and unprofessional. In good conscience, I would not recommend this school. The curriculum is not much better than public schools and there is always a heavy demand on parents. Other private schools in the areas are cheaper and better run.


St. Peter's Lutheran 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school! Just don't expect them to fix the mistakes you have made raising your child. The only problem we have ever had with the school is when people try to send their out-of-control child to be "fixed" by St. Peter's. We have been there for five years and have never had to do any fundraising. There is a great mix of academics while maintaining a loving, Christ-centered learning environment.
1 person found this helpful

St. Peter's Lutheran 2

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
What a disappointment. Unhappy to find the bare minimum of resources (and the fund-raising never ends) were re-invested in the students. Two preschool classes crammed into one room separated by a partition made for a noisy, uncomfortable environment. Expected to find a no-nonsense focus on academics. Found that socializing and fund-raising was the priority. One of our children was identified as a problem student so we sought professional academic testing. Turned out the only problem was our child was under-challenged and bored silly. Very few teachers are credentialed and way too many have, or once had, their own children at this school. They are clearly in no position to change anything. Unfortunately, the School Fellowship (PTA) and school board exist only to carry out top-down directives from the principal, a stiff-necked woman closed off to every opinion but her own. There little avenue for ground up communication, so parents have no real voice here, nothing can change or improve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Peter's Lutheran
8701 Elk Grove Florin Road, Elk Grove, CA  95624
(916) 689-3050
Last modified St. Peter's Lutheran is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Peter's Lutheran Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top