Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
There are some awesome teachers at this school, one being Mrs. Kaufmann 4th grade. My K and 1st grader still attend this school. I did however like Mr Jones better, but this is a transition period and some quick judgments will happen. I also wanted to reply to the parent that said they did not inform the parents of the new policy change, as they did inform parents by phone well before school started. It is very important to have the correct phone number on file at the school for such incidences. Mrs. Rose 1st grade seems to be a very caring and strict teacher, but in a good way. I really like this school and give 4 stars instead of 5 because of the change of principles.

Hamilton Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Kafmann will go well beyond her duty as a teacher. Thank you Mrs. Kaufmann keep up the good work.


Hamilton Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Ever since the new principal, Ms. Marquez, has been there this school is going down hill. Marquez's lack of communication and constant desire to make a name for herself at the expense of the children is frightening. The school actually lost my child ( and a few others) for about 30 minutes thanks to Marquez's new pick up policies, which she did not communicate to parents prior to implementing them.It was so frightening. I pulled my son out immediately and FUSD got me an inter-district transfer that same day. Beware!

Hamilton Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Being that many of the great teachers have left since Mrs. Marquez has come on board, I cannot say that the teachers are effective as many of them are substitutes. There are a few good teachers hanging in there, but I doubt they will be able to put up with the new administration for long.

Hamilton Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The good teachers are all leaving the school since Mrs. Marquez became principal. There are a few hanging in there, but not as many as they used to have.


Hamilton Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Ever since the new principal, Ms. Marquez, has been there this school is going down hill. Marquez's lack of communication and constant desire to make a name for herself at the expense of the children is frightening. The school actually lost my child ( and a few others) for about 30 minutes thanks to Marquez's new pick up policies, which she did not communicate to parents prior to implementing them.It was so frightening. I pulled my son out immediately and FUSD got me an inter-district transfer that same day. Beware!

Hamilton Elementary School 3

Posted September 21, 2011
- a parent
Our son went K-6 here. They are on their 3rd principle whom we don't particularly like. She has a rather harsh attitude and has nexed most of the art learning projects that the kids used to do as part of their studies. She seems to have taken the fun out of this magnet school. There are a lot of good teachers here but the new principle has clipped their wings the last couple of years. Without good leadership great teachers will get frustrated and move on. They are sometimes overwhelmed with the # of students, especially in 6th grade. The students rotate between 3 teachers for their core subjects and I think this takes its toll on the teachers. There is one teacher who will try to fit your child into a learning box and if they don't fit, will easily label them with a disorder du jour. Unfortunately this teacher is still there.

Hamilton Elementary School 4

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten at Hamilton. Her teacher is outstanding and makes all the children feel welcome and good about themselves. The work sent home is good and helps my daughter catch on quickly. I like the programs offered at Hamilton and also the opportunity for fund-raising. I am not very pleased with the office staff. On several occasions I called the school before my daughter started to speak with them about the after school programs offered. They told me to sign my daughter up when school starts. When I enrolled her I was told that the names had already been picked for the after school prog and I was too late. I had to drop a class at FSU because of this!


Hamilton Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 17, 2008
- a parent
I have been impressed by the dedication and the commitment of the teachers. My child has received a great education. Museum night is the best!

Hamilton Elementary School 3

Posted February 19, 2006
- a parent
Great expanse of culture and the arts w/new charter school status. My children love Hamilton, their teachers and the staff. There are issues with the 'special needs' of children that need refining,if your child doesn't fit into the standard learning box. Overall, we feel loyal to the school and find it to be diverse and blossoming in most areas..ie, academically, in positive social learning and cooperation skills the children are exposed to and with the dedication of most teachers and staff. More sports programs could be benefical and are needed in my opinion, for the sake of school spirit and pride. Parents, overall are concerned and involved people, dedicated to seeing the children thrive in all areas. There is always room for improvements in most school settings and protocol, but I have recognized that Hamilton is evolving/growing into better each year, not remaining stagnant & is willing to address issues.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamilton Elementary School
102 East Clinton, Fresno, CA  93704-5315
(559) 248-7370
Last modified Hamilton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hamilton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top