Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Elk Grove, CA
Students enrolled: 851

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
My son started at Helen Carr last year for 1st grade and he had a great teacher and we saw great improvement in him.

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My kids and I have all but good things to say about this school. They love going to school and love their teachers. We as parents need to stay involved and keep the lines if communication open with the teachers. All the teachers we have come across have been great. I was able to get positive feedback from the new principal & have been greeted by her daily. I see her out a lot in the mornings. We have been there 5 years without a problem and both kids continue to succeed.


Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2013
- a community member
I am a grandmother to granddaughters who attend Helen Carr Castello Elementary School, and have found this school to be an excelent teaching environment. Also, loved volunteering at this wonderful school. I also had the experience seeing how well my granddaugters did at school and noticed that they were always excited to go to school which says a lot about the teacher (Ms. Maiden).

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
I'm sad to see some of these comments. We've been to several school in Elk Grove and this is the best. The staff is great - teachers and admin. Our kids love their teachers, there's lots of involvement, we see the principal out all the time. She's been responsive & supportive of our needs. Cuts are due to budget, not the principal. Test scores just went up 24 points! That's due to good teachers and leaders.

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 3

Posted July 02, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are great and stay motivated, even when they're going through tough times. I agree the new principal is ineffective and programs have been cut since she started. She is unavailable and unresponsive to parents and is rude when asked questions. The VP is good and tries hard to be available to parents.


Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I feel that Castello is an excellent school. There is a ton of parent involvement, at least in the grades that my kids are in. The teachers that we have had have been great as well.

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
We've been at Castello since it opened and the teachers have all been great! We do have a new principal and yes I would agree she is out of touch. She has no real leadership skills and often offends parents. But that being said we still have the good teachers. I'm not sure with the budget cuts what this is going to do to our school? I'd hate to get senior teachers but with less motivation to teach. Senior doesn't always mean better...I'm hoping Castello stays above average in the years to come.

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
This school is going down hill since the new principal arrived. I'll be taking my kids elsewhere next year, not because of the teachers. The principal does not attend school performances and she is not out with the kids--she's always in her office on her computer. Discipline is lacking and is very one-sided. Morale is horrible--the teachers are so sad.


Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at Castello are passionate about their work. They connect with students and care more deeply than at other schools I've had my students at. My daughter is in 5th grade and her teacher is a whiz at teaching math. He explains things to her in a way that she 'gets it' for the first time in her life. She loves going to school each day. The after school program has suffered because of budget cuts, but hopefully that will improve as the economy improves.

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
I have had nothing but a positive experience since the inception of Helen Carr Castello. Each teacher I've dealt with has been easy to reach, easy to communicate with and has a genuine concern for the education of my children. When I've needed our principal she has always responded quickly and with unbias. She has been able to answer my questions and the kids appear to enjoy her presence. I am grateful for such a wonderful faculty and staff during these 'lean' times.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Helen Carr Castello Elementary School
9850 Fire Poppy Drive, Elk Grove, CA  95757
(916) 686-1725
Last modified Helen Carr Castello Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Helen Carr Castello Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top