Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 349 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fairfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $146,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2012

I am a student here in holy spirit and it is the best school i have ever been to. There are 40 kids per class but the teachers pay individual attention to you. The principal, Sr. Liz, is one of the best prIncipal ever. She tries to remember everyone individually. There are lots of activities inluding drama club, choir, lots of sports, band, and cheerleading. I think that this school is a very good school!


Posted June 9, 2011

My daughter will be in Grade 3 next school year. She is very happy at Holy Spirit school that she does not want to move anywhere else(we had been moving before) because of her school. She is developing strong Catholic faith and building her confidence in this school along with learning their excellent academic standard. My husband and I are very happy with her progress in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

At first, I was concerned about the 40 kids per class but I am glad I decided to send my daughter here. She gets plenty of homework to keep her busy. She reads words I didn't know she was capable of pronouncing. I have a 1st grader this year & I love being able to show up anytime to volunteer my services. Whenever I come into the office, I am greeted by the nice office ladies. The principal is very sweet & always greeting me. The students are delightful & polite. I love it here. The tuition is reasonable & there are fundraising requirements, of course, as they get nothing from the state financially. If I had anything negative to say about this school, I'd say its the left turn lane on Texas for morning drop offs in the back . There's a potential for a head on collision if parents are too sleepy to notice other cars coming from opposite direction. But, then that's not the school's fault. The city needs to address that issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I think Holy Spirit School is one of the best places to send your child. I am an eight grader this year and my overall experience has been fantastic. At Holy Spirit, not only does it have excellent academic standards, but there are many extra activities to choose from such as, baseball, volleyball, cheer, track, basketball, performing arts, choir, band, Student Council and CJSF.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

Developing the whole child. Leadership, spirituality, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

We are entering our seventh year here at Holy Spirit School in Fairfield, Ca. I consider our school to be top notch with our incredible principal, Sister Liz. She is the most amazing person. She truly cares about every single person that she meets and shows her love for education, students and families at every encounter. Learning expectations are high at this school. Teachers emphasize the faith based curriculum. Everyone, especially parents and children, realize that they need to contribute to the greater good. We have been very pleased with the staff and overall experience. I feel a sense of peace here. Safety of the children is important also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

This is a wonderful school to send your child to. Your child will grow academically and will also learn values and morals. The teachers and staff are always there to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

I know for sure that my 1st grade son would definately be left behind in any other school than Holy Spirit. His class size is 38 yet he still gets the individual attention that he needs. He loves his classmates as his 'brothers and sisters'. I love that Religion is also a great part of his day too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

My child has attended Holy Spirit for three years. In that time, I have been pleased with the quality of his teachers, particularly with the level of care and concern they show for their pupils. Although class sizes tend to be too large (approximately 40 students per primary class in grades K-3), the teachers, with the help of aides, manage to provide each child with individual attention and a sense that they matter to the school. The downside of the large class sizes is that with 40 kids per class, children who, in an academic sense, fall either below or above the curve do not always get the attention they may need to progress as well as they could. Overall, my child's experience has been positive, confidence-building, and has provided him with the basic skills and knowledge I was hoping for him to receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

I have a first grader at Holy Spirit and we are very impressed by the advance learning my child is getting. He now can do his basic math (additions, subractions, telling of time, coins, etc.), can read books and even write his own sentences with his own thoughts.The teachers ecourages students to read, read, read and read books! My son enjoys his computer class. The school instills good values and discipline to their students thru Catholic education forming a solid foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 28% 1%
Hispanic 25% 52%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr. Elizabeth Curtis
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 North Texas Street
Fairfield, CA 94533
Phone: (707) 422-5016

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT