Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,813 students|Elk Grove Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin High School 5

Posted July 19, 2015
- a parent
Very good business type technology, such as CAD. Would recommend this school. Only con would be that it is sometimes packed.

Franklin High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 19, 2015
- a parent
Very good if you are looking for business type technology classes, such as CAD. Would recommend .


Franklin High School 5

Posted June 24, 2015
- a student
Next school year i'm going to be a junior. i love Franklin high school and Toby high school. i believe that there are 2 types of teachers at Franklin, one type is the type of teacher that repeats everything and gives us extra days on projects and there is a type that doesn't care how much you will hate them but does there best to make sure you understand the lesson and gives you homework and expects it on the exact date. The students there are awesome. on spirit weeks lots of people go all in. they know when it's time to play and when its time to study. also the school (link crew) like to do activities for the students. One of my favorite is coco and cram, that is a few days before finals and everyone can stay after school and study or finish final projects and link crew provides free hot chocolate and snacks. "link crew lock-down" is another one i like. that's a little party for all of the freshman, it is after school and its lots of fun

Franklin High School 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a student
I'm a current freshmen at FHS, and I've noticed a huge difference between the Honors and regular classes. My honors English class teacher grades as if we were taking an 11 AP class. The school is far too overcrowded, with a little over 3,000 students. Classes are over full and there is hardly any one-on-one help for each student. If you are having trouble in a class, you can forget about help. The students themselves aren't the nicest, either. The school is funding unnecessary classes, ones that don't even fit the A-G requirements for college. However, the school could improve by removing the classes that aren't needed and adding ones that would look fantastic on a college transcript.

Franklin High School 4

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
I attended FHS from 2004-2008. I was also one of those academic achiever kids, so I was in just about every honors and AP class on campus at one point in my high school career. My sister was in the regular classes. I saw a tremendous difference between the honors/AP teachers and the normal-crowd teachers. My sister definitely didn't get the same quality of education that I did and we graduated a year apart from each other. FHS is a great school for high achievers but the folks who need extra academic help are left in the dust, especially since most kids who need the help are afraid to ask for it or seek it! A good college turnout rate too. I graduated in the top 5% with a 4.32 GPA and everyone was leaving off to ivy Leagues, privates and UCs. I remember when Franklin had 3200 students and classrooms had an average of 35-40 students. Now I see I see its at 2800. The only wish I was given the opportunity to play a sport. The sports are very competitive and I never made the cut. Also, why couldn't they paint a huge mural of the mascot when the school first opened?! They put it up 2 years after I left. Boo.


Franklin High School 4

Posted December 04, 2012
- a student
Most AP classes in the district but no real academic or extracurricular focus. There are just so many things to do and the efforts to provide student activities are overdone. If you attend this school, it'll be hard to stand out and a lot of effort--with the many things to do--goes unrecognized. Sure you won't be bored attending, but it's a lot of work and competitive... It'd be better feeling to attend if the school is known for its specific programs, rather than that it has too many things to do.

Franklin High School 5

Posted April 14, 2012
- a student
I love this school. The teachers and staff are so dedicated and want to help. I really like the block schedule that we have and the alternating classes just help spread out the load. If you talk to the councilors, they will help you choose your classes you need to take.

Franklin High School 3

Posted January 29, 2012
- a student
I'm currently a Sophomore at Franklin. Its a great school for high achieving students. there are lots of AP and Honors courses and many electives. however, there are a lot of students and not many opportunities to get one on one help. the students are not the kindest either. Also, theres a large gap between honors and regular classes, so its not easy to choose anything but honors. there aren't any buses besides public buses and those are overcrowded. its a decent school in my opinion.


Franklin High School 1

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
Not many rental properties in this school's district. Definitely NOT the school for students with special needs. No honors program for core classes like Biology. If you're from this area you may get along fine, but don't expect quality treatment if you're coming from another district.

Franklin High School 4

Posted May 08, 2009
- a student
Definitely above average. The atmosphere at this school, especially for those students who want to excel, is great. Offering many AP and honors classes, this school is great for students who want to challenge themselves. Not only that, but there are a few key teachers that are very well liked. Other teachers, not so much though.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin High School
6400 Whitelock Parkway, Elk Grove, CA  95757-5928
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (916) 714-8150
Last modified Franklin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top