Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Elk Grove, CA
Students enrolled: 2,813

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Franklin High School 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a student
I'm a current freshmen at FHS, and I've noticed a huge difference between the Honors and regular classes. My honors English class teacher grades as if we were taking an 11 AP class. The school is far too overcrowded, with a little over 3,000 students. Classes are over full and there is hardly any one-on-one help for each student. If you are having trouble in a class, you can forget about help. The students themselves aren't the nicest, either. The school is funding unnecessary classes, ones that don't even fit the A-G requirements for college. However, the school could improve by removing the classes that aren't needed and adding ones that would look fantastic on a college transcript.

Franklin High School 4

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
I attended FHS from 2004-2008. I was also one of those academic achiever kids, so I was in just about every honors and AP class on campus at one point in my high school career. My sister was in the regular classes. I saw a tremendous difference between the honors/AP teachers and the normal-crowd teachers. My sister definitely didn't get the same quality of education that I did and we graduated a year apart from each other. FHS is a great school for high achievers but the folks who need extra academic help are left in the dust, especially since most kids who need the help are afraid to ask for it or seek it! A good college turnout rate too. I graduated in the top 5% with a 4.32 GPA and everyone was leaving off to ivy Leagues, privates and UCs. I remember when Franklin had 3200 students and classrooms had an average of 35-40 students. Now I see I see its at 2800. The only wish I was given the opportunity to play a sport. The sports are very competitive and I never made the cut. Also, why couldn't they paint a huge mural of the mascot when the school first opened?! They put it up 2 years after I left. Boo.


Franklin High School 4

Posted December 04, 2012
- a student
Most AP classes in the district but no real academic or extracurricular focus. There are just so many things to do and the efforts to provide student activities are overdone. If you attend this school, it'll be hard to stand out and a lot of effort--with the many things to do--goes unrecognized. Sure you won't be bored attending, but it's a lot of work and competitive... It'd be better feeling to attend if the school is known for its specific programs, rather than that it has too many things to do.

Franklin High School 5

Posted April 14, 2012
- a student
I love this school. The teachers and staff are so dedicated and want to help. I really like the block schedule that we have and the alternating classes just help spread out the load. If you talk to the councilors, they will help you choose your classes you need to take.

Franklin High School 3

Posted January 29, 2012
- a student
I'm currently a Sophomore at Franklin. Its a great school for high achieving students. there are lots of AP and Honors courses and many electives. however, there are a lot of students and not many opportunities to get one on one help. the students are not the kindest either. Also, theres a large gap between honors and regular classes, so its not easy to choose anything but honors. there aren't any buses besides public buses and those are overcrowded. its a decent school in my opinion.


Franklin High School 1

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
Not many rental properties in this school's district. Definitely NOT the school for students with special needs. No honors program for core classes like Biology. If you're from this area you may get along fine, but don't expect quality treatment if you're coming from another district.

Franklin High School 5

Posted December 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Franklin High School 4

Posted May 08, 2009
- a student
Definitely above average. The atmosphere at this school, especially for those students who want to excel, is great. Offering many AP and honors classes, this school is great for students who want to challenge themselves. Not only that, but there are a few key teachers that are very well liked. Other teachers, not so much though.


Franklin High School 5

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Franklin High School 5

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin High School
6400 Whitelock Parkway, Elk Grove, CA  95757
(916) 714-8150
Last modified Franklin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top