Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 980 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Terrible experience. Teachers and principal are more interested in telling kids to stop running than teaching. No regular PE, kids cannot run and play at recess unless they are out on the field. They can only go out on the field if a teacher is out there and the teachers rarely do if ever. The curriculum is same as other schools but their performance is terrible at testing. This is because they spend all of their energy being disciplinarians on the "black top" and not enough energy in the classroom. We had a terrible experience with the prinicipal as well - this school staff gets no support from her at all. If your child has to attend here, tell them to keep their head down, and do not run. The PTA is fantastic and is the only redeeming thing here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

i have two kids in this school and i am doing everything i can to move them ASAP. Lack of communication, my daughters teacher yells at kids, my son's teacher i must say is really great, but the bad eggs here really stink. Go help those of us who can't afford private schoold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

My daughter's teacher is wonderful. How ever I would not recommend it to children that don't speak Spanish. My daughter doesn't speak Spanish and spends most recesses alone, because she doesn't "fit in". I'm hoping to move soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

We have wonderful teachers and students that do a great job teaching and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers make Oak Hill elementary one of the best schools.


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers really care about the students and this is the best school in Escondido!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school is great because of the people who work there. We have awsome staff who truley care avout the future of the kids they teach including my two!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

My son started at Oak hill and was here for His 1st 2 years. When we moved back to Escondido, It was the only school he would attend. Now he has completed his elementary years. He loved it and so Did I. Great Teacher and they work well with all the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I am a grandparent at Oak Hill and I appreciate the dedication and hard work that i have seen from the teachers. All of my grandchild's teachers have gone above and beyond in their efforts to provide a safe and stimulating learning environment. I commend the teacher's hard work and the time they put into nurturing and educating our community's children. community's children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I am a parent at Oak Hill School and am very sad to hear that some people have bad experiences. I have joined the PTA in this school because of the outstanding teamwork showed by the Leadership, staff and teachers. They work as a team, they improve as a team. If there is a problem with a student, or even a teacher, it is normally worked out pretty quickly. I will agree that parent involvement is low, but most parents who live in the Oak Hill Area have to work to afford to stay here. Teachers welcome parents in the classroom, and enjoy their participation. I have lived all over Escondido during my life and Oak Hill is by far the best school in the school district. Oak Hill over the years has excelled by leaps and bounds and Oak Hill continues to move forward in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I have read a few posts here and I agree with some. I am very concerned as a parent and am refraining from giving less of a rating only because I know there are some caring and hard working teachers here. I have two sons that have been at this school a few years and I am more than concerned about the quality of learning and time spent with each student. I have had to remove my oldest from some classes due to the teacher yelling, have had my youngest sons teacher actually insinuate that it was the parents job to teach and the teachers job to help them practice what they already know which is completely backwards and very disturbing to say the least! My sons come home more often than not without any homework. This is a small list but, I am currently looking to move due to this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

It seems I share the same feelings as a couple of the other parents that have left feedback. Shame on the parent blaming undisciplined students! You have no idea why some students appear to be unruly. Let me inform you that this school will do virtually nothing for a student with ADHD. Any teacher that can yell at a student in the middle of class to the point of tears should not be teaching! There's a total lack of communication with those involved in these situations. God forbid you have a student with ADHD, you're virtually on your own as far as finding help. Student's learning is a collaborative effort between teacher, parents and student. Teacher's need to change up their teaching strageties so all students have an opportunity to learn. I have a second child who doesn't have any behavioral/learning issues and things are fine for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

My 2 children have been fortunate to attend this school. Both have excelled academically and socially. There is only problems with the undisciplined students who's parents ignore their own responsibility to take an active interest role in their children's upbringing.This school and staff are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My son's first year there, he has a wonderful teacher but he also has special needs and I am learning rather quickly that none of the staff are willing to help me in that area even though I have contacted all the people that need to be contacted and the principle is kind enough but he is also unwilling to respond to me, lacks leadership and giving directions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

My eldest child went to Oak Hill for the last five years and if not for redistricting, we would still be there. Overall, I feel that the teachers are excellent and dedicated. While the area has changed, adding new challenges to the staff, they do a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

Oak Hill is a diverse school, both economically and ethnically.The academic levels have stayed high even though the neighborhood includes more students who are learning English. Oak Hill consistently makes both the federal and state academic goals. Opportunities for parent involvement are available and, in my experience, teachers welcome parents any time. The atmosphere at Oak Hill is friendly and safe. Students enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

I moved my third child to attend Oak Hill Elementary School to a private school after 2004-2005 school year. Demographic changes outside of the control of the administration and teachers have greatly deteriorated the school's ability to devote an equal amount of time to English speakers. I volunteered for years in my children's classrooms. Increasingly, teachers appeared to to me to be overwhelmed. We were lucky to be able to afford to transfer our son. I feel sorry for those who can't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

The teachers here are fantastic and willing to be a partner in your childs education. There are not very many extracurricular activities but the PTA is great with family fun nights. I have had a wonderful experience at oak hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

The quality of academic programs is fair, probably a little better than average for California schools. There are very few extracurricular activities available. Parental involvement is low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

I have too much to gripe about to be able to fit it all in here! Boo! Hiss! Prob's w/mulitple teachers, not 'just one' bad experience! Principal is a very nice man, but lacks the envolvement and leadership he should have. He's not very helpful when you're having prob's w/the teachers, either! They've done NOTHING to help my child succeed when she's clearly struggling. I had to find out about programs from griping to other parents! This info should be brought up by the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

746

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

746

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females47%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students60%
Females58%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability60%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students34%
Females35%
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students55%
Females58%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females44%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%

Math

All Students56%
Females57%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females42%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state28%

Math

All Students33%
Females42%
Males24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state28%

Science

All Students34%
Females34%
Males34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate34%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 87%
White 6%
Black 2%
Asian 1%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
English language learners 60%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Susan Paul
Fax number
  • (760) 745-5067

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1820 Oak Hill Drive
Escondido, CA 92027
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 432-2483

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Kings Academy
Escondido, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT