Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Fresno, CA
Students enrolled: 797
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hamilton Elementary School 3

Posted September 21, 2011
- a parent
Our son went K-6 here. They are on their 3rd principle whom we don't particularly like. She has a rather harsh attitude and has nexed most of the art learning projects that the kids used to do as part of their studies. She seems to have taken the fun out of this magnet school. There are a lot of good teachers here but the new principle has clipped their wings the last couple of years. Without good leadership great teachers will get frustrated and move on. They are sometimes overwhelmed with the # of students, especially in 6th grade. The students rotate between 3 teachers for their core subjects and I think this takes its toll on the teachers. There is one teacher who will try to fit your child into a learning box and if they don't fit, will easily label them with a disorder du jour. Unfortunately this teacher is still there.

Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten at Hamilton. Her teacher is outstanding and makes all the children feel welcome and good about themselves. The work sent home is good and helps my daughter catch on quickly. I like the programs offered at Hamilton and also the opportunity for fund-raising. I am not very pleased with the office staff. On several occasions I called the school before my daughter started to speak with them about the after school programs offered. They told me to sign my daughter up when school starts. When I enrolled her I was told that the names had already been picked for the after school prog and I was too late. I had to drop a class at FSU because of this!


Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted June 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hamilton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 17, 2008
- a parent
I have been impressed by the dedication and the commitment of the teachers. My child has received a great education. Museum night is the best!


Hamilton Elementary School 2

Posted December 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hamilton Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hamilton Elementary School 3

Posted February 19, 2006
- a parent
Great expanse of culture and the arts w/new charter school status. My children love Hamilton, their teachers and the staff. There are issues with the 'special needs' of children that need refining,if your child doesn't fit into the standard learning box. Overall, we feel loyal to the school and find it to be diverse and blossoming in most areas..ie, academically, in positive social learning and cooperation skills the children are exposed to and with the dedication of most teachers and staff. More sports programs could be benefical and are needed in my opinion, for the sake of school spirit and pride. Parents, overall are concerned and involved people, dedicated to seeing the children thrive in all areas. There is always room for improvements in most school settings and protocol, but I have recognized that Hamilton is evolving/growing into better each year, not remaining stagnant & is willing to address issues.


Hamilton Elementary School 2

Posted May 10, 2005
- a parent
I have two girls attending Hamilton, and I have found the experience both frustrating and rewarding at times. My third grader had three different teachers in the first quarter! This was frustrating to say the least, but Mr. Gettman, the principal, was extremely understanding and supportive. Her instructors, however, were less so. I am greatly concerned about the quality of education, which to me is more than just 'reading and arithmetics.' I did not experience this with my other daughter.

Hamilton Elementary School 2

Posted August 30, 2004
- a parent
My child has been going here for 3 years. I am not impressed with the teachers. They don't seem to have the child's education at heart. The office doesn't seem to be able to keep up with children's absences or notes brought in.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamilton Elementary School
102 East Clinton, Fresno, CA  93704
(559) 248-7370
Last modified Hamilton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hamilton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top